We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only the Treehouses!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Only the Treehouses!”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I stayed ten wonderful days in a treehouse! Friendly, sincere Restaurant and housekeeping staff and the ah, blissful setting, but do not accept a cabin from the Reception! Leave! After my treehouse magic with the tide coming in under the balcony frequented by grey-mouthed (?) monkeys and black squirrels, I went to fantastic Mulu, and then for my last eight days in Sarawak, came back to (six months) pre-paid Permai Rf Resort. Reception actually laughed at me for being a solo traveller, and, despite trying to find me a treehouse from six months previous, Reception sent me to the oldest, crappiest cabin (see cabin Reviews!!!) and only after insistent arguments was I given a newer cabin, but check out Cabin reviews. Treehouse or nothing! Price difference, about 5 euros, experience difference.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianfromAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    179
    58
    18
    21
See reviews for
156
189
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Quick and efficient pick-up at airport, 1 hour drive to Permai skirting round Kuching, then equally smooth check-in. Quite a walk to Treehouse 1 and up 2 flights of stairs; so don't take too much luggage. Treehouse itself is a reasonable size with en-suite and balcony. All clean and tidy but getting a little dilapidated, as things do in the tropics. View ahead from the balcony is South China Sea (thru the trees), to the right it's rain forest down to the shore; but to the left any rustic illusion is spoilt by a view of large, well developed Damai Puri Resort!
Breakfast and snacks at the Permai cafe are OK but you need to fend off mosquitos so we preferred to walk to Damai Puri for more pleasant dining in the evening.
Provided you are not expecting 4 star luxury you won't be disappointed with the unique treehouse experience at Permai; and yes there really were monkeys crashing thu the trees right outside! One warning, there are no ATMs closer than Kuching and Permai won't change foreign currency.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
512 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

On the plus side, the place is quite nice. We stayed at the one the treehouses, which look pretty shabby from the outside but are great inside. It is very quite, the staff is very nice and the location is very relaxing. The natural pool, with water flowing from the waterfall is awesome. The beach is not very nice, so I guess the plus is the rainforest. There is a 90 minute trek which is very nice, with a great waterfall.

On the negative side, the food is horrible and their Cafe is the only place to go unless you have a vehicle. We tried several dishes and they could not get a dish straight.... Too bad

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

friendly wonderful people, lots to do, beautiful setting, safe as a single woman traveler, designed well so you couldn't see from the ocean....great food (especially the smoothies)...I'm definitely coming back with my whole family!!!!

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank dugongauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I have stayed at the Permai Rainforest Resort on numerous occasions and every single trip is a pleasure that brings new surprises and fun observations of wildlife. The resort provides discounted accommodation and boat rentals for our dolphin research team, which allows our project budget to stretch further and allows us to learn more about the dolphins. The resort's location nestled into the pristine rainforest on the slopes of Mount Santubong also mean that while we are having our meals in the cafe, we can watch silver langurs, provost's squirrels, and a variety of bird life, including such striking beauties as the red-crowned barbet. The rooms are clean and very practically designed. The cabins are great for families (or research teams!), and the tree houses are idyllic. Take advantage of the variety of excursions on offer - including the sunset mangrove tour and the 3-in-one dolphin watching, mangrove and Satang Island tour. Well worth it!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_Minton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed in 2 of the tree houses (better probably described as high stilt houses in the tree canopy. If you are a 5 star kind of person this is probably not for you but I would still urge you to leave your comfort zone and forgoe some quality for the overall experience. Right on the banks of the South China Sea (as in literally, the waves lap at the base of your tree house)...the tree houses rise high above the ground. Monkeys greet you in the trees in the morning right off the front of the balcony. They seemed pleased that someone seems to keep installing things for them to look at in the big wooden cages. A little role reversal!!!
Staff were friendly and helpful and everything went smoothly via email comms during my trip prep. We won't forget this location in a hurry!!! Really beautiful. Only minutes walk from the Cultural Village and a comfy sub hour drive from the airport.

If I had to provide some cautionary tales it would be to say that you need to be prepared to walk!!! The car park is hundreds of meters from reception. Rooms are hundreds of jetted from there. Then there are lots of narrow stairs to the tree house itself. Some tree houses seem slightly better positioned than others. We had numbers 4 & 5 and both were great!
We didn't eat there during the evening, we went to the resorts up the road and had a nice meal.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheriff1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The resort was the highlight of our trip.. And so glad we did it. After reading the reviews on trip advisor we decided to stick to the tree houses which turned out to be a great decision. I would recommend this to any nature lover.
We took one of the walks... But the guide was hardly talkative.. And was more like jut showing us the way... Which was disappointing. The cafe was just ok.. And language was also a bit of an issue. But the jungle pool and the two small beaches made up for it all.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drpeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.5 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#17 of 54 in Kuching
686 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
14.0 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
127 reviews
14.0 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
965 reviews
14.0 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Property: Permai Rainforest Resort
Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing