We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”
Review of The Village House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village House
Ranked #5 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

From the web site, it is just the kind of accomodation that I love - well designed, easy going, strong local flavour, and the promise of good food. Village House is beautifully built - full marks for that - but I did not enjoy my stay at all. The room was way too small. The only windows open out onto the central "courtyard" area and you look straight into somebody else's room (they are all on same level). I couldn't sleep at night because you can hear all the noise that's coming from the bar. Outside the room, there is plenty of communal sitting area, but given it's all within a small property, there's not much to do apart from reading. The pool is extremely narrow so it holds two people max. There's a TV room upstairs but the roof leaks so the floor was wet when we went. As for access to "nature"? There's a very unattractive beach nearby and female guests are told not to walk around in swimming costumes. And it took us hours of walking along a major car road to reach a badly maintained "rainforest walk". The food was quite good though.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    52
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
151
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

For me Malaysia has always been about the people and tt's nature. The Village House really reflects the people tha own it. Donald and Marina arre excellent hosts, both clearly well travelled and in love with their hometown. They gave us a really warm welcome and many good insights into what to do in the local area. The Village House is in Santubong village itself, interesting to walk about and close to the cultural vilalge, permai Rain Forest and beaches at Damai - you'd not consider Santubong's beach as very attractive, but this is not a beach holdiay place.

The Village House is traditionally built and furnished, our room was spactious, although you can see some are smaller, overlooking the pool with our own balcony to sit on. People come to chill and relax here, and we have to say the evening meal was superb, a fusion of cultures which could have come from a many star hotel.

I'll confess to being a city stay person - but the Village House did make me consider other options. Good value and freindly, I think it' was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August, meant as a little break to relax between exploring around Kuching and before we went off to Sabah. We were originally just booked for 2 nights, but extended to 3 because we had a slight change in plans due to me injuring my foot. So it was a great place to relax and rest my foot and rebuild my energy for the rest of our trip.

Our room was really nice. Very clean and nicely decorated. Although the bed was really squeaky with any slight toss or turn. Maybe it just needed to be tightened up.

Everyone there was very accommodating, particularly Marina and Laurence. We didn't explore too much of the surrounding area in Santubong, but we did do the evening cruise. It was just us with Laurence, so Donald and Marina (the owners) decided to tag along. We saw a few dolphins and proboscis monkeys. Fireflies galore, but no crocs. They were good guides and companions.

The pool is great, with plenty of little areas and chairs to relax and read a book or play a board game. The beach is just maybe 5 minutes up the road. We didn't swim, we heard it was a bit dirty, but it was a great looking little beach.

We also went to Bako from here for a day trip. We'd meant to do it from Kuching, but because of my foot we had to delay it a few days. It was a bit more expensive to have Laurence shuttle us there than to take the bus from Kuching, obviously, but it only took about 45 minutes. So if you're thinking about just coming here, Bako is definitely doable as a day trip from Village House.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rek731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We were initially booked for three nights but extended our stay for an additional night. Fantastic place, great food, great pool.

Laurence, Marina and all the staff could not do enough for you.

The peace and quiet of this place was fantastic after a day out sightseeing. It is 30 minutes from Kuching and about 10 minutes from the Cultural village but there is a shuttle bus, or you might want to think about hiring a motorbike.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Wow, this is an amazing place! First of all the service was absolutely excellent (they even managed to wash our dirty clothes in less then 12 ours;)), thank you Laurence for your amazing enthousiasm, we would have loved to stay and relax here a little longer. Second the whole building is set up so nicely and the rooms are fabulous and there's a cool 'exploring beach' just a few steps away with lovely sunsets...
Also we loooved the food!!! Seriously highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irisspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Probably more Bali than Borneo this is a gem of a place to stay, very impressive.
The layout is beautiful & the bathrooms first class.
Whilst the rooms are somewhat small ( unless you book the Rajah Room) there are so many outside options you will not want to stay inside.
Laurence & his staff are very attentive & will look after your wildlife cruises, Cultural Village transport, etc in a most friendly, efficient manner.
A perfect place to relax, great pool & a short walk to the beach to watch the sunset.
The evening meals menu was small but the food was excellent with top presentation ( one of the best rendangs I have eaten )
My only criticism ( & V.H really does not deserve any) is breakfast. A bit limited, with a lack of fruit, which is so abundant & cheap. Unless you prefer your eggs underdone you must advise the cook to turn them and don't get too excited about the real bacon ( a rare find in Borneo)
But I repeat - VH does not really deserve criticism, it is an excellent place to stay. Do not miss a few nights there with the interesting Cultural Village visit in between. We did not see any dolfins on our night cruise but did see probiscus monkeys & 2 sets of crocodile eyes in the spotlight. The fishing village you pass on the cruise is interesting also.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

VH is located about 30 mins from downtown Kuching or the airport (US$15 cab ride) in a quiet private wooded setting. It is a charming oasis with very nice rooms, a wonderful pool and very nice staff. All rooms are one level up, covered lounging areas are below on the ground level next to the pool. An ample breakfast is included, lunches and dinners are extra. Free internet is available. VH is located about 100 meters from the beach. Two small villages are nearby for exploration. Since VH is somewhat isolated, a rental car or motor scooter would offer additional mobility for further exploration. A motor scooter rents for about US$12 per day and includes gas and helmets. (A US$45 refundable deposit is required for insurance). This can be arranged through the hotel or separately in Kuching. Nearby villagers are extremely friendly. They wave from their cars, always greet you with "hello" or "good morning." They sometimes stop their cars to offer their "hellos." A Cultural Village is located about 5KM from the VH, well worth a half day visit. The VH will shuttle you there for free. Our room was US$73 per night, a great bargain. Lounging, tranquility and chilling, that's the best of what VH offers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.9 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#19 of 55 in Kuching
702 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
11.9 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
988 reviews
11.8 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,976 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village House

Property: The Village House
Address: Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Kpg. | Santubong Peninsula, Kuching 93756, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden down a dusty track, just 100metres from the beach in the friendly village of Santubong, The Village House offers the tranquility and service that most travelers crave. The traditional Malay-style stilted rooms and the many chill out areas are decorated using local materials and Sarawakian handicrafts, and this together with the warm and friendly staff ensures that you too feel the welcoming hospitality for which Sarawak is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing