We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

What a strange hotel. I have mixed feelings. For one, the pool was amazing and it's in a very interesting location, as it's part of a mall and amusement park! On the downside, the room was not very impressive (had the superior) and everything just seemed out-dated and old. So, you have a modern lobby but the rooms and hallways are not very impressive. There's another hotel that seems to be apart of this hotel, but it's much more impressive than this one. Anyways, if your goal is just to shop at a giant mall then this is a very convenient hotel.

What I really did not appreciate was the unfair taxi scam they have going on, where you get charged something like an extra 50% if you're catching a cab after midnight. They called it a night tax. We had to catch our plan early in the morning ( we left at 3am) and were charged a ridiculous amount of money...about $70 U.S when it should of cost around $30! So, do yourself a favor and negotiate with one of the taxi drivers yourself instead of going thru the hotel for a taxi. Based on that experience I will never stay at this hotel again. I felt like we were being punished just because we had an early flight!

Room Tip: Do not get a taxi thru the hotel. They over charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luci83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    437
    278
    94
    76
See reviews for
453
125
44
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've been to Sunway for many times with my family. Normally we would stay at the hotel next door, with is the Sunway Spa and Resort. It is more expensive, but have rooms that can hold 2 adults and 2 childrens in a room. This time round, we are traveling with the kids and a couple of friends. There was a promotion with breakfast, so we took it. We Check in on Friday 18th which was a holiday, and the service was fast. The customer front desk was helpful and friendly, even we were early in our check in. This is the second time I stayed in this hotel, and I find that there was much improvement compare to my first stay. I would prefer to have a Lagoon facing view room, as those facing inside does not have any view at all. It makes the room quite dark. Overall, I'm very happy with the hotel room, and could not have ask for more, given the price we're paying. I will sure to stay there sometime in the future. Breakfast on the other hand was so so in standard. Many type of food are on display, thou I felt that there is a lack for soup.

Room Tip: Get a lagoon view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisCKSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear FrancisCKSeah,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and your trust in us. We are glad that you, your family and friends enjoyed the stay and it had been a great pleasure to welcome and make your stay with us memorable.

We have also taken note of your comments in the menu and we will share this with our F&B department to see what can be added for our guests in the future. Thank you very much for your comments.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future and should you decide to return, please do let us know and we will be very happy to arrange for your next stay with us. Until then, take care and have a great weekend ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4nights. Upon checking in we requested a room with a view and the reply was our rooms dont have a view. The looks of the hotel are very deceiving, lobby is very nice n modern. As we went to our room the hallways and room setup are very hopital like. Our room smelt like old stale cigarettes as it probably was a smoking room previously. Carpet and drapes stank. We ask for changed of room and the person said we cannot we will send someone up n spray the room. The personnel at the reception n concierge were terrible, when ask a question you will get different answers which was no help and had to go find out yourself. Location was good as its attached to the mall and right next to the sunway lagoon fun park but there is no pool at the hotel, if you want to swim you have to go next door to the resort. Hotel is not worth what you pay, for little bit extra I recommend you stay next door at the resort. 50% of the pictures showed on the hotel from booking sites are false, it is of the sunway resort. Will not return to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothappycustomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel offers spacious comfortable rooms.

Breakfast buffet offer plenty of choice.

The hotel is attached to a big shopping mall, where you can find plenty of restaurants and bars, very
convenient.

If you stay here to visit Kuala Lumpur I must side is quite far out (30 minutes).

Both for checking in and checking out I had to wait longer than I would say is acceptable. They have plenty of counters, but only 3 of them are open.

Because of the size of the it's not very personal, but all in all a good option to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear kooring,

Thank you for providing us with your review and firstly we would like to apologise for the inconvenience with the waiting time at our reception counter. We will be sure to share this with our management staff to see what can be done to improve our services.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you will return again for another stay in the future. Have a great week ahead!

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

complaints: electric kettle doesnt seem to work very well,bathroom door cant be locked or something is wrong with the door.i thought there would be morning newspaper delivered to the room but apparently i didnt realise that newspapers are placed at the concierge counter for pickup

compliments: good quality tea & coffee supplies, still provide stationery supplies, atrium cafe buffet breakfast good value with wide range of variety

These complaints hopefully will help Pyramid Tower to improve further

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teo2451991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear teo2451991,

We apologise for the inconvenience that you had faced during your stay with us. We will be sure to inform the necessary parties to help improve the facilities in the room. We thank you for highlighting your comments to us and your feedback is definitely appreciated.

Thank you again for your time in writing us this review and we hope you have a great week ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is part of the Sunway Lagoon & Resort complex. Although the hotel is has a good location with a large mall attached, it seems a bit old & tired and needs new life.

The furniture & furnishing & toilet fittings etc appear old and therefore the hotel seems to be expensive. The breakfast spread is wide and nice (you could see special section for the many visitors from middle-east). The service was a bit indifferent; slow.

Will wait for things to improve before i visit again.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the lagoon for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKelkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mohan K,

Thank you for providing us with your comments and feedback of your stay. We will be sure to share your insights with our management team to see what can be improved for our current and future guests of the Hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time in writing us this review and we hope to welcome you back soon. Take care and have a great week ahead!

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel . Azrain is a friendly proffesional . Love the place as it has themepark and big mall . Room are not that bad I really love it here . Breakfast is full of choices and all staff are always smiling especially reception

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 66233221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review! We are really happy to hear of your great review and stay with us. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us during your break and we hope that you will return again soon.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#13 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,276 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,068 reviews
4.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Pyramid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Property: Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia (Formerly Sunway Pyramid Hotel East)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Pyramid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sunway Pyramid Hotel features 564 Deluxe guestrooms and suites, incorporating new category of family rooms and suites. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel have direct access to the leisure facilities available at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, which includes the free-form landscape swimming pool and the fitness centre. Strategically located in a bustling suburb of Kuala Lumpur, the Sunway Pyramid Hotel is 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 25 minutes from the city centre. The hotel forms part of the iconic integrated development Sunway City, a multi-award winning destination that offers a cluster of three (3) hotels with a total of 1,433 guestrooms, suites and pool villas, a theme park and shopping mall. Sunway Pyramid Hotel also features 21 purpose-built family rooms and suites, designed to accommodate an increase in family and leisure travelers to Sunway City. The Family Room is suitable for those travelling with young children for its vibrant interiors and a bunk bed. Whereas the new Family Suite, are amongst the Hotel’s largest rooms offering comfortable spaces, with added extras like two (2) bathrooms, a mini refrigerator, a microwave and bedding options for up to six (6) persons. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel will be spoilt for choice when it comes to the extensive food and beverage available in the hotel and choices which are just steps away. At Sunway Pyramid Hotel, located at the hotel’s lobby level is Taste Enclave offering an exciting culinary landscape of 11 specially-selected food eateries and three mini restaurants. For those on-the-go or looking for a quick bite, Kaffeinate is located at the hotel’s main lobby, serves freshly brewed gourmet coffees, specialty teas and a range of light snacks. Alternatively, venture into Sunway Pyramid shopping mall for over 170 food and beverage choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Pyramid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing