We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Family Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Family Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

My family had stayed from 19th June to 22nd June and it seems that the room which we stayed may have been renovated. The bathroom fixtures look new and the room with an extra bed is big and comfortable enough for the four of us. (Couple with two teens girls)

As our flight is in the evening; our request for an extension of checkout time to 2pm was allowed thus we were able to do some shopping nearby without rush. Taxi is easily available outside the hotel and the cab fare is fixed for each location. No meter thus before taking the taxi; asked for the fare.

Airport each way to Harbour View is RM22. There are many eating outlets nearby the Hotel and it is very centrally located.

If I visit Kuching again; I will stay in Harbour View.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    85
    65
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
45
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Great location at the Waterfront and across from the temple but that is the only good point. Rooms are cramped and dirty and with very seventies furtniture. Restaurant is not very welcoming, not from a staffing aspect (they are all very pleasant) but from an ambience perspective. Pink tablecloths, plastic chairs and fake flowers. Cost of beer was very expensive. Hotel failed to give us our wake up call (twice). Depending what rate you pay, its not a bad place if you just want to drop off your bags and explore but it is certainly not a 3 or 4 star hotel, one star is pushing it in my view..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoisin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

As others have mentioned - the rooms are a bit tatty, but its still great value for money as the locaton is awesome. We did have one of the cheaper rooms - so it could be worth upgrading. Staff are very helpful for organsing taxis/transfers etc.

Not that y'all would forget as I did - but remember to specify a non-smoking room if you're that way inclined.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickersofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

This is the second time i have stayed at harbour view hotel. The first time was during Christmas 2002, and i have to say it does not look like the rooms have been maintained to a high standard since then.

Back then, it was a relatively new hotel - and with its great view over the river i was generally happy - although did find the staff rather unpleasant at times, particularly in the breakfast room.

On this occassion, the bathroom was a real let down, very dirty looking and really in need of a good clean! The room itself was ok but a little shabby, and the staff were not that helpful.

I'm not sure i would stay there again, but it does have a great location and the price is not bad - but i do think they should put more importance on maintaining the standard and cleanliness of the rooms.

Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

This stay for one week at the Harbourview was my second. I would highly recommend the Harbourview. The price was great. The rooms for both trips were clean and comfortable. Room service was excellent and the restaurant’s food was good with a very good selection. The location of the Harbourview is right next to the oldest temple in Kuching and cross the street to the west and you are in for a great shopping experience. Food at the local venders is wonderful and safe to eat. The hotel is located just a five minute to Twig and Twig grocery store which has a good selection. A short 10 minute past the Hilton and you are at a great mall within the Crown Plaza area. The front desk staff and all the staff members were just great.
If I had to come up with anything I was disappointed in it might be the WIFI at the Harbourview. The first trip there we had no problems with connecting, but this trip seemed to have a difficult time. Toward the end of our stay, the WIFI seemed to work great, so our problem was probable just technical.
If you want the best bargain in Kuching, check out the Harbourview!!

  • Liked — Tje Staff
  • Disliked — Wifi
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lloydroy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

I booked a standard room at the Harbour View via their website and paid MYR $170 per night, which included a buffet breakfast, which was more than adequate. The room was spacious, with the usual coffee/tea facilities, hairdryer, Sat TV and fridge. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The walls could do with a coat of paint and the shower a good dose of bleach. The location is great with the main entrance facing the beautiful Tua Pek Kong Chinese temple. Cross the road and you are at the waterfront where the view is scenic and the temperature often cooler.

The hotel is close to the souvenir shops on Jalan Main Bazaar and a selection of eateries. I can recommend turning left onto Jalan Temple and going to the second cafe, Restaurant Nieyanna. The restaurant has new decor with a green interior. It is clean, cool and more modern. Our meals were delicious and averaged MYR $10 including a drink, for the two of us.

In the evening you can continue on, crossing Jalan Green Hill, to a number of trendy restaurants and bars. If you are a wine drinker like myself, expect to pay from MYR $17 - $24 per glass (and from MYR$40 - $120 per bottle at the supermarket), needless to say the local Gin and Tonic was my preferred drink while in Malaysia and beer is always cheap.

Veer left and keep walking to Ting & Ting supermarket for any grocery needs.

Turn right at the hotel entrance and right again and you will locate a laundry service amongst the shops which charges MYR $6 per kg, if you don't want to use the hotels service.

Top Spot Seafood is well worth a visit for dinner and in walking distance from the hotel. Turn right at the hotel entrance and walk up, over and down to the bottom of the hill. Top Spot is on the right at the top of a multi storey car park.
We paid MYR$66 (in total) for a small grilled Coral Trout, which we chose from the display, chilli prawns, mixed vegetables, rice and drinks.

The Harbour View has a shuttle bus service going to the Sarawak Cultural Village and Damai Beach a few times a day. We paid MYR $80 each for the bus ride and entry fee to the Cultural Village (and show).

Please feel free to contact me for more info and photos.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — Mould in the shower
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnapCooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Went to this hotel because of its excellent location. Its smack in the city where the major urban attractions are just within walking distance.

The hotel is average quality, 3-star, good breakfast though. And excellent staff, definitely.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The Mundane Looking Room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#25 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing