We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No signboard for guidance”
Review of The Village House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village House
Ranked #5 of 83 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Can't even find a big signboard stating 'THE VILLAGE HOUSE' in front of this B&B. Please note that this is not a hotel. It's simply a very-expensive backpackers' inn. The photos displayed here always mislead us to book. There is no WiFi, no TV, no fridge, no wardrobe, no table, no chair, no mirror, no hair dryer...almost nothing except beds in the room..and most importantly, YOU CAN EASILY FIND A LOT OF FAECES FROM INSECTS ON THE BED AND FLOOR.... if you would like to relax yourself in Kuching/Damai, you are advised to find other hotels, but not The Village House, it does not worth the money, it only makes you feel more tension

Room Tip: 360 urban resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tse7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for 4 days, 3 nights at the Village House in Santubong in Jan 2013. This place is really hidden, we mised it on our first attempt to get there! One advice, if you're staying here for a few days, rent a car to get around as public transportation is almost non-existent in this part of town.
Back to the review, I absolutely love this place! We stayed in the Village Double room. The room is quite small, but it is clean and lovely. The beds (and pillows are so comfy), the bathroom is amazing! There were only 3 other couples staying there when we first arrived. This place is really really quiet and serene. The swimming pool is just as you see on the website, it is beautiful. I spent most of my time in the pool! This place is really secluded, and unless you have a car, it is not easy to get around. It is a perfect place for you to unwind, and have some quiet time.
The staff were nice, but I would like to thank Joshua especially, who went out of his way to provide us with an amazing service. If you're not planning to eat out, beware that the food here is quite pricey (hotel standard), but with good portions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UlfahKamaruzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Recently shared in the celebrations of our daughters wedding at The Village House. The staff and management could not have been more helpful, everyone was made to feel special and very much at home.
Great food, wine and stunning surroundings made this 3 day celebration perfect
Thanks Donald and Marina and your wonderful team.

Room Tip: Rajah rooms fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACS77B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family were guests at a wedding held at the village house for 3 days. I found the staff great, the rooms beautiful, food great and overall value for money. We were a party off about 30 people and were made to feel like we were at home thanks heaps.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwifamilyunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We chose to stay here for 2 nights - just before the Rainforest festival. The rooms and layout of the hotel are beautiful - very cozy. On arrival our room was not fully ready and it appears as if on the whole staff are thinly spread and management oversight is lacking. whilst staff are friendly there did not seem to be enough hands on deck so to speak.

I found the food disappointing. Everyone speaks of great food - we found it to be average with a limited option. The one night electricity went out in much of the area for 3 hours. Luckily there were only 2 parties eating there - but they struggled to cope. Vegetarian options are very limited.

I think punching above its weight in terms of food and accommodation. The second night we stayed there , the process was significantly higher for the Rainforest festival - and certainly not worth the price.

We had specifically gone there because of the great review s for a moment of quiet! On hindsight we would rather do a day visit from Kutching .

I think renewed attention needs to be given to the food and also general overall management.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 192RoseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We have just left the village house today and were sad to leave. We stayed in a Rajah room and appreciated the extra space, sun deck and television in the room. 2 bottles of water were provided free if charge daily. A nice touch were the little chocolates with a bedtime reading card placed in our room each evening.

We were prepared to b that little bit out in the country and knew to book the cultural village and river cruise in order to keep us vaguely occupied.

The pool is gorgeous; nice and cool all day long and the surroundings are well maintained.

However, above all, we appreciated Zin! She works so hard and was there from dawn until dusk doing pretty much everything, from front of house, to booking tours, to serving all our meals. She really is a 'treasure' and we only feel it just that her hard work, constant smile and chatter be acknowledged as having been appreciated. Had Zin not have been there, our stay would not have been as enjoyable!

We tried the Malay food options on the menu and enjoyed all our meals there. Dinner would cost roughly 100rm. Non alcoholic drinks were a little pricey 14rm for a milkshake, but still affordable. Alcohol obviously a little more expensive- 25rm for a cocktail.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the place if you are looking for some tranquillity, but especially if you are lucky enough to be greeted by Zin!

We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0amingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent four nights at the Village House and found it ideal for what we were looking for. The food was delicious and many an hour was spent idly by the pool and walking on the nearby beach. It is a great place for newly weds and/or couples wishing to spend time together in a secluded spot.

It isn't cheap and and several members of staff were often surly and this affected the ambiance and the overall mood. The staff were often hard to find and pushy when they were ready to serve. The menu is limited for vegetarians and individual requests were often met with a frown.

Overall, it was a good experience that my partner and I enjoyed; however, it could have been so much more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.9 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
747 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,738 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
11.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village House

Address: Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Kpg. | Santubong Peninsula, Kuching 93756, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: £53 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden down a dusty track, just 100metres from the beach in the friendly village of Santubong, The Village House offers the tranquility and service that most travelers crave. The traditional Malay-style stilted rooms and the many chill out areas are decorated using local materials and Sarawakian handicrafts, and this together with the warm and friendly staff ensures that you too feel the welcoming hospitality for which Sarawak is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing