We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat by the river”

James Brooke Bistro
Ranked #9 of 567 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat by the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good food and not too expensive. Lovely spot by the river. Not currently open for breakfast, but a great place for dinner after the sun goes down.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    343
    130
    51
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved This Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice location (in the central park of the city, near the river), and a charming setting with good people watching. Our food was very well prepared and delicious. Service was a bit on the slow side, however. We had lunch here on our first day in Kuching and dinner on our last, and it appeared that the lunch and dinner menus are essentially the same. You will definitely not be disappointed with your meal. As for the service…don't be in a hurry and relax.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Sadly we did not have such a great meal as previous reviewer. .. food very average and certainly did NOT come out at same time ... 30 minutes between first and last person served. .. and they had the same fried rice so that was bizarre ...

I had been there on a previous visit for afternoon coffee and cake and loved the place as the decor is so lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pongo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Easily the best restaurant in Kuching and probably Malaysia- has both Malaysian and western options but all are delicious, well-presented and decent portion sizes. Prices are very reasonable especially for western food and the location on the waterfront is fantastic especially in the evening. Service is quick and everyone is served together (which doesn't often happen in Malaysia).
I'm also not really a desert person but the chocolate cake was probably the best I've ever eaten. Overall cannot fault this place at all.

Helpful?
Thank jfjf k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to sit and watch the passing parade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pleasant bar in a nice location. Reasonably priced. Try to get a table out front for the best views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barb_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Brooke Bistro also viewed

 

Been to James Brooke Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing