We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just ok”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed 27 November 2008

This is the second time i have stayed at harbour view hotel. The first time was during Christmas 2002, and i have to say it does not look like the rooms have been maintained to a high standard since then.

Back then, it was a relatively new hotel - and with its great view over the river i was generally happy - although did find the staff rather unpleasant at times, particularly in the breakfast room.

On this occassion, the bathroom was a real let down, very dirty looking and really in need of a good clean! The room itself was ok but a little shabby, and the staff were not that helpful.

I'm not sure i would stay there again, but it does have a great location and the price is not bad - but i do think they should put more importance on maintaining the standard and cleanliness of the rooms.

Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    86
    67
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
45
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This stay for one week at the Harbourview was my second. I would highly recommend the Harbourview. The price was great. The rooms for both trips were clean and comfortable. Room service was excellent and the restaurant’s food was good with a very good selection. The location of the Harbourview is right next to the oldest temple in Kuching and cross the street to the west and you are in for a great shopping experience. Food at the local venders is wonderful and safe to eat. The hotel is located just a five minute to Twig and Twig grocery store which has a good selection. A short 10 minute past the Hilton and you are at a great mall within the Crown Plaza area. The front desk staff and all the staff members were just great.
If I had to come up with anything I was disappointed in it might be the WIFI at the Harbourview. The first trip there we had no problems with connecting, but this trip seemed to have a difficult time. Toward the end of our stay, the WIFI seemed to work great, so our problem was probable just technical.
If you want the best bargain in Kuching, check out the Harbourview!!

  • Liked — Tje Staff
  • Disliked — Wifi
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lloydroy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I booked a standard room at the Harbour View via their website and paid MYR $170 per night, which included a buffet breakfast, which was more than adequate. The room was spacious, with the usual coffee/tea facilities, hairdryer, Sat TV and fridge. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The walls could do with a coat of paint and the shower a good dose of bleach. The location is great with the main entrance facing the beautiful Tua Pek Kong Chinese temple. Cross the road and you are at the waterfront where the view is scenic and the temperature often cooler.

The hotel is close to the souvenir shops on Jalan Main Bazaar and a selection of eateries. I can recommend turning left onto Jalan Temple and going to the second cafe, Restaurant Nieyanna. The restaurant has new decor with a green interior. It is clean, cool and more modern. Our meals were delicious and averaged MYR $10 including a drink, for the two of us.

In the evening you can continue on, crossing Jalan Green Hill, to a number of trendy restaurants and bars. If you are a wine drinker like myself, expect to pay from MYR $17 - $24 per glass (and from MYR$40 - $120 per bottle at the supermarket), needless to say the local Gin and Tonic was my preferred drink while in Malaysia and beer is always cheap.

Veer left and keep walking to Ting & Ting supermarket for any grocery needs.

Turn right at the hotel entrance and right again and you will locate a laundry service amongst the shops which charges MYR $6 per kg, if you don't want to use the hotels service.

Top Spot Seafood is well worth a visit for dinner and in walking distance from the hotel. Turn right at the hotel entrance and walk up, over and down to the bottom of the hill. Top Spot is on the right at the top of a multi storey car park.
We paid MYR$66 (in total) for a small grilled Coral Trout, which we chose from the display, chilli prawns, mixed vegetables, rice and drinks.

The Harbour View has a shuttle bus service going to the Sarawak Cultural Village and Damai Beach a few times a day. We paid MYR $80 each for the bus ride and entry fee to the Cultural Village (and show).

Please feel free to contact me for more info and photos.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — Mould in the shower
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnapCooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Went to this hotel because of its excellent location. Its smack in the city where the major urban attractions are just within walking distance.

The hotel is average quality, 3-star, good breakfast though. And excellent staff, definitely.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The Mundane Looking Room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Having just returned from a 18 day stay at this hotel I have nothing but praise for the quality of service and friendliness of the staff. There was nothing they wouldn't do to make my stay an enjoyable one and I was treated more like a friend than just another guest. Harbour View was recommended to me by a friend living in Kuching and after visiting it's website I decided to reserve a single room there online. Although classed as a single the bed was big enough for two and although I had been warned that all singles had town views I was delighted to find out that in fact many did face the river. Beds were comfortable, rooms kept spotlessly clean, with all the ammenities one could expect for a room costing a mere £20 a night.
Nearby were several attractions and of course the famous riverside walk with food places along the way where you could dine or just have drinks to refresh oneself.
The only drawback I found was that the hotel's lounge/bar was reserved for private functions, a fact that was not given in the website. However this wasn't too much of a bother as just across the side road beside the hotel was the 99 bar where hotel guests could both drink and dine. What I liked about the bar was that it played music softly so you could talk normally and not have to shout to be hear. It was owned by the husband of the Chief Executive Officer of the Harbour View so food could be brought over from the hotel with just a phonecall.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and of course there was the customary 24 hour room service so you never needed to go hungry.
I can definitely recommend this hotel to all without a moments hesitation even though there was so swimming pool too.

  • Liked — Modt things
  • Disliked — The lack of somewhere to drink within the hotel.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StanRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

3 star hotel with everything within walking distance. even the breakfast was great too although the choice is quite limited.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank otyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

booked the hotel via their own website.. for a standard twin sharing rooom, i paid RM125 per nite without breakfast. there's plenty of coffeeshops and cafe nearby the hotel so food is not a worry. staff service is excellent.

i think hotel is rated 3 star but the room size and the facilities it has is good enough. so overall a good bargain for what i paid for..

shopping centre is walking distance at the crowne plaza.. hotel is facing the kuching waterfront. main bazaar, a shopping paradise for tourists is within walking distance and so are the other places of interests. all you need is a map to get around.

however, if u want to stay in a cheaper accomodation, the singgahsana lodge is just opposite harbour view hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Matareas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing