We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Closed to Everyone in Trip Advisor!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuching Civic Centre

Kuching Civic Centre
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Still Closed to Everyone in Trip Advisor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This attraction is still closed. Have asked the guard in the area and he said that it will only be re-open after the contractors have been paid and renovation done to the place.

Otherwise, I do enjoy the panoramic views of the Kuching city from the top of the observatory area when it was opened over the years. The place has become very run down over the years since it's opening many years ago.

Hopefully it will be re-opened soon. But I don't keep my hopes too high it will be anytime in the near future. If anyone in Trip Advisor knows when it has re-opened, please do let everyone know.

Cheers!

*There's a planetarium in the same building but I have not been into it myself.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarikei s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    11
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CLOSED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Apparently the platform is closed and the staff is unaware of any work going on and if it ever will reopen. So do not waste your time to go there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place needs sprucing up, as it had an "abandoned" feel to it. We wanted to go up to the viewing platform, but it was closed unfortunately. I do wish they would re-open to the public soon as this is about the only place in Kuching to get a good view of Kuching city! We visited the planetarium as well, and caught a show. There was no one but the 2 of us in there. The show was rather informative. Entrance was RM2.00 per person.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glyn0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Closed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We went here to grab the opportunity to experience skyline views of Kuching (great city!) however it was closed, although there were heaps of cars in the car park I barely saw anyone walking around.

The reason why it was closed was due to an elevator break down and the staff did not know when it will re-open soon.

If this place is still closed in your visit to beutiful Kuching I advise you to visit the cat museum, where you can also view great views of kuching from the viewing area on the side of the road as well as from the actual building.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Fantastic veiws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Well worth a visit, easy to get to, great 360ds view, try to avoid weekends or busy times as there,s only 3 lifts and 10 per lift!!! There is also 3 x film shows !! (approx 20 mins) one is for children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuching Civic Centre also viewed

 

Been to Kuching Civic Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing