We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Kuching
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location at town”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is located near town area, near to a lot of places of interest, for example: waterfront, tun jugah shopping mall, the hill shopping mall, India street, China Street and nearby to Topspot seafood centre which offer good seafood at reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank sinlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Ariva Gateway Kuching is the most ideal accommodation choice for leisure or business in Kuching. The surroundings of the Hotel have much to offer in terms of great shopping, fabulous seafood, local delicacies and other entertainment, in just a short distance away, you will also find the iconic Sarawak museum and other historical sites. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    117
    66
    28
    14
See reviews for
84
31
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Definitely a great place to stay with families and friends! Reasonable rates and also well equipped apartment. Was impressed that that even have washer dryer and washing machine. Fully well equipped kitchen too. However their breakfast was really too simple.. Overall experience was still good!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leannehly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Ariva Gateway Kuching is indeed impressive; each apartment is tastefully furnished in contemporary decor, and fully equipped with home entertainment system, complimentary wifi, fully-equipped kitchen (including washer and dryer) and modern amenities. Ariva Gateway Kuching offers great value for money and is definitely a compelling accommodation choice in Kuching.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and wanted to stay longer. We got a great deal on Agoda which made it only a little dearer than a backpackers, but the rooms are much much larger. The rooms are a little tired but in a nice homely way. Breakfast is good and there is even a pool. Staff are also friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpyoldpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate your kind comments of wanting to stay a bit longer with us and found our room rates to be of Value for Money.

We are delighted that you feel at home and enjoying the spacious room during your stay with us. Your kind comments on our staff being friendly have been shared. We believe that is the key important factor. That will definitely give us even more momentum to provide service that delivers beyond expectations.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The apt look torn from the outside but once you reach the lobby, you will feel welcome. It's just beside the nearby bigboys(Pullman), so if you want to save money on accommodation,utilise it for transport or other tour,this apt is strategically located. The important things is the superior room is clean and comfortable. Children get free breakfast but choice is limited. There are mushroom of laundry service beside the apartment, it's really make our burdened lesser. Do not expect much during lunch time coz the cafe and restaurant nearby had limited menu. The aerial city view at the swimming pool located at 16 floor was marvellous. We can watch the sun set but too bad it (thee door)close for the sun rise. They emphasise on "pro-children policy" if you read on one of their strategic intent but they had to do something on the ground floor. There are no seat available(to wait for taxi) and ramp for stroller or wheelchair bound to access down

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your valuable review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate your kind comments and totally agree with you that our Hotel is strategically located with all amenities nearby. The magnificent view of the city overlooking from Level 16 Swimming Pool is simply breath-taking especially during sunset hours. For choices of meal selection, our Guest Service Officer is always ready to offer and take in suggestions.

We have taken note of your comments on the waiting area and a ramp for stroller to access through the front entrance (Level UG), alternatively, guests may also access through back entrance (Level G) where there are no staircases.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We for stayed for 4 days and 3 nights from 15/6/ till 18/6/2012 in a two bedroom apartment.
After reading lots of mixed reviews from here , we were prepared for the worse. But we were very pleased and surpise. The apartment was sapcious and very very clean. One bed room with Queen size bed and the other with two singles bed. Perfet for a family of four. It was like walking to your own home with everything.
Check in was a breeze, took only a minute. We were given the highest floor on the fifteen. Pool was on the rooftop. Excellent view from the living room and bedrooms. From the swimming pool you can see the waterfront.
Breakfast is simple, restaurant might be small , just go early !
Every staff we met are very friendly and helpful. In fact I think all Sarawakians are except this go kart place that we went.
Anyway everything thing you need to see in the city is nearby. The curise at the waterfront , shops, 7 eleven , minimart,, restaurants and the famous topspot seafoood makan place. If you love seafood you shouldnt miss this place.For us we didnt realyy like topspot.
Overall , I would say Ariva is a perfect place for family with children .
Perfect location . If only they have room service.

.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We are delighted on how you like the spacious and clean room that you feel at home with all the amenities you need in our 2 bedroom apartment and the excellent view at Level 16 swimming pool is not to be missed.

We appreciate your kind comment and totally agree of our strategically locality with all conveniences nearby. And we are delighted you have experienced our friendly and helpful services and my team members have delivered in their service deliveries and met with your expectation.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

stayed in a two bedroom apartment in ariva gateway kuching in the first week of june 2012
the apartment was spacious and well equipped ( tyhe only thing missing was a mirror in the main bedroom)

the service was excellent - when we checked in noted that the toilet seat was loose and on informing the front desk, it was repaired immediately

the staff was helpful in calling for cabs and also told us about the shuttle bus to the sarawak cultural village.

the location was good - you come out from the building and to your left is chinatown and the the waterfront while if you walk to you right is the hills sjhopping complex and pullman hotel.

lots of restaurants nearby and the best part - there's a famous seafood food court called top spot or is it top cafe and this place is accessible through the 2nd floor of the apartment buliding - if you love seafood make sure you go to this place - there's fresh seafood - you pick what you want and then you tell the waiter hw you want it cooked and the price is cheap ( it is always packed though)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valyakalayil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We are delighted on how you agree on the spaciousness room and well equipped amenities in our 2 bedroom apartment.

We appreciate your kind comment over your experiences with my team members that have delivered in their service deliveries, responded and met with your expectation.

We are delighted that you agree Ariva Gateway Kuching is strategically located with all conveniences nearby.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Positives - the staff were helpful when spoken to, and amenable

Negatives - the hotel photographs are hugely deceptive; the hotel is, in fact, a serviced apartment block within an office building; the rooms are smaller than expected; the hotel is not equipped to the standard you would expect for the price; the hotel breakfast is poor; we had to move rooms due to an obvious leak in the bathroom (the bathroom ceiling had caved in and water was all over the floor) which hadn't been fixed before we checked in; the gym equipment is rusted and looks like it has escaped from a zombie film from the eighties; the pool area is run down and unenticing; the pool area view is not what you would expect from the photos; and because it is a serviced apartment complex, not a hotel, expect there to be noisier family gatherings going on over dinner, rather than this happening in the hotel restaurant, which doesn't exist.

Room Tip: Only book if you want an apartment and there are a substantial number guests who are known to you bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We are delighted that you find my team members helpful in their service deliveries.

Yes Ariva Gateway Kuching is located within the Gateway Kuching which is a well-appointed twin tower complex integrating modern office and luxurious serviced residences, with the smallest room size at 30sqm for Superior room, 76-101sqm for 2 bedroom apartments.

We apologize for the leakage accident occurred in the bathroom. In our norm practice, we can advise our guests to lower down their noise volume especially late in the evening.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#13 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Gateway Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Gateway Kuching

Property: Ariva Gateway Kuching
Address: No 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Gateway Kuching)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Gateway Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Gateway Kuching is nestled in the heart of Sarawak's Golden Triangle. It is a well appointed twin tower complex integrating modern offices and serviced residences from hotel rooms to well equipped apartments within the Central Business District. It is centrally located within a myriad of major shops, international restaurants and entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariva Gateway Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Gateway Kuching Hotel Kuching
Somerset Gateway Kuching
Somerset Gateway Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing