We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality/price ratio, w/ a car rented. It is THE choice for u!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We are really happy about our stay. Felt free, the room is clean and taken care. Nice facilities both inside and outside the room (gym, well, really big & nice swimming pool). Comfy bed. And receptionists who are willing to answer to your needs, esp. the woman who currently does the day shift (a bit chubby sorry though to say).
Points to improvement are maybe: the shower, the water does not flow smoothly despite taking off the wired cap, floor default we suppose. And the closet, oh my god, needs to clean a bit from time to time at least to change the strong odor left by the last customer.
Anyhow to conclude, you need a car of course to easily reach daily. But the location is less interesting, if you get a car why care? It is a small town, million times better than staying in the crowded/ tourists flooding/ cheaty center.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the quiet side though, not facing the road; try BF outside too, not much to select f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We managed to book the Studio Premier unit with a discounted rate for the Ascott Group's 30th anniversary. It was fantastic value for money- large area with a double bed; satellite TV; kitchen amenities and the other hotel trappings such as daily housekeeping, swimming pool and gymnasium. The place was spotless and everything worked well. The location is also very handy, just a walk across from The Spring mall and within easy driving distance from the airport and other tourist spots.

The only thing I felt which could have been improved was the underground parking. As I rented a car during my stay in Kuching, I relied on the underground parking a lot- it seemed rather dingy and was unguarded. Coming back to the hotel after 11 at night would always be a headache as the staff from the bar at the bottom of the hotel would block access to the parking for reasons best known to them- something the hotel management would do well to take note of. It was otherwise a great stay for me and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was a pleasant stay for us at the Citadines during our recent short trip to Kuching. The rooms are impressive and very tastefully done - perfect for long stays for a homely experience, and we also appreciated the facilities that made our accomodation even more enjoyable- in particular the swimming pool, gym, free wifi and daily housekeeping service. The fact that the Citadines is just a short walk away from the Spring, a local popular shopping mall was a bonus point for us. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jollivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The service are fast and the place are strategic, near to The Spring shopping Mall, and near to Bangunan Sultan Iskandar, not far from airport. The room are clean, comfort, and all need such as iron, microwave, kitchen tool, freezer are provided. I stay there twice and i will stay there agein for my next trip soon...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaydentKentRezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed 4 days 3 nights in this apartment / hotel.
Good:
• Fully equipped with kitchenware such as microwave oven, electric kettle, electric stove, toaster, refrigerator and other necessary utilities u need for cooking. It would be perfect if cooking oil and sauces can be provided.
• Two key cards were given which is very good and important especially for me who travelling with baby. When my baby is sleeping, i still can go out without bringing him. Somestimes it's really annoying when u want to go out for a while and everyone has to follow you.
• Room are modern and quite spacious (my room is studio type) with a queen bed and small 2 seater sofa, a working desk, LCD TV and DVD player, what else u want from an apartment which is below RM150 per night? Of course this is promo price.
• Good security as only person who has key card can access the apartment.
• Big outdoor swimming pool and a kid's pool, a gym.
• A supermarket is located ground floor, The Spring Shopping Mall is just opposite and is linked by a skybridge. Many restaurant nearby.

Need improvement:
• Free WIFI is fast but not stable. Always have to reconnect.
• Buffet breakfast is okay but limited choice and i think it;s not managed but the Citadines itself. I strongly recommended Citadines to set up their own restaurant, i don't mind to pay more for fine dining.
• The direction sign in the basement carpark is confusing and there's no CCTV survaillance in the car park.
• No kids zone / children playground. I noticed that there's is some vacant area outside the gym, would u consider it? I'm sure those who travel with children will love it.

As this apart / hotel is newly opened last year, there are still many can be improved. But i am extremely satisfied with their services. Here's the reason.
When i made my booking online, i requested for at least 5th floor higher and i was given the 10th floor. Thanks! Less than one hour before i checked in, i modified my request as my wife birthday is coming during our stay in Citadines. So i request a small cake from them online. I thought it's too late already... but when the day came, i was surprised when i opened the fridge around 10pm. Their staff already prepared the cake when we are out for shopping. It's really a big surprise as my wife and i only left two hours before her birthday last. Thumbs up! My biggest thanks to all of u.
Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonylau83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Citadines for 3 days after spending about 4 days at Damai beach. The kids instantly loved the pool and kept asking to spend time there. The Spring mall is easy to get to via the overhead bridge. Actual town + river is actually some 20 mins away (RM15 taxi fare) which is alright.
I especially liked the look of the rooms and overall feel of the hotel (reminds me of some of the better hotels in Europe). Breakfast is average but nothing amiss.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I checked in last week for a short 1 night vacation.the check in process was great and they were very polite.Ive booked for 1 bedroom executive for rm150++ under new year promo and get free upgrade to 1 bedroom premier for free and it was also inclusive breakfast for 2!it was slightly bigger than 1 bedroom executive and it was a corner room so this property has only 1 unit each floor for this type of room.nice view from room especially view of kuching city skyline with mount santubong as a background!room was great,love the kitchen with full utilities,large 40inch LED tv in living area and 32 inch led tv in room.room decoration was modern and contemporary.bathroom got no bathtub but rainshower preasure was great.the breakfast was just ok,more to a cafe to me with limited choice but you got the value of what you paid.the hotel located just next to the spring shopping mall where you can find anything there.there are also a groceries shop just under this property.overall im very satisfied and impressed! thank you Citadines Uplands Kuching for making my stay a memorable vacation!

Room Tip: ask for high floor room facing kuching city skyline and santubong mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,719 reviews
1.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,012 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
640 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
1.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Uplands Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Uplands Kuching

Address: No 55 Jalan Spg, Kuching 93300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £31 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Uplands Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the culturally rich city of Kuching, CitadinesUplands is located in the prime location of Jalan SimpangTiga, a hub for education and local federal governmentadministration offices. Across is The Spring ShoppingCentre, one of the largest shopping malls in EastMalaysia, and this strategic location provides a quick10-minute drive to the Samajaya Free Industrial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Uplands Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing