We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable food, will be returning”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, reasonable food, will be returning”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We had superior room, with view across river to new State Legislature building in the distance, a Chinese temple close up. Short walk to waterfront and shopping area. People on front desk helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast adequate, but regular meals in hotel restaurant so tempting we had several meals there. For good food and beer at reasonable prices, turn right from front door, short distance to "John's Place". (A fancy glass-surrounded restaurant opposite on way to river was big disappointment.)

We are going back to Kuching this July and will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    87
    67
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
45
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The Harbour view hotel is just great. The location could not be better, you really need to book a room with a river view, it is amazing. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. It is the best value you could ever get. The taxi is always in front of the hotel, we did not have breakfast at the hotel, because you can get all the food just a few steps away. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I like.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Great hotel, ok price.The room was nice and so was the bathroom.But when we put our luggage with the bell boy he was nice to give us directions to a orang utan reserve center. However he became pushy and kept asking me if he wanted to arrange a shuttle.Later I took a cheaper shuttle(which he said was stopped since an year ago)from the information center in Kuching. The hotel charges more for many things. The check in desk was also very slow and they made me wait 5 and a half hours until I could get my room key.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journey0nEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Location is good. Next to waterfront. Don't use the map the hotel provides. it's a very old map. We ended up walk in circle to find the Tourist Information Center (which has been moved few years back). Walked all the way down on Waterfront to goto Tourist Information Center.

If you want to goto Damai Beach, don't listen to the front desk to take their van. There are shuttle bus available at 2 other hotels (recommend for 1-2 ppl) or take a taxi for 2+ ppl.

I would recommed to stay in Hilton. It's not much different in terms of the rate.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthisearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Rooms are alright. The breakfast sucks. Free wifi internet in room and location were its redeeming qualities.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackirony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

we stayed in this hotel for one night only and had a very good time there. The staff was helfpul (although the receptionist was a bit grumpy at first) and the room was spotlessly clean with a bath tub. The room comes with tea making facilities, TV with a few English speaking channels (Star movies, Star World, Discovery Travel and Living and your usual news channels) and a very comfortable bed as well as a nice powerful aircon unit. No Wifi though. The hotel's location is perfect, about 30 metres from the waterfront and our room had a great view of the river as we stayed on the 11th floor. We did not have breakfast as it was not included in the price and had to be at the airport extremely early so I cannot comment on that. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel after a shaky night in another Kuching hotel (check my other reviews...).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2009

this hotel was great!!! the rent for single bed just RM130.00 per-night. it was complete with coffee maker, small refrigerator, hair dryer, internet access, tv (of course) & the very special one is....bath tab!!! i loved it!!! the view outside from the window was great. i can see waterfront & the old temple.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosefantaghiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kuching
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#13 of 54 in Kuching
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing