We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, extremely clean, and comfortable.”

Bori Ottok Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bori Ottok Guesthouse
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, extremely clean, and comfortable.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed about 5 nights and liked everything about it. Good central location. The host will make sure your well taken care of. Our room was basic and very very clean, not much more you want as a budget traveller. The shared bathrooms were impeccable, even the shower pressure was awesome. I would definitely stay here again. It's not super fancy but it was probably on of the most comfortable stays on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my cousin stayed here for 3 nights, it was the same amount as any other hostel on the street (20RM for a dorm) but was probably the best

Likes:

Location - it was next to the waterfront and not too far from the Museums, shopping centre and other attractions in Kuching.

Security - all of the hostels have locks on the front doors which at first make you feel that the area isn't safe but it does add the extra layer of security. I didn't feel threatened at all in Kuching,maybe they are just over precautious. They also have lockers for the dorm rooms which no other hostel/guesthouse offered on the street.

Other - free breakfast, clean bedroom and bathrooms are also a plus!

Dislikes -

There weren't many dislikes, maybe the smell of the dorm was a bit musky or the hostel being a bit empty (it was low season) were the only things I could really fault.

Definitely worth staying here if you are going to Kuching. The manager running the place is also very friendly!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RockinAllOverDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in a triple room. It's great value for money, with plenty of toast and tea for breakfast. The rooms are super clean, and the bathrooms are always immaculate. The best part about this guesthouse is the guy that runs it day to day; he's so helpful, friendly and funny, we had many a night watching movies with him on the big TV screen downstairs. He is also very accommodating with late arrivals and early departures, with a taxi called ready and waiting for you. Highly recommend this place, absolutely great!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RC435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Booked in advance after looking for somewhere good value, family.friendly, and central in Kuching. We had a great stay there in a family room with double bed, bunk beds, shower , towels, and aircon. Was very quiet at night, and the bathrooms were spotless too! Matt cleaned our room and changed sheets on our 3rd day, which we didn't expect for backpacker prices! Breakfast was self service bread, toast, spreads and some other things some days too. Matt treated us to local foods too, which was kind! Kids enjoyed that they could play in the downstairs eating and tv area without having to keep quiet, and always felt welcome. The computer and internet for use by guests was brilliant after our laptop had broken! Matt was always helpful in giving advice about whee to eat and visit. We would definitely recommend this place to people on a tight budget who want to stay somewhere central! Thanks Matt!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Family1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This guesthouse was found accidently because we want to move another place to stay. Me and my mum just spend 3 nights 2 Days on here and it is a nice place to stay. It's very quiet, clean rooms and provided with air con for only RM60.00 (One day). Our rooms have bathrooms and for other rooms with no bathrooms must shared bathrooms with extremely clean and comfortable. Abu@Mat, always helping if we need something. He also friendly guy and kind man. If you are looking a cheap place and affordable to stay, Bori Ottok is the one. Most important have free wifi to access.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ress_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We did a lot of walking around Kuching to find accommodation.... We initially discounted this place because they only had shared bathrooms available - our preference was for private ones.

We ended up returning a few days later, dissatisfied with where we initially went and kicked ourselves for not having taken it in the first place.

This guesthouse is a gem! The rooms and shared bathrooms were spotless and also had a lovely homely atmosphere. In fact, the shared bathrooms were better than my own at home! The guys who run this place clearly take a lot of pride in their new venture. We didn't find it in any of the guidebooks, probably because they are so new on the scene. This would be my number one choice in Kuching - I'm a harsh critic but have no hesitation in giving 5 stars. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, air con at no extra cost, free tea/coffee & wifi and great (but quiet) location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just spent four nights at this guesthouse and found it very clean and quiet though right in the center of town. The staff are very helpful and provide lists of how to get to the various attractions around Kuching. The breakfast is simple but filling. Ask any question and the staff do heir best to help. Great value for money in Kuching.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 782devans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#20 of 54 in Kuching
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bori Ottok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bori Ottok Guesthouse

Property: Bori Ottok Guesthouse
Address: 94 Ewe Hai Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing