We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My friend and i booked a Deluxe Twin room. The stay was not bad as the staffs are friendly and the check in was smooth. When we entered the room we checked for any defects just in case we want to have a room move, but we couldn't find any.

The beds are comfy and soft. We were totally knocked out and slept off till the wee hours.

Since we took the room with breakfast included, we went down early as we want to try out the breakfast menu. Their breakfast is nice as they have wide varieties from nasi lemak to croquettes, to quiche to sandwiches. Surprisingly, the food for breakfast is good as usually most hotels have average or tasteless breakfast.

All in all we had a great time as we were finding the hotel to relax. Therefore it definitely suited me and my friend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mogana91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Greetings Mogana91,

Thank you for your kind review and the great feedback on your delightful stay.

We are truly glad you appreciated the facilities the hotel has to offer and sharing your positive stay experience here.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Sharon K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Checking in was a breeze. Room was average. Discoloured wallpaper but most of all I was surprised the carpet was dusty and dirty. The only great thing about this hotel is the location, nearby Sunway Pyramid since I was attending concert there. The manager/chauffeur at the lobby was friendly. He helped to flag down and make some calls to provide taxi for us. Only downside the front desk couldn't recognise me as one of the guest at the hotel when I needed to use printing room. He kept asking me repeatedly which room I was staying at and glancing suspiciously. I was annoyed until the manager/chauffeur came to assist me instead. Breakfast was also average. Few choices nothing to scream about.

Room Tip: Choose high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ShafinazMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Greetings Shafinaz Mink,

Many sincere thanks for your valued feedback. We have taken in your comments regarding our front desk service requiring improvement and we regret to have fallen short of your expectations. Your valuable comments on your experience will definitely assist us in improving and maintaining the quality of our services and standards.

The hotel is currently undergoing renovations to deliver a newer and more updated product which is being done phase by phase and is expected to complete end 2015.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you better.

Best regards,
Sharon K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is a bit old but it doesn't show much inside the rooms. We got a room on the 17th floor; it was quiet, the Internet speed was good.

There's an LRT train station within walking distance.

Small issue; no remote control for the AC (centralized AC) which made it a bit difficult to play around with the room temperature.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Naseeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Greetings Naseeh,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your valuable comments will definitely assist us in improving and maintaining the quality of our services and standards.

We are glad though that overall, you managed to enjoy your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
Sharon K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

pros: light rail station is right across the road - 3-5 min walk. can get metered budget taxi. room was spacious. bathroom was alrite.
Average: Room was spacial but lobby had a damp smell. Ordered food via room service, its was just ok. for the given price better is expected. Reception staff was good. Some problem in connecting to wifi but once it got connected it worked fine.
Cons: the staff at the gate for calling taxi was not that responsive. Generally they were busy talking among themselves and ignored customer. you have to approach them ask for cab.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relbmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Greetings relbmar!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your valuable comments will definitely assist us in improving and maintaining the quality of our services and standards.

We are glad that you had an overall good stay but sorry to hear about your experience in obtaining a taxi at the hotel lobby. Please accept our sincerest apology for their behaviour and we shall ensure the respective department is informed and learn from this.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Sharon K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It was a difficult time for us. Our mom was recently admitted for an emergency surgery and the last thing we wanted was to also deal with crazy logistics. So we decided to check in at the Armada at the last minute.

Since we didn't know how long the surgery would take, we initially booked for two nights via the reservations team. No hassles then and we managed to get one of the nicer rooms, the Premier Deluxe with Breakfast included. Two days passed and since mom continued to be under strict observations, dad decided to extend a couple more days. The arrangements made with the reservations team again went without a hitch. This arrangement kept on being extended and we ended up staying at the establishment for a total of 13 nights.

Deserving a mention is especially the reservations team - we were alternately attended by both Rubycca and Vijaya and we must say that the level of service that we received from them were commendable. They came across as friendly, professional, caring and naturally understanding especially when we conveyed the situation we were in. They went out of their way to ensure that we could focus on getting our mom the best medical (and our own fullest) attention. Keep it up, ladies and our sincerest of thanks for all the assistance you provided us!

As for the hotel, we wouldn't have given it a second thought had we not been in this situation since we live pretty close by. But it was indeed a pleasant surprise. The room was clean, with comfortable beds and wifi available. Breakfast was good but perhaps a wider selection would have been better especially if you have long-stay guests.

The hotel is situated along the Federal Highway, the main drag to get to Subang Airport or Kuala Lumpur. It's also across the LRT station - which is about 5-10 minutes walk depending on your pace - that can get you to KL with no hassle. You do have to cross a super-busy street during peak hours to get to the station on foot though. Otherwise, other means of public transportation are a-plenty (especially cabs - but we advise to go for the blue cabs as they are more professional).

Currently, the hotel also faces a construction site, if that bothers you. But it didn't really bother us as we were there just to freshen up and sleep. It was not a big deal for us.

Oh, by the way, If you're tired of hotel food, there are some local restaurants across the highway which you can also explore on foot. But remember, the keyword is LOCAL : read small-ish, not the michelin kind of restaurants but you can get really cheap local food. But if you go the opposite direction from the hotel, you can get some good Japanese, Chinese, Western, Fast Food options. Just ask the hotel to direct you to the Jaya 33 area. (5 minutes by cab, 15-20 minutes on foot).

If you need a good option of hotels in Petaling Jaya, do consider the Armada. We also hope that the hotel will keep the service and quality standards up to par in the future too as we feel that they are doing quite a good job right now.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AbraCaBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Greetings AbraCaBling!

We hope your mother is recovering well and would like to wish her a speedy recovery. We are truly glad to learn that our reservations team namely Rubycca and Vijaya assisted you the way they did thus providing you with the ease of mind to concentrate on your mother's treatment during that difficult period.

The team were very grateful for your kind comments which most definitely helps inspire them to continuously provide friendly, courteous and professional service to all our guests.

Thank you again for your complimentary review and do take care.

Best regards,
Sharon K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the Light Rail Station & 10 minutes walk to local good breakfast. When I need a taxi, the hotels' red and white cabs refuse to turn on their meter and charges a flat RM30. I felt cheated when a metered ride cost me RM10! Very unprofessionnal. The door men are busy talking, open doors with your shoulders because your hands are full with food and shopping.
Mr. Siruss is very helpful at the front desk. The air-conditioners as freezing in both our rooms and the control only allows low, medium, high. The temperature dial is just a display piece.
We chose the perfect service of the Blue taxis which costs less than the hotel's supposedly cheaper red&white cabs

Room Tip: Choose room numbers 01 to 06 so you dont be bothered by the noisy trains from 6 a.m. And leave the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Janelooi,

We are very sorry to have learnt of the challenges you faced with the red and white taxis. We would however just like to point out that the taxis you mentioned are completely independent of the hotel thus not managed by the hotel. In future, perhaps the concierge might call and book a taxi for you instead to ensure the taxis are always on the meter. As for the behaviour of the door men, please accept our sincerest apology as this behaviour is not reflective of our usual standards of service which is why we are always grateful for feedback from our guests so we can ensure the respective department is informed and learn from this.

Thank you for your compliment of Siruss as he will be delighted to hear he was of assistance to you during your stay and we look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Sharon K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've been patronising this hotel for more than 3 years whenever I'm in town for work and it has maintained the great service level over the years. What I like about the hotel is the helpful front desk staff & great soft pillow with comfortable bed for a good night sleep after a stressful day. There is wifi/broadband available in room as well as a big LCD with quite a good selection of channels. Breakfast however remains pretty much predictable and hope diffefent varieties to be introduced. Location wise it is right next to the Federal Highway and opposite to the LRT station.An ideal place to stay for those who travels to city centre in the day and rushing to Subang airport in the next morning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Greetings Dennis K,

Thank you for your kind review and loyal support of the Armada. It is always fantastic to receive great feedback on our's guest's delightful stay.

We are truly glad you appreciated the facilities the hotel has to offer and sharing your positive stay experience here.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Sharon K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
3.4 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,199 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya

Address: Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya Lorong utara C, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: £40 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the buzzing heart of Petaling Jaya, Hotel Armada gives you the opportunity to feel and enjoy the tranquility and inner peace of the city – the inner soul of Petaling Jaya. Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya is among the finest 4 star hotel in Petaling Jaya. Situated next to the Federal Highway, Hotel Armada gives you the extra vibe with its 5 minutes walk to the Asia Jaya LRT station. Hop on a bus or taxi just directly opposite the hotel and find your way around town easily, be it the Business District, Industrial Zone, Food Heaven or Shopping Mall Giants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing