We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nuisance Noise of the fan cooling units”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I requested for a quiet room but the front counter receptionist allocated a guest room just on top of several units of big and noisy of fan cooling of the hotel. The nuisance noise caused a great discomfort.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a gust room which is on top of the fan cooling units of the hotel. The nuisance no...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peterting1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel Kuching
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

but it was not excellent yet.because part of the property is still under construction and beside it just opens in months. im not kidding this hotel was very good. its grand, its huge, and its kind of meeting , relax and shopping kind of hotel. its was conjuncted with a shopping mall. and it has a huge ballroom and meeting room. and it was NEW.

Room Tip: the twin bed room has a big spacius single bed
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kartono_huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Booked in on a friends recommendation. Stayed two nights.
This is a very new hotel, it felt like I was the first person to step onto the thick carpet.
The check in staff were helpful and the lobby area comfortable. All other staff I encountered were well trained and friendly. The hotel is a door away from a new, large shopping mall.
The room was nice and large with all needed comforts. The bed was comfy and the pillows particularly good. I paid a little extra and got a room with mountain views. Breakfast was included in the price and the eating area was large with a nice array of food to suit varied tastes. As the hotel was new they had a promotion running and I thought the price was outstanding value.
It is between the city centre and the Airport so to get anywhere you need transport. I had the use of a motorcycle (which they allowed me to park outside the front door with security) so was sorted but taxis are plentiful and cheap.
I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petermac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have a chance to stay here in June 2014 for 3 days. I was satisfied..... It was booked by my colleague and as a surprise I get a promo price for RM 180 nett. Now is the review, lobby is big and grande, room also big and have a nice view towards the city, they have an infinity swimming pool and I can see sunset....yay. For service, reception staff are very friendly but unfortunately security guard seems kind a rude. Now for location, since Kuching is not a very big city, I can find that I can go through city center within minutes, and of course airport only 10 minutes away. So in short, it worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blitzkrieg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

...modern.

Was not able to really enjoy the hotel as our flight got in around 2100 and by the time we reached the hotel, it was close to 2200. Checking in was a breeze due to the lack of people at that hour. Sadly, the mall that adjoins the hotel was closing.

The rooms are quite well appointed, size was good, bathroom clean and comfy. Dropped my bags and went in search for food. Opposite the hotel were burger stalls, mamak and food court, so in typical Malaysian style, was happy that I could get a bite while working on the lappie at any hour of the day.

Had a good sleep after plugging in all my gadgets. Plenty of plug points, which is always a plus for me. Wi-fi, well, did not really test it as I used my own 3G service, so cannot really comment.

Woke up with the sun in my face, not realising I was in Sarawak where it does rise earlier, but the bed was quite good and I really didn't want to get out to get ready. Had breakfast downstairs which seemed to be the usual fare in many hotels these days. Not too spectacular, but prepared us for the day.

Came back just before lunch to freshen up (had a shower, actually) and checked out. Checking out was as easy as checking in, unlike some hotels.

All in, its quite a good experience and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Experience to stay for 2 nights. My check in was smooth and welcome with very warm friendly front office staffs. The hotel lobby interior was just ok with fresh flowers and yeah..its is none smoking hotel...good for those who prefer not to stay in 'smoking or non smoking' hotel's. The rooms was awesome with newly furniture,beds,pillows, and bath tub. Just slightly need a bit improvement to the restaurant staffs as some of them was not speak clearly English and need be more alert. Don't hope so much for the views as its facing the mountain view and apartments views. However, i enjoyed my stay and keep it up for the good service, thumbs up to the front office staffs well done. I will come back soon.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferngarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Try and stayed in for 2 nights as it was a new hotel in town. Breakfast selection was just "okay" but wouldn't complain much but the show kitchen area seems like it's lack of staff as only a person was there to juggle in between the eggs station and noodle station. Food wasn't replenished quickly when it's finished. Rooms were clean just that it might need some minor touch up example plastic wraps around the furniture and also beds seems to dangle around. Tiles were not that clean when entering into the washroom area and on the second night of our stay bathroom amenities were not given to us. Overall might be due to the lack of maintenance by the housekeeping department. Only suggestion is if the hotel could put up a sign to indicate the prayer's direction@qiba for muslims travelers. Lastly, the hotel should take note of their lifts. Their lifts were slow not in a good way. Took us ages just waiting for it to go up or down from our room. 5 lifts and all not really doing well. Had experienced a "shaky" movement when passing through the 10th floor till 6th floor whenever we were using the middle lift and single lift either going up or down fromour room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdullah_Jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
3.6 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
3.6 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
3.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
2.3 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Kuching

Address: Jalan Datuk Tawi Sli, Kuching 93250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £30 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel Kuching, the latest addition to the fast expanding Imperial Group of Hotels is an upcoming 4-stars business class hotel, strategically located in the heart of Kuching, just 5-minutes' drive from the Kuching International Airport and 10-minutes to the city's central business district. It sits on top of the Boulevard Shopping Mall and adjoins the Imperial Suites. The hotel features 339 well-appointed guestrooms & suites, including 2 Executive floors, all carefully designed with practicality and comfort in mind. Each guestroom is tastefully furnished and complete with complimentary in-room Wi-fi and wired internet access point. The hotel offers extensive conference & meeting facilities covering a total floor area of 5,856 sqm. It features a magnificent pillar-less Grand Ballroom measuring 1,517 sqm with 10 metres high ceiling which can accommodate up to 1,500 persons for a sit-down banquet and another semi-circular Ballroom with a capacity of 600 persons for banquet style reception. Besides that, there are 9 multi-functional meeting rooms of various sizes and shapes to cater for seminars, meetings, workshops, etc. The spacious pre-function foyer areas, VIP lounge and covered outdoor garden terrace provide added practicality and versatility for event organizers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing