We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So far so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So far so good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Everything is great. The room come with pantry which is lovely and very near to The Street Mall. I love the room. The only minor thing not happy is the bathroom piping is not really smooth as water flowing out slow. And the wifi is super slow, basically I m not using the wifi

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_d_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Jonathan_d_Ho,

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Following your feedback, we have highlighted this issue to our maintenance department.

Thank you again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Uplands Kuching in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Charlene Chan
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    189
    60
    11
    8
See reviews for
160
57
27
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in an 1-bedroom executive room in this Apart' Hotel. The facilities are like what the photo images show. The bedroom, living room and bathroom were good size, well fitted and in rather new condition. The bathroom has a good shower but beware there isn't a bath-tub. (There is a pool on level 3). It has access doors from either bed or living rooms. The kitchenette area is lovely with a sink, tall fridge, cooker + an adjoining table, all are in good condition too. Beware the hotel entrance is part of shopping mall on the ground floor, with Lobby on Level 2. One draw back is the location and reliability of transport. On check out, we asked the hotel reception to book us an executive taxi (blue Innova, which we have used before). On arrival at airport, we were asked to pay RM43 for a 9-minute ride. Recalling, the journey roughly includes two roads (Tiga & Jugah), two large junctions & two fly-overs. The hotel reception could consider providing guidance for approx taxi fares for visitors from Citadines to a few known locations in KCH for both street and executive taxis. I would use this hotel again, but for the longer term, only if the aspect of taxi transport info/arrangement could be improved.

Room Tip: Consider 1-bedroom executive all facing the pool, but book early to get promo, which then equals reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Emmanuel123,

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching. Thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your recent stay.

Please allow me to clarify that bath tub only available in our 2-bedroom apartment. I am sorry if this was not clearly made known to you by the staff who attended your needs, thus causing misunderstanding.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. From all of us at Citadines Uplands Kuching, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Yours Sincerely,

Charlene Chan
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is my second stay in the same apartment hotel this year. First time round in March and again in August. This apartment hotel is based within small mall complex with the very good Library bar on ground floor round the corner. Staff are very helpful and even assisted with my online check in for my departure flights. Rooms usually two bed room sleeping 4 people just right for a family, with lounge diner kitchen, ensuite and second bathroom. Complimentary wifi, bottled water daily and fresh towels. It is clean, modern and my top choice when visiting this city.

Value is pretty good for families. Breakfast is somewhat basic and would have liked things like fresh local Malaysian varieties. But we are in a city which has plenty of good local restaurants and cafés for brunch, lunch and dinner.

Pool is pretty decent and there is seating to relax in. Gym small but maintained and good enough for decent work out, although had to ask for stock of towels and cups for drinks dispenser.

There are two malls one in walking distance and another less than 5mins by car. The hotel is close to airport around 10-15mins. In August Kuching hosts a food fair which is a must for those who like to indulge in all things culinary.

I would certainly recommend this hotel...note reception is accessed from ground floor by lifts or escalator from mall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Ironman16,

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching!

Thank you very much for the taking the time to tell us about your recent stay.

Once again, thank you for your support and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This place is new & a big surprise. Wasn't expecting much from the amazingly low promotion price. I was blown away by how well-equipped the studio was. The room was spacious, well- furnished & very clean. It has everything you need from working desk to bedside night-lights to ironing boards to a complete functioning kitchen & refrigerator.

Tried out the gym & it is quite well equipped with several machines, several sets of dumbbells, benches, yoga mats & medicine balls. There is also a room length mirror for us to check our lifting form. Gym was surprisingly good. Make sure you wipe after you're done.

The pool was clean. Lots of children playing in it. There is a children's pool & a jacuzzi. They provide towels on request.

This is a great place to stay in. Great value! Take advantage while they are on promotion until 31 December!

Room Tip: Lower floors may suffer from noise from traffic or kids playing in the pool. If you plan to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarodYJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello ahkamkoko,

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

I will share your compliments with my team and your feedback definitely motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Facilities such as the pool and gym was excellent. But in need of variety in breakfast spread. Location is close and walking distance to a shopping mall which is convenient. The room was in good condition with a nice view of the city.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rhairul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear rhairul,

Thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your recent stay.

With reference to your feedback on breakfast service, we have highlighted your feedback to our F&B operator and reiterated that need to improve breakfast variety as well as service standard. We acknowledge your concerns regarding the quality of food served at breakfast spread and regret that we were unable to meet your expectations. Unlike hotels, the serviced residence has limited space for food preparation and as such we mainly offer a continental breakfast spread. However, please be assured that we will continue to review this aspect and hopefully upon your next visit, you should see some improvement.

Once again, thank you for your support and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for three nights in a really nice and clean suite on the seventh floor. A view of the town (and the great government building) was lovely at night. The swimming pool is large, clean and rather cold but quite refreshing after a day in the heat. The bus stop is right outside but we caught taxis to get into the town area. The mall opposite has a nice food court, air-conditioning and a supermarket. The usual options at breakfast provided a nice start to the day and the staff were VERY attentive. Wifi worked well yet some TV channels didn't when it was raining. The computer in the lounge area was also a good option when I needed a keyboard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdeandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear jdeandrew,

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching!

Thank you very much for the taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team at Citadines Uplands Kuching.

Feedback such as yours inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that residents have come to expect.

Once again, thank you for your support and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Good location with the Spring Departmental Store just opposite the hotel. Well equipped with kitchenette and clean bed sheets. Everything looks new. My only problem was there was no wifi. It's important if you're on a business trip that wifi is a must. Only after I complained on the 2nd night that the reception said there had been a few complains also. I think the hotel should at least get it fixed when there is a complaint instead of waiting for more complaint before taking action. Even though they were later kind enough to fix a portable wifi in my room but it was not strong enough to read my mails when I come back in the night.

Since I travel a lot and wifi is a must for me all the time, I will not be back to this hotel. If wifi is not important to you, then its a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrylowyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear jerrylowyl,

Thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with your recent stay. Please be assured that we are always seeking to satisfy the expectations of our residents. For this reason, I hope that we will have another opportunity to improve your stay experience in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve your better.


Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
1.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
2.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Uplands Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Uplands Kuching

Property: Citadines Uplands Kuching
Address: No 55 Jalan Spg, Kuching 93300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Uplands Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the culturally rich city of Kuching, CitadinesUplands is located in the prime location of Jalan SimpangTiga, a hub for education and local federal governmentadministration offices. Across is The Spring ShoppingCentre, one of the largest shopping malls in EastMalaysia, and this strategic location provides a quick10-minute drive to the Samajaya Free Industrial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Uplands Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing