We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is JUST average. The rooms are tired and ours wasn't clean, dust on top of wardrobe which was discovered when we removed our baggage and were overcome with it, don't think it has ever been cleaned. The dust build up around the edges of the worn, flat and badly stained carpet was also very evident. A sticking plaster was found attached to the bathroom vanity and all of this was our first impression of the room which was also quite small (10th floor). On the plus side the view was nice and the staff doing the room replaced all towels and amenities daily, great white thick fluffy towels! Breakfast was the usual selection of buffet food but sadly most of the guests abused this and the wastage was over the top, perhaps the hotel should look into this. Service was great and nothing too much problem for the unflappable staff. You can use the facilities of the Sunway Lagoon and Spa next door as the two properties are actually one but I would prefer to stay and the Lagoon which I've done so in the past. Didn't use the restaurants as there are plenty around the area and the huge mall which is attached has endless food outlets to choose from and plenty of shopping. Ive heard from a couple of sources that the internal facing rooms are to be avoided and found the noises carried. Beds are good and firm and the linen on them was fine. If not booked in by hosts mistake it would not be my choice of hotel for the future. It would pay to use the fixed price taxi service at the front of the mall, the saving on cost is almost double from hotel cabs.

Room Tip: Room on higher level gets view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sandy R,

Please accept our apologies for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. It is no excuse that you had to experience such poor service, especially in terms of cleanliness of the room, during your stay with us.

We thank you however for the positive mentions of our staff service and our amenities. We will surely improve further to perhaps one day impress you. Thank you for your valuable feedback to help improve our services better. Have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    450
    278
    94
    76
See reviews for
466
130
44
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Good size room that comfortably fit an extra bed. There's a lounge chair in room too. Front desk staff is good but staff attending to phone "service centre" is not so friendly.
Complimentary parking. We can use the nice resort-style swimming pool at sunway hotel next door. Overall we & kids enjoyed the stay :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PingAshlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear PingAshlyn,

It is great to hear of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for writing us this review! Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience with the service centre staff, we will be sure to provide your feedback to the management staff to initiate a re-training to our staff.

Thank you again for the lovely review and we hope that you will return again for another stay soon!

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for a night. It was a very last minute plan & managed to secure a gd deal from laterooms.com. Overall, I am very impressed with the staff's working attitude, very consistent in rendering
their service. Rooms are pretty tired but clean. I was in a hurry when make the booking & didn't realise the room I selected were with no view. Not much of a prob coz we spent the whole day out in the huge mall where you can find everything you need under one roof. For those who are frequent-goer to KL can simply skip KL city as the mall has almost everything you need or perhaps it will be completed if h&m is included there. Definitely would make a comeback as the kids love it there!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear enay e,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m guessing that your last visit with us has been a while because Sunway Pyramid Shopping Mall now carries H&M as well as many more new outlets such as Superdry and Factorie!

Just let us know when you’re coming back and we will be very happy to arrange for your next visit. Have a great weekend ahead!

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel is great, but transport is a bit of a problem. Can't blame the hotel for that. In general, the taxi service in KL is horrible. The taxi drivers don't know the town, and they don't know GPS. I took a taxi to a well know condominium at Bukit OUG, a journey which normally takes 15 minutes, took the driver 90 minutes to find it!!! I paid a fixed fare of 45 RM to the hotel for its limousine, and the fella doesn't where to find the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank daimaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear daimaou,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for providing us with this review despite the inconvenience with the taxi services when you were here. We hope that your stay with us was pleasurable and that you will consider us in the future for another stay. Until then, have a great weekend and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in this Hotel in May 2014 for 2 nights on a stop over back home to Australia. The location adjacent to the enormous Mall is fabulous and also the theme park was worth a look. Plenty of food choices in the Mall also. Breakfast was great in the Hotel, there seemed to be lots of variety of food. The only issue we had was that the walls were not sound proof and so on both nights we had noisy neighbours, could even hear the TV, and also people going to their rooms late at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BayWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear BayWanderes,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Pyramid Tower Hotel. It was wonderful to have you around and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of your comments in regards to sound proofing in the rooms and have shared this with the management staff to consider improving in the near future.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Feb14 for 4 nights, and for 1-2N/wk fr end May2014. I had experienced twice when neighbours were still making noise at 11.30pm.
In 1st incident, room had at least 4 persons,2nd incident there were 6-7 kids.
In the 2nd incident, hotel send the security to check only after reporting twice (~11.40pm). When I rang a 3rd time in less than 5 mins after the 2nd call to report a stranger knocking on my door, the operator did not let me finish my sentence and raised his voice at me "already sent...".
Clearly not suitable for business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Lynn C,

We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience faced during your stay with us. It is clear that we will require to provide more training to our staff to respond better to the situation. We thank you for your feedback and providing us with your review.

If you have any further comments on your stay with us, please contact me at christinabarlet@sunwayhotels.com and I would be happy to speak to you and learn more of your stay. Thank you again for your time and have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful & big. Conveniently located next to the huge shopping mall & theme park.

We were initially given a room with King bed which the safe did not work. We needed an extra bed but it would make moving around the room impossible. Thus was given a change to a room with 2 twin bed. This room was much more spacious, able to sleep our family of 2 adults & 2 children quite comfortably.

The shower pressure was strong but the aircon thermostat was not working, making the room freezing cold. As we were hardly in the room during the day, we forgot to call the technician to repair.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear LizzyHo,

Thank you very much for writing us this review and we apologise for the inconvenience that you had faced during your stay with us. Your feedback is important and we have raised it to the management staff to ensure that the rooms are maintained to avoid any other issues like yours to arise.

Thank you again for your time in writing us this review and we hope that you will return again for another stay in the future.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#13 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
4.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Pyramid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Property: Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia (Formerly Sunway Pyramid Hotel East)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#5 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Pyramid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sunway Pyramid Hotel features 564 Deluxe guestrooms and suites, incorporating new category of family rooms and suites. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel have direct access to the leisure facilities available at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, which includes the free-form landscape swimming pool and the fitness centre. Strategically located in a bustling suburb of Kuala Lumpur, the Sunway Pyramid Hotel is 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 25 minutes from the city centre. The hotel forms part of the iconic integrated development Sunway City, a multi-award winning destination that offers a cluster of three (3) hotels with a total of 1,433 guestrooms, suites and pool villas, a theme park and shopping mall. Sunway Pyramid Hotel also features 21 purpose-built family rooms and suites, designed to accommodate an increase in family and leisure travelers to Sunway City. The Family Room is suitable for those travelling with young children for its vibrant interiors and a bunk bed. Whereas the new Family Suite, are amongst the Hotel’s largest rooms offering comfortable spaces, with added extras like two (2) bathrooms, a mini refrigerator, a microwave and bedding options for up to six (6) persons. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel will be spoilt for choice when it comes to the extensive food and beverage available in the hotel and choices which are just steps away. At Sunway Pyramid Hotel, located at the hotel’s lobby level is Taste Enclave offering an exciting culinary landscape of 11 specially-selected food eateries and three mini restaurants. For those on-the-go or looking for a quick bite, Kaffeinate is located at the hotel’s main lobby, serves freshly brewed gourmet coffees, specialty teas and a range of light snacks. Alternatively, venture into Sunway Pyramid shopping mall for over 170 food and beverage choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunway Pyramid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing