We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Permai Rainforest Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We loved our few days at Permai Rainforest Resort. Due to the intense heat everything happens at a slower pace and so expectations need to change accordingly but the environment is such a pleasure that's no hardship. The people were incredibly friendly and were appreciative of our attempts to communicate in Bahasa Malay. The accommodation was comfortable with air-conditioner and ceiling fan. It had minimum extras which we felt was appropriate for an eco-resort. Food at the cafe was generally of a very high standard - the fish and chips were the best we had ever had anywhere. Unfortunately missed having the highly recommended Sarawak Laksa. We used the resort as a base for rain forest walks, swimming and to visit the Sarawak Cultural Centre 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ansatrinida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Permai Resort. Above all, we enjoyed the beach the best.. the sun was shining and water was blue, the breeze and sand made it all lovely. Because it was a weekend, it was quite crowded (people who dont stay there can pay an entrance fee to walk thru and use the beach). By Monday, it was quiet and we had the beach all to ourselves. We had the very first tree house, which I think has the best view of the beach (altho to catch the sunset in its entirety, you should watch it from the Cafe). For those who are used to tasty local food, the Cafe offered mediocre fare (and price, on the high side. We brought back Kentucky Fried Chicken and Nasi Beriyani when we went to Kuching town during the day and ate it for dinner in the room!). Certain dishes were nice, ie the banana cooler, fried rice & rojak. Ask for beach towels early, it took up to 20 mins to be delivered. Hearing the waves and seeing the moon in the sky at night is priceless.. beware tho, the tree house trembles under your footing, so avoid vigorous movement! The room is devoid of all forms of entertainment as well, like a TV/radio, so its the best time to catch up on sleep as you will likely be in bed by 9pm LOL!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelator72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I booked this place 6 months before going, and didnt really know what to expect. Some of the reviews of this place were good and bad.
My partner and I were given a map and key at reception and we set off to find our tree house. We really couldnt believe we were really in a rainforest, surrounded by trees and all kinds of creatures. Once we got into our tree house we loved it. The room is pretty large and there is a nice bathroom. Each tree house has windows all around and faces out onto the sea which you can hear. You are surrounded by trees and all kinds of noises! It was amazing! We slept with the curtains open, listening to the noises all around and the sea. We woke up at sunrise each morning.
The resort is right in the forest, and they have a restaurant/cafe serving food which was lovely. You look out onto the beach/sea. They also have a nature trail thing that you can follow (1 1/2 hours or so) which takes you right into the heart of the forest.
We took a trip to Bako national park which was fab, and also one to see the orangutangs.
The staff there were so friendly, we always had a million and one questions for them which they always happily answered.
We were really sad to leave, it was an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeadyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

I stayed here in one of the treehouse rooms in late Feb 2009 and can't rate the resort high enough. The rooms are not flashy five-star hotels with top notch facilities, but they are lovely beach front rooms in jungle-type settings. It is the type of place you visit if you enjoy nature and the outdoors, NOT if you enjoy your polished resports with spa facilities (Go to the big resort next door)!

The tree houses are literally on the beach, although the tree cover obstructs most of the ocean view which is a shame. There are loads of day trip options (at an extra cost) like mangrove tours, trips to Bako National Park, kayak day trips, ropes courses and jungle walks. But I chose to relax by spending my days on the lovely beaches and in the jungle pool. It is a brief walk to the Sarawak Cultural Villiage - well worth a visit.

There is a shuttle bus from Kutching for 12 Ringits, but you do need to book it with the resort. It takes just over half an hour to get there from town. The shuttle bus runs every 2 hours.

I found the staff super friendly, nothing seemed to be too much. As I walked around the resort I was greeted by all the staff. The manager was kind enough to let me borrow his laptop to use the internet for a few minutes to address an urgent travel issue.

Probably my only criticism is the food at the Cafe, it is rather average. The menue is a basic fare, much like 'local food' all around asia - it has fresh basic ingredients without trimmings or dressings. Not awful, but not amazing.

I would reccomend this hotel if you enjoy a relaxing retreat in a natural setting. If you like your polished resorts with pools, spa's, jacuzzi's etc, go next door to the Damai Beach resort instead.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Where to start - the smelly room, the poor service, the noise, the awful food? This is truly one of the worst places in which I have ever had the misfortune to stay. We got to the lodge and all was dark and appeared closed up (I had emailed with our late night arrival time and was told someone would be there). The place is remote, so we had no choice but to traipse through jungle trails in the dark and hope for the best. Eventaully found a member of staff. As he showed is in he said that the national badminton team had also checked in, and were on a "mental strengthening weekend", so "don't worry" if we hear loud noises as they aren't allowed to sleep tonight so speakers have been installed everywhere to play loud music. I thought it was a joke, but sure enough there was loud (and terrible) music playing throughout both nights we stayed. Anyway, back to our arrival. As we ascended the stairs to the treehouse I felt ticklish ... by the time we got to the door I had hundreds of ants all over my hands and arms! They were inside too, dead and alive on the pillows and sheets. The bedding smelled as though it had been left festering in a wet heap in a washing machine for a few days (I've stayed in many places in the rainforest that naturally smelled a bit of damp, but this was gross). The food was abysmal. I am admittedly picky, but my husband who can (and does) happily eat just about anything was equally unimpressed. There is a reason they make you pay in advance at this place ...

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vegan_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Nestled in the rainforest is this perfectly eco-friendly resort.
We stayed in one of the tree houses, which are wonderful equipped and all have a balcony facing the ocean.
Unknown birds wake you up in the morning, monkey are visiting in the late afternoon.
Wonderful jungle walks, two deserted little beaches, a nice open air restaurant and a natural pool -feed from a mountain stream - making this a really unique place away from it all.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bicheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I stayed here with my partner late 2008 in one of the tree houses (can't comment on the cabins/other accommodation - sorry!) This place won't be for everyone, particularly not those looking for luxurious pampering.. but if you like something different... read on.

The tree houses were awesome, super cool air conditioning, set into the rainforest canopy - a great size with a beautiful balcony over looking the ocean. There are two beaches close by, a refreshing 'jungle pool' (cool fresh water from the rainforest). There are lovely walks through the rainforest and the Sarawak Cultural village is walking distance - we also saw little monkeys which hung around the vines near the reception. You can organise all your 'day trips' to pick you up from here - including Bako national park, and orangutangs... It was low season when we were there and the food at the restaurant was average.. however, there are two other resorts just around the corner that you can easily walk to for some variety.

If you want somthing a bit different, and are looking for some seclusion - you will love this place!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickersofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.5 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#14 of 55 in Kuching
731 reviews
14 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,688 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
14 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £54 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing