We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 31 July 2014

All is not doom and gloom but the place just needs sprucing up here and there. .. not talking major outlay in some areas either ie replacing attap (leaf) roof on shelters near the pool which are wrecked , lick of paint here and there. .. One very positive note is their restaurant 'ku' ... average price per dish rm 28 (£5ish) and delicious. All freshly cooked by a very friendly chef who you can see at work through the glass panels in an open kitchen. His naan bread to die for... Other meat dishes great too -- Malay - Indian fusion... enjoyed it so much we abandoned plans to try another place and went back another time ... and will probably do do again tonight...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pongo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Damai Puri Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family stayed 5 nights in this resort and had a very relaxing holiday. The views were spectacular and we loved the infinity pool although a little warm to really cool down. The location was convenient. Next to the Rainforest resort that had a nice cafe and great activities. Our daughters enjoyed the high rope course and we loved the evening boat trip. Also walking distance of Damai Central which has a cheap food court and the Sarawak Cultural centre. The 2 restaurants at the resort had delicious food and we found all the staff very friendly. The main disadvantage was that some of the facilities like the spa village weren't open. The resort is huge and was mostly empty. But that made it quite relaxing having the pool, gym etc to mostly to ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MJMcK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We first came as a family to Damai Puri many years ago. It was vibrant then. Started noticing it going downhill two years ago and this time around. It has gone from bad to worst. Very run down, many of its facilities not opened. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Go and stay next door at Damai Beach Resort.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank IbanLelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Unfriendly and non helpful set of staff. Everything don't know or unavailable like umbrellas when it rains. Food is dreadful and many facilities are no longer operational. It's a distant (45km) from the city but the scenery is nice though. Not value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank KampungBoy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is in a superb place but that's where the positives end. I bet it was fantastic when new but now it has a down at heel atmosphere to it. It's slightly shabby, run down and needs a load of cash spending on it.
The staff are friendly in so far as their language skills allow but for the most part do nothing. The exception was the chef who found someone to staff the bar one evening and then brought me a beer to my table. Staff are not well trained or proactive towards guests.
Weird stuff; everything is extra. Everything that every hotel in 2014 has in the room has to be paid for extra. Iron? Extra. Board? Extra. Another skimpy bath towel? Extra. No Wi-Fi in the rooms. Guests (CUSTOMERS) are greeted at reception with a list of Rules & Regulations. Seriously!
The one that amused me most? A fine for leaving food on your plate if you have the "all you can eat" buffet! Makes you wonder what planet the owners are on.
Really not worth what they're charging.

Room Tip: Sea views are great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

check in for 1 night. Check in process a bit trouble cannot find my reservation. room is OK & my daughter love the kids pool. The restaurant staff & food need improvement. Staff is unfriendly & yet they serve STALE nasi lemak. Already informed the staff yet still serve to the other guests...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mry5011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It started when me and my group of friends with our bags checked in. The bellboy didn't do anything to help us with our luggage and heavy gear bags, so we had to take the trolley and bring our stuff to our rooms. Fine.

Telephones in the rooms are not working. Fine.
Thankfully, the toilet and shower is okay. Room is comfortable enough, though the place is a bit run down.

It was okay, until the day we checked out. Came back from Damai Central feeling glad that it was the end of a 2 day event, we were thinking to have our electronic keys reactivated (as it's already 3pm when we arrived back), wanted to get into our rooms and pack our stuff and check out from there. Here's when the 'not fine' part came.

The lady receptionist on duty was puzzled when we told them that we haven't check out from the room, when in their system, someone has already checked us out. We tried to explain that we still have our belongings in the rooms, had the keys in our hands so it's impossible that we already checked out. Another male receptionist came and insisted that our rooms already checked out. "fine," we replied. All we wanted now is to reactivate the key back so we can have access into our rooms, packed and check out. Easy, right?

we stood at the counter waiting while she made calls to housekeeping bla bla bla...to check if our stuff is still in the room (!?!?), and she made calls to some individuals on the phone about 'guest has been checked out from the system, so how to go about it'...another 15-20 minutes wasted, waiting...and we are exhausted, dirty and in need of shower and leave the place asap.

Then came another male staff, supposed to be a senior or something, in which we explained once again: Activate our rooms keys please - we know we supposed to check out today - we wanted to get our things and check out. He nodded and in less than 5 minutes, we got what we wanted. Does it has to be complicated?

The only comfort is the view is nice and quiet. Please improve on your staff qualities.

Room Tip: get a sea view room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngeL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
714 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
483 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#5 of 81 in Kuching
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Puri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Address: Damai Puri Resort & Spa Teluk Penyuk | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £33 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Damai Puri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting Damai Beach at the foot of Mount Santubong in Kuching, Malaysia, Damai Puri Resort & Spa spans 207 elegant guestrooms, and boasts a Spa Village, 600-capacity ballroom, exhaustive recreation facilities, and 2 restaurants and 3 bars. It also hosts numerous activities for kids, couples, leisure travelers, and big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Damai Puri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Puri Hotel Kuching
Damai Puri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing