We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We checked in on 28 August n was well received and greeted with a big smile by Casey the doorman. We were attended by Farouk at the reception. Farouk was very attentive n pleasant. Our room was upgraded to a suite room and given the best view of Sunway Lagoon. the room was perfect and my kids enjoyed and was very happy to hve the best view.

Breakfast selection was good. Basically it was a health diet breakfast. Arul, the chef in charge of the fresh juice counter was very cheerful and approachable and no words can add on to his customer orientation. He was so accomodating to all the guest request.

the only set back was during our breakfast session on the 2nd day, i started with a cup of fresh juice and some pastries. Enjoyed the variety of western, malaysian delicacies. My waiting for two rounds to savour my favourite steamed chicken pau. finally i managed to get one and helped with a bowl of noodles at the same time.

i set back at the table enjoyed the bowl of noodles and paused awhile. I was away from the table to grab another fresh cup of juice while leaving behind the steamed chicken pau behind on the plate. My husband was still seated at the table. however when i was back to my table .....MY PAU WAS MISSING. The waiters cleared away the plate without even asking my husband if i have finished. That was the most dissappointing thing. Anyway, i dont understand how come bangladesh staff can serve coffee and tea. and my cup was juice was also taken away and when i sort of complained to my husband, " see they just removed it without asking" the bangladesh staff has the seek to ask me back, " any problem maam". i realise that F&B had a short of staff on the 1st day of raya.

I was expecting some hari raya cookies and delicacy corner during breakfast since it was already raya.

Checkout process was pleasant, we were attended by Mr Arul, The Dir of Rooms and mr Sutha to assist us on the luggage.

However, overall the stay was pleasant and wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirgoCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    547
    238
    84
    55
See reviews for
812
230
41
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I have found the hotel friendly and amenable. Superb, friendly staff make your stay the best. The theme park behind compares well to other water parks worldwide. Easy shopping next door. The food is superb with a wide range of choice. A quick trip to the LRT station sees you in downtown KL in 10 minutes. If you want a relaxed and enjoyable rest then Sunway is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flapydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending our church conference at the adjacent convention center. The hotel exterior looks glamourous but once we stepped into our room, I was pretty nervous as the room was very old and weary and I was going to stay there for six nights.

Our room was the premier type and was on the second floor. Our floor looked like a dungeon with the hotel execution office. The hotel was pretty full and they couldn't give us a king bed room (no big deal). We just put two double beds together. The problem was one of the two beds' mattress was so wore down that I could feel every single spring on my back. I gave the bed a try for the first night and my back was aching the next morning.

I called the service center and requested them to change out the mattress if possible. The lady on the phone told me she would take note and bring in a king bed when one becomes available. After three more days, I still had not hear from the hotel about my "king" bed. I pretty much gave up and ready to leave the hotel when my conference is over and move to KLCC Traders. The same night, the front desk called me and said a king bed room became available, however, it was on a smoking floor. I checked the room out with the staff and declined their offer despite he kept saying there was no smell in the room (I have a 14 months old baby, it deems not the best option for us). I went back to my room and received another call from the front desk. The gent told me he found a king bed room on non smoking floor and he can hold the room for us to move in the next morning. That is an excellent customer service. Unfortunately, the bed in the new room was still in sad shape and the bathroom was not quite in working order.

Overall, the staff are very friendly and eager to serve. Without the wonderful staff, I will likely just give one star to my review.

If there is no particular reason, I suggest other visitors to just stay at near KLCC. This hotel complex is pretty far from anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, KSA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

5-star hotel a Mall and a whole entertainment city are all what you need for a perfect vacation. You can have all the fun you want with your family at this great place. Especially, kids will love it.

We liked the quick check-in and check-out. Rooms are clean and fresh. But Wi-fi was not available, which was very annoying.

Food and drinks were very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Brought the kids for the theme park and decided to stay at this hotel again. Everything felt the same, check-in was smooth and the staff were all great. My only gripe is that more staff is needed during breakfast time. Service was very poor but granted, it was packed and I believe the few staff working were trying their best. Overall, it's still good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkwchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We spent 5 nights at Sunway as part of a 2 week trip in Malaysia. We had 2 interconnecting rooms 1 for myself and my wife and the other for our 3 children. The kids room had 2 double beds so if you have small children no need for a rollaway as 2 can easily fit in 1 bed.

Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The hotel itself is very nice. Usual standard fare at the breakfast buffet. Not the best I've had but not the worst either. Room service was reasonably priced, had large serves and a good standard. Service was very good from all the hotel staff.

The location is excellent and there is plenty to keep you busy with the theme park on your doorstep which offers plenty of fun for the whole family. The adjoining shopping complex also has plenty to offer with a plethora of restaurants, a cinema, ten pin bowling, ice skating and archery. Lots to keep the kids busy. Its open till 10pm at night which gave my wife a chance to go and indulge in some retail therapy while I stayed back at the hotel and put the kids to bed.

I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Malaysia.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is best place to spent with family and friends.

Best part of this is Spa, water activities and Extreme Park...

Only thing that may worry is Food, You may have to find place for food of your taste.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilesh_Pardhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#13 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
9.3 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is one of Kuala Lumpur’s most iconic 5-star hotels, situated within the sprawling integrated resort of Sunway City. The Hotel is located next to Sunway Lagoon theme park and connected to the massive Sunway Pyramid shopping mall, seamlessly integrating facilities for easy, within the minute walking-access, to a multitude of leisure and business services. On arrival, the Hotel’s dramatic neo classical façade welcomes guests to superlative features and thematic architectural designs, sheltered by towering minaret glass domes and a main driveway that boasts monumental sculptures of deer being pursued by a Malayan tiger and two life-size elephants stand guard; with a profusion of fountains and captivating oasis of water features. The Hotel’s 441 guestrooms and suites are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi and other modern conveniences. Most guestrooms have theme park views or the resort's skyline; some provide balconies with an opportunity to walk out to the lush tropical gardens. Facilities within the hotel include an expansive free-form landscaped swimming pool with cascading waterfalls, a Balinese-inspired Mandara spa, a fitness centre, an all-day dining restaurant, a lobby lounge and several independently-operated Chinese, Thai and other speciality restaurants. Located adjacent to the Hotel are Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre, 170 food and beverage outlets and over 900-retail stores in the shopping mall, and two additional hotel towers with Sunway Pyramid Hotel and Sunway Clio Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing