We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is Fine, Some Other Reviews are Not Really True”

Shah's Village Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shah's Village Hotel
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Reviewed 22 February 2013

To write this review I will respond using the points made in another travelers recent reviews. This is a locally owned hotel and very close to LRT.

1. Hotel has non functioning wifi. -- Yes, it does. The lobby has the best reception. In my room it was hit or miss, but most of the time I had no trouble logging into email and FB.

2. Hotel has lousy selection of food. The food is forced upon all patrons. -- How is food forced on people? There is a restaurant, but you can take a 3-minute walk to the mall for local restaurants, starbucks and subway. Breakfast is free and it is adequate: toast, eggs, potatoes, fruit and 100% juice, etc.

3. Ants infestation and cockroaches crawling in the room.-- Yes, there are a few small, non-biting ants. If you are any kind of traveler at all you know ants are always present in tropical locations. Not a big deal. No cockroaches. If you leave food out in a tropical climate, cockroaches of course will arrive. I always place my food garbage in the fridge.

4. Overpriced rates. -- My company paid for the room.

5. No bellboy. -- Not true. I arrived at 5 am and a bell boy carried my very heavy suitcase and I did not have to tip.

6. Swimming pool doesn't seem to be in functioning condition. -- Not true. The swimming pool is the best part of the hotel and is large and beautiful.

7. No visible dustbin in the hotel. -- Not true. The dustbin is in your room and the size of a large ice bucket. The maid empties it every day.

9. Dirty rooms, hotel attendant didn't clear up the room properly when we came in. -- Not true. The room was plenty clean. The walls do have some dirt.

10. There are bedbugs! -- Not true. The building is antiquated, but the sofa, mattress and pillows were new. No bedbugs.

11. The staffs were extremely rude & impolite. -- Not true. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

12. The carpet is old. -- Yes, but the floor of the rooms is wood and not carpet.

13. No hot water. -- Not true. I had plenty of hot water.

*Rooms have a balcony and are spacious. This is not a romantic getaway place, just a place to spend the night or relax by the pool.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 208.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Goddess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Shah's Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

I won't recommend this at all. The room is smelly & unclean! There's even cockroaches crawling in the room. There are bedbugs! The toilet is not cleaned properly. We had to wait for half an hour for the room to be available though it is already 3 pm. There are dirty plates at the corner of the staircase. It is really dirty. The staffs were extremely rude & impolite. Please strike this from your list.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YanaAzlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

1. Hotel has non functioning wifi.

2. Hotel has lousy selection of food. The food is forced upon all patrons.

3. Ants infestation.

4. Overpriced rates.

5. No bellboy

6. Swimming pool doesnt seem to be in functioning condition.

7. No visible dustbin in the hotel

8. No facilities

9. Dirty rooms, hotel attendant didnt clear up the room properly when we came in

Room Tip: Check your room x a million times.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarsMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stay here a lot because of work. I should really rate it "poor" but you know what, there are some things about it that keep me coming back. Here's a list of pros and cons so you can decide for yourself.

Pros:
1. Incredibly near to Taman Jaya LRT station. Literally, 1 minute's walk away.
2. Amcorp Mall is across the street. It's a got a really cool weekend flea market and Bookexcess, a very nice, affordable bookstore.
3. It's got a swimming pool.
4. The rooms are really big. You can fit 3, 4 people in there, no problem.
5. It's way ess than RM200 a night.
6. It's really easy to get to my office from there.
7. It's not too far from the city centre (by LRT) and to shopping malls like Midvalley, One Utama and Ikano.

Cons:
1. It's old and mildewy.
2. If you're unlucky, you might get put in a room next to the night clubs next door. Good luck trying to sleep.
3. Quite a few people have had the dreaded bed bug experience. Ew.
4. It needs upgrading and renovating.
5. Some rooms smell.
6. The staff can be quite indifferent to your needs.

Overall, it has every potential to be a very pleasant hotel but no effort is being put into making it so. It must've been very nice in its heyday.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms farther away from the night clubs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynfulwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Definitely not like what you see on their hotel website. The rooms are old 80's style and smells awful. The front desk staff was extremely rude and very very unhelpful. All it has is location-close to Amcorp mall. Apart from that, if you want to be infected with germs from the air and get cancer from second hand smoking then you'll stay there.

Room Tip: Don't stay here-not worth your money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishSmiles84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Could be lovely but in desperate need of some renovations. Loved the lounge and foyer decor but the room was shabby and in desperate need of a facelift. Staff were rude and unhelpful. Breakfast was poor with little choice. Decent location near to train station and 5 mins walk to Amcorp Mall.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JilOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Shah is a nice hotel only minutes walk from the rapid transit station from where you can get to all of KL for next to nothing in fares. Its in a pleasant suburb and is quiet and friendly with a lovely courtyard and pool. The hotel could probably do with a bit of renovation but its clean and comfortable and very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captainkit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#19 of 47 in Petaling Jaya
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
0.8 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 47 in Petaling Jaya
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 47 in Petaling Jaya
1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Strawberry Fields
Hotel Strawberry Fields
#16 of 47 in Petaling Jaya
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
#9 of 47 in Petaling Jaya
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shah's Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shah's Village Hotel

Address: Shah's Village Hotel 3-5 Lorong Sultan, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: £28 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shah's Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shah's Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing