We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night at the end of May 2014. Room size is quite ok but bed lousy. It is soft and tends to roll into the center whenever you sleep. Toilet needs some upgrading. Location of hotel is ok but the shops around there closes quite early. There is a seafood area on the 6th floor of a building just up the road but we find the food just quite ordinary. If you are willing to pay more, there are better hotels up there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia19580902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here by Dec 2011 for 4 nites. The hotel is new and clean. No swimming pool. The location is good. The shopping mall Parkson is within walking distance. The hotel is close to jetty. The famous temple is just beside the hotel. The price is moderate. We were very happy stayed here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hweeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

For the price of RM150 it is worth the stay. Located strategically (walking distance) to the waterfront.

Booking and check-in process was fast and professional.

The only flaw is that the hotel need major refurbishment throughout especially the rooms.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank i_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

stayed here for two nights in january 2014. location is good .. it's near the river and nearby to food outlets and souvenier stalls along the sarawak river. did not sample the food at their restaurant. service was quite good and room is acceptable at the price charged.

however, was not happy as unfortunately there was a power trip during my stay. a colleague who stayed at the 8th floor has to use the stairs and he was quite unhappy. should divert power to their in-house generator (if any) if there is a power shortage. quite dangerous if anybody is trapped in the elevator.

overall i would say its average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have stayed at the Harbour view many times over the years and have been reasonably happy with the staff and the facilities , but sadly the condition of the hotel has deteriorated to the point where not even it's excellent position in Kuching will have me stay there again . It has become run down dirty and tired , the bathrooms are a disgrace , and even the hitherto great breakfast has become stale and old hat. Lift your game Harbour View you are capable of better .

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It's been a year and a half since I stayed in this hotel and this time it wasnt a great experience. Its in a really good location right in the middle of the city, close to bars and the shopping mall but there were several things about the room that were not so nice and gave the impression of a run down hotel.


1. My bathtub filled with water up to my ankles when I took a shower
2. The shower water wasnt that hot
3. the toilet wasnt easy to flush, you had to physically lean against this big round silver button to flush each time
4. My room smelt musty the entire time i stayed there
5. I have dust allergies and the room was quite dusty so I sneezed a lot, plus the rooms are carpeted and the hotel is old so a lot of dust was still in the carpet
6. NOISE - you can hear every door close from the rooms upstairs, downstairs and on your floor - so if you're a light sleeper like me, you better bring ear plugs because from 6 am onwards you can hear doors closing, showers running etc.
7. The aircon controller was broken the first night I was there and I was freezing at night and then they had to completely replace the controller and it still wasnt quite right in terms of temperature adjusting - this is very frustrating the entire time I was there - it was either too hot or too cold!! Not comfortable!

GOOD THINGS

1. Service was fast and helpful - everything i asked for the staff did correctly, like bringing me bath towels, once i asked for salt...
2. The food at this hotel is surprisingly tasty, the nasi lemak is good

ROOMS

If you want to stay at this hotel, try to get the rooms facing the waterfront - I stayed in those rooms last time and I had a much better stay than this time.

Room Tip: If you want to stay at this hotel, try to get the rooms facing the waterfront - I stayed in those ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLydster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Pros:
- Strategically located in Kuching city
- Cooperative staff
- Commodious room and bathroom
- Very clean hotel
-

Con:
- Aging hotel. Need some refurbishment in the room

Overall: Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omiriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £23 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing