We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Within a few minutes of arriving at the Permai Rainforest Resort my wife and I realised that we should have booked for more days. Staying here was a fantastic experience. You can either relax or participate in the many activities available. Wonderful cafe. Staff friendly and helpful.
We went on the Mangrove boat trip in the evening. We saw crocs, proboscis monkeys and fireflies. WE will be going back - for longer this time.

Room Tip: Tree house - air conditioned, comfortable with a porch facing the beach to relax on.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Permai Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed at Permai Rainforest Resort for four nights in November 2012. Had a great time, staff were very friendly, there was wildlife to see and beaches, and it was in general an awesome trip. I'd go there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The Treehouses are best!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick_S_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed 3 night's stay in September 2012. Treehouse rooms are located right at the water's edge and about 40ft/12m up on stilts among the tree canopy. Comfortable wood construction with a balcony looking over ocean, and private bath, and air conditioning. Located in the jungle, plants and wildlife are all around; it's not a Disneyland-style resort located near a forest. You will encounter insects, reptiles and monkeys. Restaurant on site is pleasant with a wide variety on the menu including local dishes. Enjoyed the outdoor activities put on by Permai, including river tours to see wildlife that included proboscis monkeys, crocodiles and dolphins, and hiking in a national park reached by speedboat. Nearby is a cultural village displaying traditional houses, dress and crafts from various Borneo peoples. From Singapore to Kuching city is only an hour flight, and Permai is a 25-min drive from there. Within the Permai grounds are no roads so no vehicle noise to compete with natural jungle sounds. Permai also has large cabins to rent out, not airconditioned, which sleep 8, perfect for Scout troops. A great escape from life's modern inconveniences.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Very nice environment for a beach stay away but not far from big resorts, Kuching and thinks to see in the area. A very good location if you don't want to travel too much to see the seaside.
The beaches are nice but don't expect snorkelling with the sandy waters. You'll have to go to some islands nearby on a boat trip, the hotel is also orgazing them. Check before going that the rain season makes it possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristinaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

For those of us who aren't full-on, hard core adventurers the Permai Rainforest Resort offers us a great opportunity to experience the rainforest and Borneo in a more gentle fashion.

We booked a tree house and were blown away when we saw it! You climb 3 storeys to get to your wooden room on stilts! Whilst ours could have done with a bit more of a polish and spruce-up we loved it! The large double bed was comfortable and whilst the bathroom was basic, everything worked and the shower was hot! The windows also open up onto a small balcony which overlooks the sea.

As the weather was so stormy and wet we only used the beach once - you can walk through the forest to a small cove with beautiful white sand; take your own water, towels etc as its nature at its best with no facilities or umbrellas to rent!

The restaurant at the resort is lovely - great, tasty food and very reasonably charged.

Whilst walking around the resort in the evenings you'll need a torch. As you're in a rainforest don't forget to take appropriate clothing - you're going to get damp, if not drenched!

The beauty of this place is that its very much unspoilt and you can get a feel of the local natural environment whilst still enjoying your creature comforts. You can't not relax!

Room Tip: Would recommend the treehouse.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScaryMaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Others have summed up this resort quite well - the treehouse was worth the effort as it genuinely was very pleasant to be amongst the trees, with the sea just a few metres down the slope. The fly screens mean that you can open doors and large windows on three sides and really experience the sights and sounds of the coastal rainforest. We saw a family of silver langur monkeys, including a cute orange baby, just by looking out of the windows / and from the balcony. It was cool enough at night to sleep with the ceiling fan on and windows open. Bathroom and fittings are very simple.

I would say that this is more a "retreat" than a "resort" as it lacks the kind of facilities and service some might expect given the name. The natural pool is probably only nice to swim in during wetter times of the year. Whilst we were there (end of dry season), it obviously hadn't been flushed through for some time and looked a bit stagnant. We accepted this as part of the natural scheme of things, but I advise others to be aware that you may or may not end up using the pool, depending on its condition.

The beach is pleasant enough, but the water at Damai is quite cloudy due to sediment from a nearby river. Again, this is natural, but people expecting crystal clear water may be disappointed. We only swam to cool off after kayaking. The boat trip to Bako was convenient and quick. As other have pointed out, the short rainforest loop walk (1.5 hours) is actually quite challenging. Probably not for those with small children.

Given the previous mixed reviews, we found the cafe quite good. It was a very nice place to watch the sunset with a cold drink after a long day of outdoors activity! There is a new Australian Food and Beverage Manager who is busy making improvements and has plenty more planned. Overall the staff were very helpful, however I felt the reception staff were a weak link. This important part of the business ought not to be left in the hands of staff whose English is poor and level of initiative even poorer. The duty manager had to keep rescuing them, and I wondered how they manage when he is not around.

Overall I'm glad we stayed - the place has much more character than the bland Damai Resort next door. It is a good location for exploring attractions in the vicinity, but is not such a great base for visits to Semengoh or the caves at Bau. For this reasons, we found 3 nights to be just right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melscottmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We needed a break from the city and this was perfect! No tv, no internet, no noisy traffic and no shopping. Just the sounds of surf and jungle. We loved the treehouse and had no need of the aircon during our 4 night stay.
It was clean, basic and comfortable. Service is good. People are friendly and helpful.
There is only 1 cafe for meals.
We stayed a night in a cabin that has room for 6 to sleep in. That was ok too but I definitely prefer the treehouse.
We lounged in our treehouse one afternoon and were entertained by silver leaf monkeys swinging by in the trees around us. That was a wonderful afternoon for photography.
We did a couple of boat tours but they were so-so. The jungle trail is much more interesting.
Will definitely return to this resort for a weekend getaway if I get the chance again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WLinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.5 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#16 of 55 in Kuching
717 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,614 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,012 reviews
14.0 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £54 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing