We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast- v.cheap; v. cheerful”
Review of Gawing Lodge

Gawing Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gawing Lodge
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights- extremely helpful staff (its family run)- rooms small but functional, shared bathroom. Wonderful breakfast cooked fresh, the owner loves to cook and this is evident in her authentic home fayre (fried garlic rice one morning, chinese style porridge the next)
There is a really cool wee bar attached at the back but it was closed when we visited.
15 min stroll to bus stop for trip to bako national park; 5 mins walk from cat statues and night market.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank carys m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at Gawing for 4 nights, and really enjoyed it. A family-run business, it really has an intimate, welcoming vibe. The guesthouse is definitely better value than any of the others that we checked out: the rooms were clean (though basic) and air-conditioned. Best of all, a homemade breakfast was included. All-in-all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gids12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

one of the best hostels/homestays i have experienced so far. very nice family atmosphere, very helpful people, very clean place, everything was 'very' :) add a very good breakfast to this, and don't even think about choosing another place to stay while in kuching!
these people are really passionate about what they are doing! they really enjoy hosting and offering hospitality: it is indeed a home-stay.
very good location, close to the centre, to the waterfront, to restaurants&bars.. to mainly everything. also close to a great supermarket (ting&ting).
it is a new place, so the old comments are not valid any more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sayloure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Kuching.New family owners!Now called Gawing Lodge. And would come highly recommended. Close to everything. Clean and cheerful rooms.A great family atmosphere. They are welcoming, caring and helpful. Quite, clean, small and family run- ideal to feel at home, while away! We would definately recommend staying here! Thanking them for everything. Alex & Amy from Spain & South Africa

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank amyjaye86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This guesthouse has just been taken over by new owners and new management and has changed its name to Gawing Lodge! IGNORE all reviews from before Feb 2013!!! I have never reviewed a hotel on here before but felt this place really deserves it!
We arrived and immediately felt at home, there is an eating area where breakfast, tea and coffee is served. Wifi in all the rooms and it is only a 5 minute walk to all the main areas of Kuching. It was the cheapest guesthouse we found in Kuching at only 35 Ringgit for a twin room, including home cooked Malaysian breakfast and the most friendly owners! Our time here felt more like a homestay, we helped the owners cook banana leaf chicken which they serve for snacks at the cheap and friendly bar out the back and they kept our bags for free whilst we visited the Bako National Park, upon our return, lunch had been cooked and was waiting for us on the table.

The owners are so friendly and do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and homely. The showers are warm and clean, and the bedrooms all have aircon and are again clean and comfortable.

I would recommend Borneo B&B/Gawing Lodge to anybody who stays in Kuching, it really made our trip to Sarawak memorable and fun!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was quit skeptical when i first saw the pictures of this place thru the internet but since it was one of the cheapest lodge here, i went for it and it came to my surprise that it was not what i was expected. The place is fully renovated and It's now taken over by a new management. The management here are really friendly and they do not treat us only like guest but also as their friend. The bathrooms are clean and the rooms are comfortable. The management are always there to help me with anything i need to require. They also help me keep my belonging when i went for my tour to Bako.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JulioSalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Best location near the waterfront. Rooms are ok but the best are the owners, they make you feel as staying at home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.4 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gawing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gawing Lodge

Address: No. 24 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Borneo Bed & Breakfast)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Borneo Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing