We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I don't normally review hotel but this is really not something I expected, especially since it is owned by The Ascott Limited. I uploaded some pictures, pictures say more than words. We did some researched on Citadines before we decided to give it a try but still find it disappointing.

Our experience:
On check in time at 3pm, we specifically mention that we want a quiet room and away from The Library (a bar or pub), we got a one bedroom on the 10th floor and was told nobody complain about this room so far.

But at night, we can hear the bass and music from the Library!! It is really loud, no way we can have a good rest in the music on so loudly. We can heard it clearer in the bedroom compare with the kitchen area. Went down to make a complain and was told we can hear it because our room IS JUST BEHIND the Library. This is the best room they have when we check in and blah blah blah. The receptionist said they will give us a room at the end of the other side of Citadines which is far away from the Library next day and mean time they can't do anything about it as is all fully occupied. We don't mind downgrading the room to a studio as long as is far away from the Library.

Next day, went down again was a different shift receptionist and assigned us a room which is just two rooms away from our room, we don't think there is any difference and don't want to have another night hearing the bass. So went down to the reception again and they said they are only told to assigned us to the same room type. Very disappointed with the way the staff communicate between themselves, again we have to address again on our problems and wanted a further room away from the Library.

Waited till noon, assigned us to a studio with a strong cigarette smell on a non smoking floor, go back down to the receptionist and request for another room.

This time room is at 7th floor, no cigarette smell but room is not clean, bed sheet have stains on them (forgot to take picture on that), as the rest you can see it from the PICTURES I UPLOADED. We are just too tire to deal with the receptionist anymore, they have good smile and keep saying sorry, but they need to communicate better between themselves on passing guest request and not good in solving our problem. Still very disappointed when they assigned us to a room so near to the bar on our first night here especially our long journey flight.

other negative about citadines:
1) Breakfast not good
2)wifi is very bad

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank k1234ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ares C, SMT Executive at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time when the issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that your concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making your stay with us a pleasant one. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of the incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience.

Please feel free contact myself at 082-281888 so that we can take remedial action to ensure incident like this will not happen again. Thank you.

Ares Chong on behalf of Charlene Chan (Assistant Residence Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Citadines Uplands Kuching was one of few new hotel apartments in Kuching. For those who prefer out of Kuching main city, this should be your choice of accommodation. Being new and full arrays of modern facilities, this property was very satisfied to me. I stayed for a night for a company's fuctions in Kuching. For this, I would like to highlight several things which could help fellow readers decision while travel to Kuching later;
1. Citadines Uplands was just opposite a large shopping mall, The Spring in Simpang Tiga, just about 5 minutesdrive from Kuching International Airport. There is a overbridge connected the property with shopping mall. Its really helps for those who like to shopping there as the road was very busy especially during rush hour.
2. The room itself was very new, feel fresh, modern and full arrays of amenities. The kitcheniery was complete and toileteries are sufficients enough for me. Bathroom was very nice and water pressure for hot water was good too.
3. As like others concept of hotel apartments, you will denied access to other floor other than yours. So its quite safe as all your access was contain to your room level only.
4. I have try their breafast. The choice was limited but the environmentwas quite friendly. All the staff was very attentive and helpful. They quite knowledgeable even though sometimes a bit clueless.
5. Apart from shopping mall, the area surrounding was quite good. There a lot of eating spot, entertainment outlet and commercial building. The Swinburne College was just nearby. From my room, the viewwas quite impressive as it overlook most part of Kuching city esoecially during night time.
Overall, my stay was quite pleasant and I seriously consider Citadines Uplands Kuching again should I travel to Kuching in future. Thanks to all the staff and manager, you have doing very nice. KEEP IT UP!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank KvnBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in studio premier with en suite bath room, microwave oven, induction cooker, basically everything you need in a house except for washing machine.rooms are clean and pool and gym are nice. Nothing else to ask for except breakfast is a bit too plain. Cereal is already not so crunchy because it's exposed to air

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank chris306997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The room was excellent and modern, with a high comfortable bed, little kitchen and clean bathroom. However, the wifi signal did not work for our devices in our rooms on the 10th floor.
It works in the lobby and in the elevator area of the floor. The service at reception was excellent, and if you ask, they have some good cheap tour packages available, but will not try to sell it to you.
The location is not near the city centre and you have to ask reception to call you a taxi. The taxis don't have a meter and seem to charge you whatever they want, plus a fee for the hotel for calling for you. Try to get a metered taxi if possible and call one yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a strong wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSmithsGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel, not yet 2 years old in May 2014, comprises serviced apartments and hotel-style accommodation. The rooms contain cutlery, crockery, microwave etc and you can shop nearby or bring back cooked food to enjoy, adding to the flexibility. We were pleasantly surprised to find that [simple] breakfast was included in the price even though it wasn't advertised as such. As pointed out by some reviewer, the pillows were a little to high. The hotel is very close to shops, restaurants and cafes as well as a mall. The gym and pool are very nice and clean. Staff are very friendly. The main reasons I've given it a 4 are: proximity to the centre, high pillows and blocked shower drain. It should only cost you about 5 USD to go to the centre of town. We extended for an extra two nights and kept our rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the pool have a better view of Kuching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorribleTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We are really happy about our stay. Felt free, the room is clean and taken care. Nice facilities both inside and outside the room (gym, well, really big & nice swimming pool). Comfy bed. And receptionists who are willing to answer to your needs, esp. the woman who currently does the day shift (a bit chubby sorry though to say).
Points to improvement are maybe: the shower, the water does not flow smoothly despite taking off the wired cap, floor default we suppose. And the closet, oh my god, needs to clean a bit from time to time at least to change the strong odor left by the last customer.
Anyhow to conclude, you need a car of course to easily reach daily. But the location is less interesting, if you get a car why care? It is a small town, million times better than staying in the crowded/ tourists flooding/ cheaty center.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the quiet side though, not facing the road; try BF outside too, not much to select f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We managed to book the Studio Premier unit with a discounted rate for the Ascott Group's 30th anniversary. It was fantastic value for money- large area with a double bed; satellite TV; kitchen amenities and the other hotel trappings such as daily housekeeping, swimming pool and gymnasium. The place was spotless and everything worked well. The location is also very handy, just a walk across from The Spring mall and within easy driving distance from the airport and other tourist spots.

The only thing I felt which could have been improved was the underground parking. As I rented a car during my stay in Kuching, I relied on the underground parking a lot- it seemed rather dingy and was unguarded. Coming back to the hotel after 11 at night would always be a headache as the staff from the bar at the bottom of the hotel would block access to the parking for reasons best known to them- something the hotel management would do well to take note of. It was otherwise a great stay for me and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,685 reviews
1.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
1.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Uplands Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Uplands Kuching

Address: No 55 Jalan Spg, Kuching 93300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £31 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Uplands Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the culturally rich city of Kuching, CitadinesUplands is located in the prime location of Jalan SimpangTiga, a hub for education and local federal governmentadministration offices. Across is The Spring ShoppingCentre, one of the largest shopping malls in EastMalaysia, and this strategic location provides a quick10-minute drive to the Samajaya Free Industrial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citadines Uplands Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing