We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Permai Rainforest Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Kuching(Kuching)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basaga Holiday Residences(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
195
201
73
21
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
201
73
21
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housemangrove tourhigh ropessilver leaf monkeysfly screensflying foxrope bridgesarawak cultural villagethe south china seano alcoholpermai rainforestsaw dolphinssurrounded by treesbako national parkdolphin watchingproboscis monkeysclose to nature
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Very nice environment for a beach stay away but not far from big resorts, Kuching and thinks to see in the area. A very good location if you don't want to travel too much to see the seaside.
The beaches are nice but don't expect snorkelling with the sandy waters. You'll have to go to some islands nearby on a boat trip, the hotel is also orgazing them. Check before going that the rain season makes it possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristinaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

For those of us who aren't full-on, hard core adventurers the Permai Rainforest Resort offers us a great opportunity to experience the rainforest and Borneo in a more gentle fashion.

We booked a tree house and were blown away when we saw it! You climb 3 storeys to get to your wooden room on stilts! Whilst ours could have done with a bit more of a polish and spruce-up we loved it! The large double bed was comfortable and whilst the bathroom was basic, everything worked and the shower was hot! The windows also open up onto a small balcony which overlooks the sea.

As the weather was so stormy and wet we only used the beach once - you can walk through the forest to a small cove with beautiful white sand; take your own water, towels etc as its nature at its best with no facilities or umbrellas to rent!

The restaurant at the resort is lovely - great, tasty food and very reasonably charged.

Whilst walking around the resort in the evenings you'll need a torch. As you're in a rainforest don't forget to take appropriate clothing - you're going to get damp, if not drenched!

The beauty of this place is that its very much unspoilt and you can get a feel of the local natural environment whilst still enjoying your creature comforts. You can't not relax!

Room Tip: Would recommend the treehouse.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScaryMaryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Others have summed up this resort quite well - the treehouse was worth the effort as it genuinely was very pleasant to be amongst the trees, with the sea just a few metres down the slope. The fly screens mean that you can open doors and large windows on three sides and really experience the sights and sounds of the coastal rainforest. We saw a family of silver langur monkeys, including a cute orange baby, just by looking out of the windows / and from the balcony. It was cool enough at night to sleep with the ceiling fan on and windows open. Bathroom and fittings are very simple.

I would say that this is more a "retreat" than a "resort" as it lacks the kind of facilities and service some might expect given the name. The natural pool is probably only nice to swim in during wetter times of the year. Whilst we were there (end of dry season), it obviously hadn't been flushed through for some time and looked a bit stagnant. We accepted this as part of the natural scheme of things, but I advise others to be aware that you may or may not end up using the pool, depending on its condition.

The beach is pleasant enough, but the water at Damai is quite cloudy due to sediment from a nearby river. Again, this is natural, but people expecting crystal clear water may be disappointed. We only swam to cool off after kayaking. The boat trip to Bako was convenient and quick. As other have pointed out, the short rainforest loop walk (1.5 hours) is actually quite challenging. Probably not for those with small children.

Given the previous mixed reviews, we found the cafe quite good. It was a very nice place to watch the sunset with a cold drink after a long day of outdoors activity! There is a new Australian Food and Beverage Manager who is busy making improvements and has plenty more planned. Overall the staff were very helpful, however I felt the reception staff were a weak link. This important part of the business ought not to be left in the hands of staff whose English is poor and level of initiative even poorer. The duty manager had to keep rescuing them, and I wondered how they manage when he is not around.

Overall I'm glad we stayed - the place has much more character than the bland Damai Resort next door. It is a good location for exploring attractions in the vicinity, but is not such a great base for visits to Semengoh or the caves at Bau. For this reasons, we found 3 nights to be just right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melscottmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We needed a break from the city and this was perfect! No tv, no internet, no noisy traffic and no shopping. Just the sounds of surf and jungle. We loved the treehouse and had no need of the aircon during our 4 night stay.
It was clean, basic and comfortable. Service is good. People are friendly and helpful.
There is only 1 cafe for meals.
We stayed a night in a cabin that has room for 6 to sleep in. That was ok too but I definitely prefer the treehouse.
We lounged in our treehouse one afternoon and were entertained by silver leaf monkeys swinging by in the trees around us. That was a wonderful afternoon for photography.
We did a couple of boat tours but they were so-so. The jungle trail is much more interesting.
Will definitely return to this resort for a weekend getaway if I get the chance again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WLinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a good short break from Kuching. The resort is basic, but comfortable and clean. The 90 minute jungle trek is not always easy, but a good way to use the departure morning. We experienced what can happen at any hotel/resort. All night partying from neighbours. The difference here is that there is no phone system to reception and it can be a 10 minute walk to reception in the dark, without a torch. So it's hard to do anything about it. It's a shame that some people want to go to the "jungle" to abort the quiet. I'm not sure how they coped with the $4US "corkage" fee due for a can of beer bought in from outside the resort ?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arlomcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews