We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but oddly quiet - couldn't spend more than 3 days here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed here as part of a two week holiday to Malaysia. We got here for a few days relaxation after spending time in Kuching town and Sabah. I had mixed feelings about this place. First impressions were very good - check in was quick and the sea-view and the beautiful pool were stunning - but there was an odd vibe to the place.

Despite being a few days before a big event in Sarawak Cultural Village and getting one of what was the apparent last rooms remaining in the resort, the place was oddly quiet. There seemed to be only about 4 or 5 other couples staying there and any time we went for food or drinks the place was deserted. We found it difficult to get service for drinks around the pool and the pool bar was not attended for any of the time that we were there.

At nighttime the place was absolutely dead. There was absolutely no atmosphere in the place at all and we were the only people sitting in the bar at some times. One night we decided to go back up to our room as it was not very enjoyable sitting in a bar on your own and they were packing up the games room as we went past. Since we were quite bored at this stage we asked if there would be any chance we could take the Scrabble game up to our room and drop it back the next morning but they wouldn't let us!! They were just going to lock the game away in a cupboard for the night!

We kept feeling that we were missing something in the resort, that there had to be another place where everyone was but there were no bars or restaurants within walking distance outside the resort. I guess many people were on daytrips during the day and this is why it was so quiet but it just didn't make it a nice place to be. I'm all for spending time with my partner but it's nice to meet other people on holidays as well and there just was no opportunity for this.

The location is stunning but very isolated - definitely think 2 or 3 days would be the max that you could spend here!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank irish_traveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2009

Stayed here for 4 nites in Oct 2009. The hotel is not located near Kuching town but is a 1 hour drive from Kuching and the airport. The hotel provides shuttle service from the airport. There are also shuttle to the next hotel which is Dami Beach Resort which is located approx 5 mins away.

The rooms are not so big but are newly refurbished with simple modern settings (LCD TV, rain shower no bath tub. . The wifi are free but the food here are expensive (by local standards). Nasi goreng (fried Rice) would cost RM27, It has a small stretch of private beach, 2 swimming pools and spa. Overall a nice place to unwind but nothing much to do. It depends on what you would like to have for your holiday. But tour can be arranged for cultural village or forest hiking.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Our 3 days stay at the hotel marked our 2nd year reunion with our friends from Canada and Johore Baru. It was their first visit to our beautiful Land Of The Hornbill,which we checked in the moment all arrived on 9th Oct 09. We were so proud they agreed on this venue for our reunion. Needless to say, we as the host looked forward to show off our homeland to our friends.
How dissapointed we were when we checked into the hotel to discover the poor condition of the rooms, which were not clean, worst of all when we decided on a swim at the pool. The water in the pool is dirty and we feel sticky within minutes in the water and the floor in the pool is slippery due to the fungue on the bottom of the pool. It took us seconds to get out of the pool. We made a complaint to the pool attendants, all they did was keeping mum about it. Hope the hotel operators understand that guest can file a complaint to the health ministry about the poor water conditon in the swimming pool.
Disgusting!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csfKuching_Sarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

ROOM: Wet & sticky floor, stuffy room, small washroom, no bathtub, cheap shampoo, fuse & lift not functioning well.
SERVICE: The waiter/waitress not applicable for the job. they can't even speak fluently in MALAY; although english??
So, think twice before you decide to come. unworth to spend your money.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinomulok27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The location is nice - and there it ends.. do not have any other nice things to say. The rooms are a bit tired, bathroom small and not up to standard for the rate they charge. The poolbar was out of stock of everything everyday.. first try and find some one to take your order (staff very unvisible), and then you would think that if you ordered a diet coke on day 1 they would have it by day 2 - but no, up to day 4 no diet coke was availabe. So we had to drink sparkiling water (they did not have ANY other fizzy drinks) at 8 Ringgit a bottle (same water bought at the adjacent golf club for 2.60 Ringgit!!). Food: menu is very limited but OK - however do not expect your order to arrive within any reasonable time frame! We only stayed 3 nights but were tired of the menu already. Do not order wine unless you are prepared to wait for 1 hour, and have to send 3 bottles back. We ordered WHITE and they brought RED wine; then they managed to bring a bottle twice as expensive and then ... ah we just ordered something else. The staff are just not educated, they are not equipped for the job. No shade at Kiddiepool (what? are we expected to put our kids in blazing sun all day?) no shade to be found on the beach either. Only the adult pool had some shade but there the daybeds were old and sagged. Spa area looked ok but very expensive (a simple pedicure was charged 180 ringgit!). No management to be found on location either - who is controling this place? Dirty plates from room service left on the floor for rodents to feast on it, housekeeping forgot to bring fresh towels, baby cot ordered in advance took 2,5 hrs to be brought to room (and yes by then the baby was not so happy anymore) - the list is endless!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We booked this hotel for our company’s silver jubilee and annual dinner early August. Overall, we had about 200 staffs coming for this celebration. Upon arrival, check-in was very slow (only 1 staff to handle 200 guests?!) and some of the rooms were not even prepared yet.

My room was at the top floor with sea view which is the one and only positive points! Bathroom and bedroom floors were hastily mopped thus making it too sticky walk on bare foot…our iron request from housekeeping fell on deaf ears…few hours later, they had the cheek to ask when can we return it?!

Service at the restaurant was worst! Service was very slow although only about 30% of the tables were occupied. In the end, some of us just had to cancel our orders. Waiters are no help at all…could barely speak proper Malay/English…all they did was refill your glass with ice water.

The food served during the annual dinner was also a letdown. Our organizing committee had specifically requested two months earlier for several traditional dishes to be served which they didn’t and were also slow to refill the buffet table…

Overall I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaragangRasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

My friends and I spent a weekend there in July and were totally disappointed and frustrated with the service given by this so-called premier resort.

There weren't any bathmats, facial tissues,stationary (not that we needed any pens/papers but these are the basic things which are usually provided by a premier resort). On top of that, the lever for the faucet in the washroom was missing and the tv as well as the phone lines were not working. The floor was dusty and sadly, there was mould/water stains on the walls. Breakfast was terrible!

I recently received a letter of apology from the hotel and sadly, the letter was far less apologetic and totally ridiculous. I was told that as the booking was done locally, I was automatically allocated two rooms (as we booked for 2 rooms) in the ocean wing and not the spa wing as the spa wing is for oversea bookings and the guests in the spa wing would be able to enjoy a full range of the resort's room amenities whereas those in the ocean wing would only get the essential room amenities. Tell me, would this be acceptable in this twenty first century? It is crystal clear from the letter, that the hotel practises double standards, especially towards the local citizens and as such, I would assume that we, being locals are treated as second class citizens in the resort!

Bear in mind that the rate in this resort would start at MYR400++(this is for a standard deluxe room).You would be better off to stay in Damai Beach Resort which is just next door.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
2  Thank madzl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
731 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
14 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
13.9 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Puri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Address: Damai Puri Resort & Spa Teluk Penyuk | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £32 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Damai Puri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting Damai Beach at the foot of Mount Santubong in Kuching, Malaysia, Damai Puri Resort & Spa spans 207 elegant guestrooms, and boasts a Spa Village, 600-capacity ballroom, exhaustive recreation facilities, and 2 restaurants and 3 bars. It also hosts numerous activities for kids, couples, leisure travelers, and big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Damai Puri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Puri Hotel Kuching
Damai Puri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing