We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The apartment hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariva Gateway Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The apartment hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Don't be shocked when you arrived at the main entrance of the building because there was no lobby to welcome you but only a lift brings you up to level four to check in. Do check with your access card to the glass door entering to anothet lift to your room level. Their access card always failed to access the door. Management should do something about it. The room quite big and nice but not the TV channels. Can't watch a clear image channels. Good WIFI.get to the roof top swimming pool to get a nice stunning view of the city. Good value as a standard of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetfly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Ariva Gateway Kuching offers great value to your stay in terms of location and facilities. You may access our lobby at Level 4 through the common lift at Level UG / Level G. An access card is required as an added security feature to our in-house guests for room levels.

We have noted on your other comments and have rectified it. There is an amazing view of the Kuching city from our Level 16 swimming pool where our guests swim and unwind.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    116
    66
    28
    14
See reviews for
83
31
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Pros:
Price is affordable, and value for your money.
Huge room as its an apartment type of hotel.
Security is good, as it has its own lift to hotel room.
Staff are helpful and friendly.
Easy to get taxi.
U get a nice view from top of the building, where the pool and gym located.
Next to seafood restaurants, many choices to pick (also got halal de...)

Cons:
Rooms WiFi is not working, call to complain but not fix.
Noisy sound from air-con's compressor, as its located at u'r balcony.
Breakfast had limited choices.

Overall its a nice and comfortable hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelChye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate all your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback, may we gently highlight that due to the structure of the walls, our WiFi signal is stronger at the living and dining areas.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stay for 4 nights. The room was nice, with mini fridge and dvd player provided. The breakfast don't have many choices. But still acceptable except for the worse counter service during check out. The staffs have given the hotel a bad name.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate your kind comments about our room amenities. We sincerely apologise for the bad experiences you encountered during your check-out, your feedback has been shared and highlighted to our Guest Services Department to consistently provide excellent services to all our guests.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Pahang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

It was another routine work-related visit to Kuching, and I've decided to Ariva Gateway. Was not expecting much as the price paid was cheap, but I was wrong...

I was greeted by a very (I need to emphasize, VERY) cheerful front girl, accommodating and was really helpful. There was not so much of a lobby as it is not a hotel but it was enough. Upon entering the room, wow it was spacious! I booked a deluxe room with a queen bed, a small balcony, well groomed bathroom with a bathtub. They even provided a DVD player, free of charge!

The gym, basic but all the equipment were functioning. The pool, shallow but clean and with a very great view. The sauna, small yet functioned very well.

In a nutshell, I was glad that I've chosen to stay in this apartment instead of my 'regular' hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamagochi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate your kind comments on our great hospitality. We believe in providing our guests an excellent, prompt, and courteous service from our hearts. And we are delighted to know that you enjoyed all our facilities.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was a good location (right next to Top Spot seafood and walking to water front and a mall) and had a nice big, two-bedroom suite with kitchen etc. Prices were OK too. But it was old and a bit smelly (drains) and dated. Nothing horribly unclean but just years of build up etc. It did have a washing machine and separate dryer which was nice. Pool on the roof was pretty good but no towels up there and hard to get new ones and don't count on the "gym" as it is older equipment almost outside and no air etc. Bit dark hallways and slow elevator and doesn't feel much like a hotel as it's in an office block with limited help on arrival. THe breakfast is very dismal and we skipped a couple of days. But again location is good and apartment-sized places are handy for families as we had.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Ariva Gateway Kuching is strategically located within the Kuching Golden Triangle where most conveniences are nearby. We agree that our amenities and spacious apartments are particularly great for big families.

We appreciate all your comments and we are looking forward to serving our guests better. We have taken note on your feedback on our breakfast, more varieties and choices will be provided.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed 3 nights in the Ariva Gateway with my wife and 2 kids. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Apartment was clean and nicely furnitured. Location is very good, 5 minutes walking from the waterfront.
Free wifi and a small swimmingpool.
Breakfast was according to European standards below average, but who cares with so many eating places around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and our warm hospitality at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Ariva Gateway is a great 4 star hotel, well located, clean, efficient staff and good value. It is located close to shopping and eating. Nothing was too much trouble. A computer in the foyer and free wifi in the rooms was excellent. The rooftop pool was sparkling ( but don't dive as it is shallow). I had a nice window and balcony with a view towards the river. A great breakfast with both western and local food was included.

Room Tip: Ask for a view towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alp390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate all your wonderful comments about our Hotel. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay while in Kuching.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.6 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#11 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#19 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Gateway Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Gateway Kuching

Property: Ariva Gateway Kuching
Address: No 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Gateway Kuching)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Gateway Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Gateway Kuching is nestled in the heart of Sarawak's Golden Triangle. It is a well appointed twin tower complex integrating modern offices and serviced residences from hotel rooms to well equipped apartments within the Central Business District. It is centrally located within a myriad of major shops, international restaurants and entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Ariva Gateway Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Gateway Kuching Hotel Kuching
Somerset Gateway Kuching
Somerset Gateway Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing