We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Crystal in this Crown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No Crystal in this Crown”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The location was good and best thing is there was no traffic jam around this area. However, this hotel really needs a make over BADLY! Room and furnishings were all very very very tired looking, the bathroom was on the verge of being disgusting, the mattress was hard and lumpy, the pillows were very flat from over use and the towels threadbare! Despite all these, I would still come back and stay at this hotel as I really find that the location is just superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Textbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    26
    45
    12
    12
See reviews for
9
25
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I chose this hotel because it is 4 minutes away (by driving) from the place I wanted to go. The first room that I stayed in was near to renovation. They immediately changed me to a better room.

Pros:
Service is very good
room is very comfortable
average buffet breakfast.
newspaper is provided every morning outside the room.
15 minutes walking distance to asia jaya lrt station. Around RM5 by taking taxi.

Cons:
No restaurants nearby, not convenient for people who is not driving
They are having renovation right now.
Swimming pool is a bit small.

Like the other travelers said, this hotel is decaying. That is why they are having renovation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kluang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stay for a night time only, does not have enough time to move around hotel.
Location is Good, close to the federal highway. Easy to Petaling Jaya and Damansara area. The hotel just shown her signs of jaded. No walking distance shopping mall.
Buffet breakfast is average and ok. There is some menu that changes daily.
Average but comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank affarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

If you like a hotel away from the madness of KL , a stop between meeting friends & between suburbs that you wanted to travel too, then this is it. We wanted just that when we stayed at the hotel over the new year period (31,1 & 2). It is in need of an update, however the rooms are comfortable & clean. Buffet breakfast is average but not bad. Nit too bad a price taking into consideration it was new year. We went out for our meals, so cannot comment on their restaurant, however judging from the menu & breakfast spread, the food is above average.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammylf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Petaling Jaya (PJ) appears to have a dearth of decent business hotels for the traveler on a budget. The Hilton and One World are a tad expensive and PJ is spread over a large enough area requiring logistical planning for accommodation depending on where ones place of work is.
This property is decent value but is beginning to show signs of decay. The room was clean, neat and of a decent size with what appeared to new parquet flooring.
The bathroom was a disappointment. Both the WC and another bathroom tap were leaking with large water spills on to the bathroom floor.
One tap appeared to be broken as well - something that should have been noticed and fixed by housekeeping.
The buffet breakfast spread was decent though the service staff seemed somewhat morose.

Room Tip: A high floor provides a good view over this part of PJ
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandalf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Reminiscent of hotels I have stayed at in Asia during the '90s. OK back then, but not much has happened to this one to drag it out of its era. Not to say it was neglected, since it was clean, tidy and well-presented, rather that it was still 20th century in its decor and fit-out. The room was quiet, facing away from the street overlooking the local padang and a distant city skyline. Unfortunately, an adjacent parking area was the departure point, on the Sunday of a motorcycle Grand Prix held at Sepang, for about 200 motorcycle riders heading for that circuit. They left in two waves with the warm up and mass start noise of the first group waking us well before 0700. They were using the hotel's rear driveway, though, so who of the hotel management knew about this and what did they think the effect on guests might have been?
The upside was that breakfast was excellent and parking was well provided for. Location was good for those with transport, but looking at what was a short walk away revealed not a lot if it's shopping you want.
As in all hotel decisions at this price point, unless you do a walk-through, the brochure pictures are all you can go on. You pays your money and you takes your chances. It was OK, but if Petaling Jaya is on the itinerary again, I'll be taking my chance on another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid if you are there when a big motorcycle event is held at Sepang. Otherwise a room with an outlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I love this hotel and would stay here whenever I come to PJ. The deluxe room is very economical for travelers with family as it comes with a queen sized bed and another super single bed. The deluxe room is also very spacious. The only drawback is the room is a bit dated...but overall the hotel is good and very conveniently located in PJ.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
#10 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#19 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Strawberry Fields
Hotel Strawberry Fields
#12 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya

Property: Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
Address: 12, Lorong Utara A | Off Jalan Utara, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in January 1995, Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya has fast gained its popularity among the business travelers. It is an ideal choice for those who would like to stay connected and within the hub of the Commercial and Business District of Petaling Jaya. The Hotel comprises of 273 tastefully designed rooms, ranging from Superior to Junior Suites. Adding to this range would be the Executive Summit Floor, where we provide extra space and comfort to our guests. The Executive Summit Floor guests will have exclusive access to our Summit Lounge with complimentary beverages throughout the day. All our room guests would also enjoy the free internet access in their rooms and daily buffet breakfast at our coffee house. For food connoisseurs, we have a Chinese restaurant that serves quality shark's fin, abalone and other Chinese delicacies, Japanese restaurant that offers sushi, yakitori, teppanyaki, sashimi and our Coffee House that serves continental and local cuisines. Guests may wind down after a busy day at our outdoor swimming pool or enjoy a massage at the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing