We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved and hope these project flourishes!”

The Great Orangutan Project
Ranked #16 of 86 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 2 or 4 week multi award-winning orang-utan volunteer project, based in the Matang Wildlife Centre, focusses on the conservation and protection of Borneo's most fascinating and enchanting species - the orang-utan. Please Note: This page is solely in reference to the 2 or 4 week orang-utan volunteer project offered by The Great Projects
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved and hope these project flourishes!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Keep up the great work in conservation! Went to the Semmangong one. Glad that it's so overwhelming that Matang Wildlife is hosting it too. May more wildlifes be set up and more orang utan to dwell in a safe haven. May forests be protected and more people educated about ecotourism!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gideon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adsjs, Manager at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi HansGideon_Lin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

We are glad that you had an excellent time seeing the orangutans, and we are sure that you saw how dedicated project staff and volunteers are to the conservation of these endangered apes.

We hope you visit 'Matang Wildlife Centre' soon, and if you would like to join 'The Great Orangutan Project', a 2+ week volunteer programme working alongside these magnificent apes, please don't hesitate to get in contact with us.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    32
    9
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“amazing majestic experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have been dreaming of seeing the orangutans for 15 years since I missed the chance when I visited KK. This experience was amazing and everything I thought it would be. We were lucky as we saw 4 of them, Richy (the' main man') and Edwin ( the apparent soon to be challenger) plus 2 females. They are amazing animals, and seeing them slowly approach through the forest was majestic, They are incredibly graceful and agile.
We took a guide, 70RM each, and although it will be a lot cheaper on the bus, it's nice to travel in comfort in the heat, etc; Totally worth the price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adsjs, Manager at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Nicky,

Fantastic that after so long of waiting you finally got to see these incredible creatures!

If you would like to join 'The Great Orangutan Project', the 2+ week programme where you would be able to volunteer alongside these amazing animals, then please don't hesitate to get in contact.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fingers crossed”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We went on an organised trip from Kuching (70RM) as although the bus is by far much less expensive there is a long walk (30 mins ) from the bus stop to the actual viewing area and on the day we went it was very hot.
Unfortunately we had a no show which the ranger said was now the 4th day is a row and that there was sufficient fruit at the moment fotr them to eat without needing to come to the observation area. Everyone was disappointed but understood these are wild animals so will show up as and when.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 55elaine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adsjs, Manager at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi 55elaine55,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

A huge shame that you didn't get to see these magnificent animals. Unfortunately when it comes to wildlife there are never any guarantees!

If you would like to join 'The Great Orangutan Project', a 2+ week volunteer project where you would get to work alongside these magnificent animals, helping in the creation of enrichment and all around husbandry, then please don't hesitate to get in contact.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but no orang utan show”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Me and my husband took a bus to go here and we are waiting for the feeding orang utan show. But not lucky because orang utan not show up. What ever it was beautiful because the conservation very nice and the guide said in that time is raining season that's why orang utan hiding. Well maybe someday I need to go there again :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun_Smieszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adsjs, Manager at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Arun_Smieszek,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Sorry you didn't get to see these magnificent animals!

Unfortunately, as with any wildlife experiences, there are no guarantees!

If you would like to join 'The Great Orangutan Project', a 2+ week volunteer project located at the 'Matang Wildlife Centre', where volunteers work alongside orangutans creating enrichment and helping out with general all around husbandry, then please don't hesitate to get in contact with us!

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take the Bus”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Take the bus and walk in. Be sure to arrive early rather than late. All the Orangutans are adults. The bus ride out was a good way to see the countryside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adsjs, Manager at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Bill I,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave the five star review.

We are glad you had a fantastic time and we would love to see you join 'The Great Orangutan Project' in the future!

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Orangutan Project also viewed

 

Been to The Great Orangutan Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing