We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Basic budget hotel with a great service by Andy during the day and self service at night"”

Premium Stay Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premium Stay Hostel
Ranked #41 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Basic budget hotel with a great service by Andy during the day and self service at night"”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The staff Andy give us all the help on planning our tours. Thanks Andy...
At night the hotel have no one at the reception counter when Andy shift finished. Only call bell is paste on the reception counter if anyone need anything just press the bell. This's the first time I come across with such service.

Room Tip: Choose a quite room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken33699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    17
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
14
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very friendly service and the most comfy beds I've ever slept on. This is a budget hotel, so don't expect too many frills, but a nice place to rest your head after a hot day in Kuching. The front rooms are very noisy because of the traffic, but although I'm a light sleeper usually this did not bother me. The showers are powerful and hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThailandTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for one night after our visit to bako national park. It was very nice place for a cheap price and very convenient location in the centre. We would definitely come back. Clean, big room for the poor price and just two blocks to the water front.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manuelmt1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The two guys who run this place are really friendly & helpful. They assisted us in planning our days in Kuching & allowed us to leave our backpacks in their office when we went to Bako National Park for a night (definitely recommend a trip to Bako!). They also arranged our transport to the airport.

Our double room was spacious with attached bathroom - good value at 60RM per night. There's free water for guests.  There's a cafe a couple of doors down (turn right when you leave the hostel) called Hi-Bread where you can get sausage egg toast etc for breakfast. It also has a bakery.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Excellent for the price . The location of the hostel is perfect, walking distance to most of the attractions, nearby the hostel lots of good food. And the staff and owner of the hostel were helpful ,they gave us very good tour, shopping and eating information and easy direction to all the tourist attractions.
5mins walk to Chinatown, water front. We really enjoyed our stay, Going to stay again if going to kuching

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at Premium Stay Hostel for 3 nights in Kuching.
The best thing was actually the service provided by Andy, who is at the reception from 9am - 6pm every day. We arrived one day later, because our flight was cancelled and it was was no problem at all. We called him and we didn't have to pay anything for the first night.
He gave us very useful information and helped us to organize everything for our visit to Bako National Park and Semenggoh Nature Reserve. He even kept our room for us when we went to Bako for one night.
Our room was basic, but very clean. We were happy to find a very good working WIFI connection and also an excellent and new air conditioning and water heater. Our room was on the third level with a small balcony facing the street. The hostel provides towels and drinking water.
The location was convient. The waterfront is only a few minutes away as well as the "new Chinatown". The bus stop to Bako NP is a 5 minutes walk from the hostel.

Thanks again, Andy. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without windows. We were lucking to have the possiblitiy to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have promise the staff Andy I will rating, I have do it, although a bit late. So, hope he can saw it, and I think he know who we are. We stayed at premium stay for 3 night. The staff who name Andy was very nice. We really appreciated all the information we received from Andy. We have listed some famous places to go and delicious local foods to eat. Andy explained one by one for us. His explanation was very details. He also help us to book the van to Semenggoh wildlife and also the car to airport. Andy really help us a lot for these few days at Kuching and he also nice to chat, really like to chat with him, he is a funny men. The room actually was quick comfortable but the bathroom was a bit smelly. Besides that, there was someone who smoke outside our room during night time, it was very smelly. Morover, the wifi was a bit slow and hard to connect. So, the overall rating for Premium Stay Hostel can be consider as quick good, especially for the staff - Andy.

Room Tip: Better choose a room that have window and not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Telang Usan Hotel Kuching
Telang Usan Hotel Kuching
#20 of 54 in Kuching
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Place2Stay at City Centre
Place2Stay at City Centre
#34 of 73 in Kuching
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel Kuching
Nova Hotel Kuching
#35 of 80 in Kuching
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
One Point Hotel Kuching
One Point Hotel Kuching
#31 of 80 in Kuching
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tai Pan Hotel
Tai Pan Hotel
#48 of 80 in Kuching
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodpecker Lodge
Woodpecker Lodge
#30 of 80 in Kuching
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premium Stay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premium Stay Hostel

Property: Premium Stay Hostel
Address: No 143, 1st Floor Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Premium Stay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing