We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Worth the drive.”
Review of One World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One World Hotel
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay. Worth the drive.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for a week in this hotel with a friend of mine and we had a blast. I didn't know where it was located since my friend went there first but I found it easily enough although it was my first time in that area. It was a looong drive from the airport though and I thought I was going to get lost but eventually found myself at the hotel.

I arrived after midnight and the staff on duty discreetly asked me which room I was going to. Wasn't obtrusive or anything. There was nothing extra spectacular about the rooms - good size, clean, modern, complete - but their beds are actually very comfortable. The bathrooms are also huge and I liked that. Also, they stock up on all toiletries all the time - we had to tell them to not bring too much at one point, I think.

Service is consistent and very warm. Although there was an incident where my friend complained about one of the morning receptionists who didn't want to help her get a cab and the GM actually apologized to her after she sent an email and we were given handmade chocolates complimentary of the hotel! That was pretty decent.

They have a good selection of food for their breakfast buffet which we ate at the hotel. No complaints there. And the best part is, if you wanted to eat something else, the hotel is right beside a mall where you can go and get anything you can need so it's very convenient that way.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Definitely good value for what we paid for. Good job.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneWorldHotelPJ, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad that everything was in order and overall, you had a blast with us. We truly regret the negative impression reflected on this occasion as it is not the standard that we have set to achieve for our guest and will make every effort to improve our service level. Thank you for your kind recommendation of the hotel to other TripAdvisor travelers despite the incident mentioned. Should you require any assistance in arranging for another memorable stay, we are just an e-mail or phone call away. Looking forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    482
    126
    34
    42
See reviews for
343
118
54
474
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I been staying in One World Hotel on 27 Jul'14. Overall feel on this hotel is good , staff friendly , room clean. This a great hotel , as link to the shopping centre One Utama. Buffer breakfast good , have a lot of variety (indian , japanese....)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cychia82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneWorldHotelPJ, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments. The team and I appreciate the time taken to share your experience and we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed the stay . We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back shall your travels bring you to Petaling Jaya. Till then, take care and have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Mostly good service and comfortable rooms. Next door to 1 Utama mall where there are lots of restaurants, shops, cinemas, etc. It is a good location if you want to stay in Petaling Jaya but probably not ideal if you are coming as a tourist and you want to spend most of your time in KL.
Breakfast offers a good variety of western and Asian foods.
The hotel has a good Japanese restaurant and normally a great buffet dinner (but avoid during Ramadan if you don't want to be fighting for your food)
Good swimming pool and spa.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CCMKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneWorldHotelPJ, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred destination. It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us on this occasion. We hope that the stay has been memorable to encourage you to return for another stay in the future. Thank you again for the wonderful review and looking forward to welcoming you back. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Well if your purpose is do some light shopping and relax and stay away from the city this would be an ideal place. With the newly renovated One Utama shopping mall being certainly one of the biggest in all of Malaysia, you could go ahead and either do light shopping as I mentioned during any of the festive seasons or you can go bizarre with all the branded outlets within the mall! It is also an ideal place to lay low and relax while staying away from the busy lifestyle in KL as it is away from the City. Though it is located away it is easily reachable by buses and taxi's as you land from the airports. (Not directly for buses but of course with a small transit through KL Sentral)

For being located next to one of the most congested highways during peak hours (LDP) it is surprisingly quiet.

The interior of the hotel is a very modern grand one with large open lounges, which welcomes you with cosy and warm welcoming arms. Friendly staff though some may be a bit pre occupied with their own work at times mostly at the reception area. (Nothing unusual) The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and I have no complaints about the price range on that for one of the best and top hotels.

The buffets are a bit disorganized at times and the variety of food may be limited if you are really expecting local cuisine. has a lovely open area as well as an enclosed area for dining from, which you may choose according to your requirement.

If you are expecting good nightlife, "The Roof" as the name mentions located at the rooftop area of the mall would be quite a lovely option.

These being said I would say it's well worth your money if you are planning to settle in a quiet area for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahankekiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneWorldHotelPJ, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a detailed review provided. We are delighted that overall, you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and your comments have been relayed to our team to ensure more efficiency in the future. Should you ever decide to return for another stay, please do let us know and it will be our biggest pleasure to assist and welcome you back for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I keep coming back to this hotel. Friendly staff. Clean and big rooms. Great facilities. Strategic location. Connected to a shopping mall. What more can you ask for? Although, definitely a little bit on the pricier side.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneWorldHotelPJ, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your continuous support is appreciated and to receive compliments for your return visit means a lot to us. It was a pleasure to host your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon! Til then, take care and have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My brother in law had bought the Elite membership coupon and was entitled to a nice upgrade.

The staff at the Peridot club were most accommodating and welcoming.

The restaurants were off good standard.

We'll definitely be returning to the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sri Ganesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneWorldHotelPJ, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from one world hotel! It was a great pleasure welcoming you and we thank you for taking the time in writing us this review. We hope that we impressed you enough to convince you to return for another stay. Should you need any assistance in arranging for your next stay, please do let us know and we will be very happy to assist and accommodate. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions. The fact that I returned meant that it's always a pretty good stay each time. The hotel is connected to one utama mall, so you don't need to even get out if the area if you are just having a short holiday. Buses from KLIA2 goes straight to the hotel, so no tori blessing transfers or expensive taxi rides. The hotel has pretty good service compared to some other experiences I had in KL. The gym and pool is pretty good too , not too crowded. The breakfast is also good. However , if I have a complain, it is regarding the breakfast. I notice the staff do not replace all the fork, knife, spoon or cups. I asked for a coffee, and the waiter too a cup from the next table? Whom they have just cleared and left that one cup on , as they assume it has not been used. I also see one spoon, or one knife left on the table after they have cleared the table. Maybe others won't mind, but I certainly am not comfortable udon a cup that has been left on someone else's table. Granted its a long weekend and they were pretty packed, also maybe it is normal for restaurants to reused some of these unused cutleries or cups , but to show that to the guest is a no no. Other than this, it has been a. Pretty good stay everytime. I will be back if I visit KL again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keithlhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneWorldHotelPJ, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and being a loyal patron to our brand. We are happy that your stays with us have always been comfortable and enjoyable however, please accept our deepest apologies in regards to the incident mentioned during your recent stay and be rest assured that we are looking into it this matter to further improve on our services. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royale Chulan Damansara
Royale Chulan Damansara
#8 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
453 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan The Curve
Royale Chulan The Curve
#31 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Hotel

Property: One World Hotel
Address: First Avenue | Bandar Utama city centre, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — One World Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star One World Hotel is located in the heart of Petaling Jaya and is adjoined to 1 Utama Shopping Centre. It offers 438 luxurious guestrooms and 7 food & beverage outlets, with facilities such as fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your One World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 World Hotel
Hotel One World
One World Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing