We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty Malay food”

Little Penang Restaurant
Ranked #122 of 1,370 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very tasty Malay food”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Set meals very nice and excellent value for money! Try the beef curry with accompaniments or noodle soups.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Penang Laksa outside of Penang!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

My favorite place for my Penang food fix in KL. Had Penang Assam laksa and I must say its as authentic as it gets. The sour soup was flavorful and chock full of fish bits which complemented the fresh veges and shrimp paste. My wife had Penang fried kuay teow which was average and we shared a plate of fried ngo hiang which was good. Must come back and try the other noodles like Penang curry mee and prawn mee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kutoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ho Chiak! Good Penang Food in Petaling Jaya.”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 1145 am, and ordered.Service was good because there was no crowd yet, but the place was full at 12 pm. Food was served in 15 mins, my kids finished the rojak and lobak quickly, I managed to only get 1-2 pieces of rojak. I enjoyed my laksa but it was rather mild, not spicy for my kids to finish the laksa soup; in Penang, my kids would avoid laksa soup.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vodano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great rojak!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I usually go to the outlet in midvalley. Best rojak for my taste buds. Curry mee is so-so but the char kuey teow is pretty good too. All the main noodles are rm13.50 while the rice options are slightly more. Quick service and a good option for a taste of Penang food in kl though the Assam laksa doesn't do pg street Assam laksa justice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becksangel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Penang Food”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is outstanding! Consistent quality all the time.

Favourite is the Pie Tee which comes out crispy and the chilly sauce that comes with it is MSG-laced but delicious.

Curry mee and that dry chilli sauce that comes with it is crazily good and mind numbing experience for my stomach after.

Prawn me and Assam Laksa are probably de riquer every visit. Just tasty and really like having Penang come to KL!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeanPennicott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Penang Restaurant also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Little Penang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing