We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly located”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Pros:
* Location (right near the waterfront)
* Awesome view (from the river view rooms)
* Good buffet breakfast
* Rooms were adequately sized
* Quiet

Cons:
* As others have mentioned there were a few cockroaches in the room (small brown ones not big black ones)
* Hallways smell a bit musty

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkittlesInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

I just felt dissapointed with this hotel...i booked this hotel for my in law n family members during my wedding..i thought a hotel with such a good location and view should'nt be any problem! But i was shocked and felt ashamed...when my in law saw cockroaches almost immediately after we stepped into our room. THIS HAS LEFT A VERY BAD IMPRESSION OF SARAWAK. HOTEL MANAGEMENT, as a sarawakian i really hope you can do more on the cleanliness... until you do so i wouldnt recommend anyone to stay in this hotel....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cockroachesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A group of us stayed here for 2 nights and sadly, the hotel has seen better days. Rooms were basic and slightly dated; the room I was in was alright although a member of our group did remark that she had to kill a few cockroaches in hers. Breakfast was basic and food was average. I would advise against consuming their fresh fruit served at breakfast as I spotted a fly in one of the dishes. There is a need for the hotel to up the standards of their food safety.

The hotel is ideal if you need a basic, simple place to sleep for the night - definitely not the place to go if you're looking for a luxurious stay in Kuching. Having said that, the location of the hotel is ideal and is within walking distance of Kuching town and its shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineMayYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is the hotel for you if you like creepy crawly cockroaches. I was offered a change of room but there were also cockroaches in the second room. I thoroughly inspected the third room and reluctantly accepted it as it was quite late and we were too tired. The next day, we found a dead cockroach in the mini fridge. Gosh!!

Otherwise, the hotel has some good points
- The location is superb
- The bed is soft and comfortable
- The room is pretty big
- It is pretty quiet
- The price is reasonable
- The staff is friendly

Some things can be better though
- The room is quite dark and a little run down
- The hotel needs renovation and upgrading
- The hotel should supply better quality shower gel and shampoo
- The wifi is terrible especially at the higher floor

Room Tip: Check for cockroaches Lower floor for better wifi Bring your own shower gel and shampoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unclebao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hello,
this hotel has comfortable rooms and bathrooms, very clean and of course an awesome view...

Unfortunately they charge you incredibly high prices for wifi connections... 25AUD / day and more than 10AUD for the first hour!!! In a period where you can buy a 3G sim card for 40AUD they should revise their policy...

have a nice stay in sydney!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9213olivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear 9213olivier,

Thank you for your review!

We are surprised with your comment on our wifi charges as we provide free wifi to all room guest. I believe that your review may have been written for Harbour View Hotel in Sydney.

Anyway, we look forward to welcoming you to Kuching, Malaysia soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Harbour View Hotel is centrally located in Kuching. It is within walking distance to Kuching Waterfront, which is along the banks of the Sarawak River. The Kuching Waterfront is a popular tourist attraction. You can stroll along or can sit down on the benches and enjoy the scenic view of the Malay kampong across the river. The river is very clean and the calmness of the water gives you peace of mind. You can also find food stalls selling drinks and food there.There are many hotels of international standard around here. The Parkson Plaza is close by. Just opposite the hotel, you can visit the oldest temple in Kuching. There is also a cinema close by. There are many local restaurants nearby. I enjoy my stay at the hotel, though I spent only one night there.

Room Tip: Choose high level room. You can have scenic view of Kuching Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Ahmad A,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and that we were able to be of service to you. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you required any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have stayed at the " The Harbour View Hotel "a number of times and have always found it to be clean ,convenient and with staff who view serving the public a privilege. The first time I was there the bathroom was not " up to scratch " my complaint to the manager brought an immediate apology and a change of room to a far superior one . Their breakfast is one of the highlights for me , and always sets me up for a day of touring.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Ray A,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you have stayed with us on many occasion. However, we do apologise for any setbacks you experienced. The management will look into the matter seriously.

Do contact us if you need any assistance. We will be glad to be of service to you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £23 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing