We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Kuching(Kuching)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basaga Holiday Residences(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
11
96
73
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
96
73
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese templehotel areacomfort stayrenovated roomkuching waterfrontduring peak hoursbuffet breakfast issouvenir shopswater frontplaza merdekabathroom doorcarpenter streetair conditioningnice place to staymini fridgereception counterlaundry service
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2009

As others have mentioned - the rooms are a bit tatty, but its still great value for money as the locaton is awesome. We did have one of the cheaper rooms - so it could be worth upgrading. Staff are very helpful for organsing taxis/transfers etc.

Not that y'all would forget as I did - but remember to specify a non-smoking room if you're that way inclined.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickersofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

This is the second time i have stayed at harbour view hotel. The first time was during Christmas 2002, and i have to say it does not look like the rooms have been maintained to a high standard since then.

Back then, it was a relatively new hotel - and with its great view over the river i was generally happy - although did find the staff rather unpleasant at times, particularly in the breakfast room.

On this occassion, the bathroom was a real let down, very dirty looking and really in need of a good clean! The room itself was ok but a little shabby, and the staff were not that helpful.

I'm not sure i would stay there again, but it does have a great location and the price is not bad - but i do think they should put more importance on maintaining the standard and cleanliness of the rooms.

Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
1  Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This stay for one week at the Harbourview was my second. I would highly recommend the Harbourview. The price was great. The rooms for both trips were clean and comfortable. Room service was excellent and the restaurant’s food was good with a very good selection. The location of the Harbourview is right next to the oldest temple in Kuching and cross the street to the west and you are in for a great shopping experience. Food at the local venders is wonderful and safe to eat. The hotel is located just a five minute to Twig and Twig grocery store which has a good selection. A short 10 minute past the Hilton and you are at a great mall within the Crown Plaza area. The front desk staff and all the staff members were just great.
If I had to come up with anything I was disappointed in it might be the WIFI at the Harbourview. The first trip there we had no problems with connecting, but this trip seemed to have a difficult time. Toward the end of our stay, the WIFI seemed to work great, so our problem was probable just technical.
If you want the best bargain in Kuching, check out the Harbourview!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lloydroy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I booked a standard room at the Harbour View via their website and paid MYR $170 per night, which included a buffet breakfast, which was more than adequate. The room was spacious, with the usual coffee/tea facilities, hairdryer, Sat TV and fridge. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The walls could do with a coat of paint and the shower a good dose of bleach. The location is great with the main entrance facing the beautiful Tua Pek Kong Chinese temple. Cross the road and you are at the waterfront where the view is scenic and the temperature often cooler.

The hotel is close to the souvenir shops on Jalan Main Bazaar and a selection of eateries. I can recommend turning left onto Jalan Temple and going to the second cafe, Restaurant Nieyanna. The restaurant has new decor with a green interior. It is clean, cool and more modern. Our meals were delicious and averaged MYR $10 including a drink, for the two of us.

In the evening you can continue on, crossing Jalan Green Hill, to a number of trendy restaurants and bars. If you are a wine drinker like myself, expect to pay from MYR $17 - $24 per glass (and from MYR$40 - $120 per bottle at the supermarket), needless to say the local Gin and Tonic was my preferred drink while in Malaysia and beer is always cheap.

Veer left and keep walking to Ting & Ting supermarket for any grocery needs.

Turn right at the hotel entrance and right again and you will locate a laundry service amongst the shops which charges MYR $6 per kg, if you don't want to use the hotels service.

Top Spot Seafood is well worth a visit for dinner and in walking distance from the hotel. Turn right at the hotel entrance and walk up, over and down to the bottom of the hill. Top Spot is on the right at the top of a multi storey car park.
We paid MYR$66 (in total) for a small grilled Coral Trout, which we chose from the display, chilli prawns, mixed vegetables, rice and drinks.

The Harbour View has a shuttle bus service going to the Sarawak Cultural Village and Damai Beach a few times a day. We paid MYR $80 each for the bus ride and entry fee to the Cultural Village (and show).

Please feel free to contact me for more info and photos.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnapCooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Went to this hotel because of its excellent location. Its smack in the city where the major urban attractions are just within walking distance.

The hotel is average quality, 3-star, good breakfast though. And excellent staff, definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews