We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this resort, first impressions of the lobby were good, but looking closer the hotel is in need of a good update, our room was not ready when we arrived even though the hotel was less than a third full, room was adequate but sheets rather grey looking and towels threadbare, we had our evening meal in one of the only 2 restaurants open and it was very poor and staff no idea of service. Breakfast fared no better,at the weekend they had a buffet breakfast with a good selection and eggs made to order but after that it was a very slow waiter service, with the odd bird flying around the area which was off putting! There appeared to be no facilities for lunch and the shop sold noodles and crisps everything else was out of stock! The saving grace was the location and large swimming pool with towels provided. Too many notices about being charged for too much food on your plate at buffet time or if you left food also being charged extra.

Room Tip: We chose a beach facing room with balcony , our friends chose a suite which had no balcony so they r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathySmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

people should just stay away from this property and go somewhere better like Kota Kinabalu perhaps? Nothing works here. Room was in shamble. Toilet was mouldy. Room tired. Everything is chargeable. I guess they treat their guests like peasants or thieves as every single thing is chargeable. At the pool a bald malay guy was seen behaving like a freaking thug screaming at guests threatening to throw them out just because some kids were using floaties in the adult pool?
Is there even a manager at this place? Breakfast was a joke.

Room Tip: don't bother. All the rooms are mouldy anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gladysyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as it was my partners birthday and I was not impressed by the place at all.

The place was like a ghost town and the service was just terrible. I appreciate that they only had about 20 people staying there but I have had better service in 7/11 and McDonalds in Malaysia than we got in Damai Puri as they just could not be bothered.

I asked what the cost was to get to the airport and I was first told 100 ringgit and then was corrected and told it was 120 ringgit...what a rip off. They forgot to mention that there is a shuttle bus that goes to Kuching several times a day for only 10 ringgit and then it is about another 25 to the airport.

The place is beyond a joke for cost as well, they sell coca cola in the restaurant for 8 ringgit....you can buy the same can for 1.80r at the 7/11 store up the road, opposite the Sarawak Cultural Village.

You could only get wi-fi in the lobby area, which is fine but it is a pain when there are mosquitoes everywhere and you have to fend them off as well.

The place looks like it is not that old but it looks like the current team are doing a great job running into the ground slowly....more time cleaning and less time chatting and on facebook.

On the plus side, they have a really nice large pool and the rooms were fairly large and clean as well.

Room Tip: Read trip advisor before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with extended family in July 2013.

Check-in: Terribly slow service and they lost one of our bookings. We arrived at 4 pm but they told us our rooms were not ready. When we asked if they were full, the staff nonchalantly replied: oh only about 8 check-ins today.. Why our room was not ready despite it being so empty is beyond comprehension.

Rooms: We booked 3 suites, but I would say don't bother. These are just bigger rooms with no additional benefits. Furniture is extremely dates, floor felt grimy, and one of the doors was not working and requires some serious brute force to open. The corridors were full of bugs and very creepy at night.

Facilities: There was a children's fun pool complete with slides and water features, but this was very poorly maintained and the water features were not turned on during the weekdays. Only on Saturday did we realise the features actually worked. They give you a towel card which entitles you to towels, but again, no towels by the children's pool on weekdays. So basically they do not treat weekday guests like guests.

Service: TERRIBLE. Very tardy. We requested a cot in our room, and this was clearly specified on the booking. To no one's surprise at all, the cot was not there when we arrived. We would've called housekeeping at this point except the phone was not working. When we finally made the call by using the phone next door, we were told the cot was not included in our package.
This was when I felt like I was flying a budget airline, as everything, and I mean everything was chargeable. It's reasonable and standard practice to charge for a cot or extra bed, but towels? extra blanket? Even borrowing the ironing board for an hour will set you back RM30.
Room was not made up at 4 pm the next day, and we got sick of waiting so just requested for new towels instead.

Food: Once again, breakfast not included. It is a complete waste of money as the 'buffet' was the worst breakfast buffet I've ever had. There were maybe about 5-6 dishes in total, along with some stale bread. They don't even provide cereal. Milk was obtained from the milk jug used to make coffee. The only edible things are the eggs from the egg station.

All in all, a terrible experience and there is no way we will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bn_1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My husband and I booked our stay at the Damai Puri Resort & Spa because we had previously stayed in this area on one of our family trips, and liked the fact that it was away from the more touristy places. This was our anniversary getaway. We booked one of the deluxe rooms with an ocean view, and we were definitely not dissatisfied with our choice. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and the view met expectations.

The beach that hotel guests have access to is beautiful and clean. My husband and I spent a good amount of time walking along the shore and enjoying the warm water. Unfortunately, we forgot to pack our sunscreen, and the hotel has an inadequately stocked store that does not have a good selection of proper sunscreen or after care products, and we did wind up with bad sunburns. However, despite the inadequate stock of supplies for guests, the hospitality of the staff was very appreciated, and they provided my husband with a driver who took him downtown to a local store where he was able to purchase what we needed. The pool was clean and also a very nice feature with this hotel.

The breakfast buffet at the "Element" did not have much of a selection and the choices did seem to cater more to local Asian guests, with little western menu selection, and many spicy dishes, which is not appealing for breakfast. We chose to, instead, go to the egg station and have an omelette made, but the inside of the omelette was mostly raw egg. We wound of having fruit and toast every morning, which definitely did not equate to the price you pay to have the buffet as part of your hotel package. The food at the "Element", for other meals, was not very good either. While we were there, the other restaurant "Ku" was not open, and we were told it only opened during certain days of the week and not for all meals. When it did open, we ordered a romantic dinner to be served on the balcony of our room. The food was sub-par and pricey, but much better than the "Element". For lunch during one of the days we were there, we ordered chicken sandwiches, while lounging at the pool. What we got was toasted bread with one bite (small chunk) of chicken on each half of sandwich. When we complained about it, the response was to take the sandwiches back and basically shred those tiny chunks of chicken and spread them onto the bread to make it look like more. So basically, you paid for a lettuce and tomato sandwich, but the french fries were good. It is unfortunate that the food at the Damai Puri Resort & Spa is not that good, because it is also not located near any other restaurants, so, you are kind of stuck eating this food. Definitely could use a food makeover, and an understanding that local food is good, but needs to balance with some other selections for those that cannot eat spicy for every meal of the day, or would like to vary what they eat.

The tropical drinks made at the bar were delicious!!!

Overall, we had no problems with our reservation, our room, or the hospitality and general professionalism of the hotel staff. The only problem was with the food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JanHenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Supposed to stay for two nights but checked out after the first.

The check-in was so slow despite there not being that many guests checking in at the same time.

We had dinner around 8-9 pm, and even though we checked in at 3 pm, our particulars were still not entered into the computer system by the time we finished dinner. The whole place look a bit run down, perhaps "a bit" is an understatement.

The room was terrible, the toilet suffered from lack of maintenance.

Checking out was also extremely slow.

Then came the surprise. The next day after checking out, the hotel called us at 4 pm. "When are you going to check out?"

I said we already checked out yesterday! Why cant you check the system instead of calling us??? "The girl who checked you out cannot be reached, so we call you instead"

This by far has got to be the worst hotel that claimed to be 5-star or whatever star there is.

They seem to not just care.

Room Tip: No tips. Just don't stay at this hotel. Nearby Damai Beach Resort also equally bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hanafi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My friends & I stayed there during the weekend of the RWMF '13 (28th to 30th) & it was by far the worst experience I have ever had in regards to hotels/resorts.

From the moment we checked in, service was horrible. Not only did they lose our booking but they were incredibly rude to us & even tried to imply that we did not pay for the room. The room we got did not mirror the fairly large amount we spent on it.

The next day, housekeeping came around 10am when we were all still in the room. Obviously, we told them we did not need housekeeping at that particular moment or for the rest of the day as we would be in the hotel all day until RWMF started up. Before we left for the festival, we called up housekeeping asking if it was possible for them to come & clean the room while we were gone. This was around 7pm--a little late for housekeeping, yes, but not unheard of. Thinking we did not speak Malay, the woman on the phone said to her colleague next to her: "This b**** didn't want me to clean her room this morning & she wants me to do it now." Her colleague then told her to tell us she was too lazy to do it, obviously a joke she thought was funny. We were hastily told that they were too busy & then hung up on. Two subsequent calls to housekeeping received more or less the same treatment--shocking rudeness--but we finally managed to get them to stop hanging up on us & actually agree to clean our room. No one ever showed up to clean the room.

This is just the icing on top of a horrible weekend of a cake. From trying to charge us RM30 for towels to making rude & uncalled for remarks about us, we were all understandably disappointed with the entire establishment.

I most definitely will not be staying there again, especially with its superficially high rates & I urge everyone to follow my lead.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emilymarychin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
731 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
14 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
13.9 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Puri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Address: Damai Puri Resort & Spa Teluk Penyuk | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Damai Puri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting Damai Beach at the foot of Mount Santubong in Kuching, Malaysia, Damai Puri Resort & Spa spans 207 elegant guestrooms, and boasts a Spa Village, 600-capacity ballroom, exhaustive recreation facilities, and 2 restaurants and 3 bars. It also hosts numerous activities for kids, couples, leisure travelers, and big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Damai Puri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Puri Hotel Kuching
Damai Puri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing