We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of The Best”
Review of Ryokan Chic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ryokan Chic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Petaling Jaya B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best of The Best”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I must say that i have stayed both Ryokan Penang and Damansara. Staffs are super friendly. Service is fantastic and not to mention the 24 hours snacks available. I am never hungry. 3 Ipads for guest to use + 2 huge LCD TV at common area for me to watch Olympics. Made a few friends while watching Olympics at the common area. (i drank 5 cups of coffee + 2 maggie cup noddles while watching Olympics and it is FREE at mid night) Showers are strong and comes with massage functions. Rooms are clean, cosy and bed is very comfortable (hard and firm) Highly recommended for all types of travellers. Walking distance to like 500 shops and also Tropicana Shopping Mall. 5 min drive to One Utama and Ikea. Surrounded by Restaurants, Banks, Boutiques, Convenient shops, Saloons, Pubs, Stalls, workshops, and many many more. Very convenient. Unlike any other hotels around PJ. Ryokan is easily the best in boutique hotel around. Thumbs up for Ryokan. I heard they are opening in Ipoh too. Cant wait to try it out!

Room Tip: Stay in the Aristocrat room. Comes with Window and a King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takashi_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    24
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
20
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Minimalist but clean and cosy. Actually, a relief to stay somewhere so clean and modern after some of the other places I've been. single room quite complete but you wouldn't want to suffer from claustrophobia.

City a bit of a trek by bus/and or train, but eateries abound in the Utama area.

Very good value for money.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The staffs are really helpful, polite and nice. They really treat me like a child. They wash the fruits and make sure I have what something to eat for breakfast. Well, I felt pampered much more than those 5 star hotels. There be one employee standing at the toaster to assist you if you need help with toasting and get apples for breakfast. Instant cup noodles are there if you want to eat it.

They have LCD TV even in the solo room and even Ipad for you to surf net. Wifi coverage are available in my room too.

I'm very happy with the hotel rates and the bed of the hotel. I do get sound of people walking around at times and also the beneath of the door lights coming into my room, i block em with my backpack and shoes. Can't sleep with bright light but it's okay. Very peaceful and quiet place to sleep.

In this industry, a smiling face, a quality service and price is what is valuable the most :)

If you ask me I will go stay here again ? Yes, I will definitely come back here again if i go Bandar Utama to stay. Walking distance to opposite side for food and Uptown Shopping Gallery.

10 minutes drive to Centrepoint or KBU or 1 Utama Shopping Mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zu_Shyong_Aik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Two girls and two nights in this hotel. Apart from its price, we enjoyed our stay, no regrets, a budget luxury redefined. Ryokan portrays a wonderful canvas of their Japanese minimalism concept. Their style, color palette and raw bricks. Interesting.

What's nice:
1. A budget hotel but feels like one of those 4-star hotels.
2. Friendly staff, check in & check out were smooth.
3. Room size was just nice, decent clean bathroom as well.
4. Comfortable bed, clean towels, TV channels selection, complete room amenities.
5. Good a/cond & high-speed wifi.

What could you ask for me? Overall, the hotel, which is relatively new, is a terrific deal.
Most importantly, this hotel makes me feel like home. =) Keep it up, Ryokan!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My friends from Canada was down to visit a few weeks ago and I booked Ryokan Chic for them. They absolutely enjoyed their stay there as it was so convenient for them. So easy for me to show them our Malaysian cuisines and culture too, as you can mainly find all sorts of food within walking distance. Place is new and tastefully furnished too. I would definitely book it again for my friends that come visit in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Ryokan Chic Hotel is a great hotel that is very modern and ideal place to stay. The hotel has a great interior and a comfortable, warm feeling about it. The location is ideal and its facilities are very clean and tidy. It a price that is totally worth the stay the Ryokan is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is the fifth time I'm staying at Ryokan and it just gets better each time. My work requires me to travel around Malaysia and hotels have become my second home. Ryokan offers not just a clean bed but an atmosphere that keeps you coming back. The design, concept, art and style are done to perfection. It is in a class of its own. Ryokan has redefined budget accomodation. Apart from its price there is really nothing budget about the place. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnTLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
1.1 mi away
O'Boutique Suites
O'Boutique Suites
#14 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel & Shortstay
Lighthouse Hotel & Shortstay
#15 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
14 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sovotel Boutique Hotel at Uptown 101
Sovotel Boutique Hotel at Uptown...
#16 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
10 reviews
1.0 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Chic Hotel

Property: Ryokan Chic Hotel
Address: 97-M, Jalan SS21/37, Damansara Utama, Petaling Jaya 47400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryokan Chic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryokan Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing