We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to get out of the city!”

FRIM -Forest Research Institute of Malaysia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Keep your eyes peeled for wildlife on the nature trails. Then enjoy a bird's-eye-view of the trees by crossing the Canopy Walkway. This unique conservation facility is located 20 kilometers from Kuala Lumpur.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect place to get out of the city!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This place is very close to KLCC and it is only a few KTM stops and then a very short cab ride away (From KTM kepong Sentral). There is a lot of stuff to do, but if you go on the weekend, bring your own food and drink with you, as you probably won't see much else in the grounds. The cablecar is fantastic and a bit frightening! Make sure you buy your ticket from the kiosk before going up, as we did not and it made for a long hike! Outside of the gate there is a great Chinese foodcourt to have lunch and drinks in! Well worth the trip out of the city! You will see loads of nice plants and probably some monkeys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    162
    48
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great day out far from the hassle bustle of the city”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Nice park not too far away from the city (around 20-25 minutes). Head straight for the information centre to buy your canopy walk pass as this is the only place that sells them.
Avoid going to FRIM on a rainy day, Mondays and after lunch because the canopy walk is only opened from 9 to 13:30.

The trek itself is ok for parents and children but the canopy walk can be a bit challenging if you are not physically fit.

If you take a taxi from KL, beware, there are no taxis back from FRIM! You'll have to get out of the park and stand on the side of the road and hope for a taxi to pass by (although we only waited about 10-15 minutes).

Don't forget to bring water and food as the restaurant option there is somehow very limited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great day outing from KL”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Have been meaning to go to FRIM for a while and they were close forever.. but just happen to be in KL when they reopened after the renovations (?). Anyway, we entered the location to the gps and it took us somewhere else (we figured out later we have to put in canopy walk - which was what we wanted to do at FRIM).

FRIM is a huge forest reserve with lots of walks, a waterfall, lunch place, heritage huts, botanical garden and trails. We did the hike up to the canopy (about 30 minutes - easy to moderate hike depending on your fitness level) and enjoyed the canopy walk. Amazing views of KL city from up there and really cool to be up on top of the giant trees. After the canopy walk we walked down to the waterfall and had fun splashing around. We also stopped a lunch place near the waterfall (all inside FRIM) that served delicious (and cheap) kampong food. As we walked to the car we explored the Malay traditional huts (which were 100 years old). We would definitely come back for more visits to explore the other parts and enjoy the yummy food. A must do if you have a few hours and enjoy nature. It was quite easy to get to (once we figured out the gps :) However, check the FRIM website to see open days and hours as they only open certain days and close quite early.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Unbelievable! Definitely worth the effort!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect here but we found a little piece of unspoilt magic. We took the KLM Commuter line to Kepong Sentral and a short taxi ride to FRIM (6 RM). Bit of a walk to the One Stop shop to buy tickets and water then a 15 mins walk to the start of the climb up to the start of the walkway. The next bit was a little more tricky and tiring as we clambered up a path for c20 mins to the top. Not for the obese and unfit!
But the actual walk through the treetops was awesome. Great views and so close to nature, and a little tension as the planks moved and the walkway swayed with other people walking ahead.
But it was worth it and afterwards we had lunch in the little cafe there. They were genuinely pleased to help and serve us. And as a bonus it's only 15 mins by taxi to Batu Caves.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremyKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime canopy walk”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Go mid week and check as closed one day. Cheap to visit. Pay for car and people as you enter then go to shop for tickets. Have to go early as canopy shuts at 12 or 1. It is a steep climb takes 1 hour to get up to canopy parents of 67 managed it. Take lots of drink n snacks. Canopy takes 20 mins only but worth doing. On way down, which is harder, stop at water to paddle, lovely butterfly's. Follow river down to bottom rather than the path. A good way, see monkeys at bottom and get some food local and cheap, rice n chicken. Visited 3 times whilst living in Malaysia

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stiny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FRIM -Forest Research Institute of Malaysia also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Batu Caves, Selangor
 

Been to FRIM -Forest Research Institute of Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing