We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekends away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The resort is on the west coast of Malaysia, near a river with mangroves, so don’t expect blue water as the river is constantly feeding the ocean. You can swim in the water but why would you when there is a very serviceable infinity pool at the resort.
The accommodation is a variety of huts over the water, each with their own balcony, generally facing the ocean. We stayed in a two bedroom villa and it was fantastic. Be advised though that the main buildings are in some cases at least a kilometre from the huts so you will need to grab a push bike to get around. The resort was being renovated while we were there and we were advised that there are plans for a new beach pool, upgraded restaurant facilities and gym. If the new reception area, unveiled while we were there, is an indication of the new facilities, then they will be impressive. The resort is close to nothing so it’s a perfect place to chill, read a book, sun yourself and just relax. It’s a good hour bus trip to KL and at least 45 minutes from the airport so you will need to plan any day trips. The bus is on time every time and it was convenient, so we recommend using it for a day trip to KL for shopping or sightseeing. The resort is child friendly and the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We had massages (go for the traditional Malaysian) and ate at every restaurant. Everything was great and we even ventured out to the local stalls (not for the faint hearted) thankfully my partner spoke some Malay and that got us through. Due to the remoteness of the resort once you are there, you are there. So unless you want to go extreme bike riding, Go carting or use some of the beach facilities, there is nothing else to do. My suggestion is this is a 3 or 4 day experience before checking out the rest of the country. Overall a nice relaxing stay, a special thanks to all the staff and Thomas for their attentive service.

Check out our review here :
http://blogg.girlsweekendsaway.com.au/blogg/girls_weekends_away_in-victoria/golden-palm-tree-iconic-resort-and-spa-renamed-the-avani-sepang-goldcoast-resort/

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to announce that we had ended our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your vacation at our Iconic Resort. We strike for the best in all the details that matter to our guests, and it is such pleasant to know that you experience the best moment at our resort. We hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,722)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,573 - 2,579 of 2,722 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We did not have big expectations due mixed reviews red about the resort, but It turned out, that this was the best holiday we ever had. The villas were very comfortable, with nice ocean view, all staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smith_Doha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor and pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay at our Iconic Resort. Your gratitude will be shared with all the associates. We are looking forward to welcome you back anytime soon.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I'm from Kuala Lumpur.Dine in at one of the Chinesse Restaurant during Chinesse New Year Eve,The Food was AWESOME and FRESH!!.Special Shout out to Mr.Wong and Ms.Jophy for the wonderfull service,displayed truly 1 Malaysia.Will come again soon!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AdamMubarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your optimistic feedback on Tripadvisor. Glad that you enjoyed your dinner at our Hang Sai Lou restaurant, we offered the best continental cuisine in the resort. Your positive feedback will definitely be shared with Mr. Wong and Ms. Jophy. We hope to welcome you back and let you experience the best of our food and beverages.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a lovely large, family villa, we got upgraded from the traveller palm villa. Stay is really good and the room is spacious, clean, and comfortable with a nice ocean view.
Lovely dinner at stimboat restaurant serviced by Wong, being so friendly and helpful.
We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasakoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for staying with our Iconic Resort and your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We are now had ended our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. Glad to know that you enjoyed your holiday at the resort. We hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were pretty apprehensive about the trip after some reviews but it turned out to be one of the best holiday experience in Malaysia.
The entrance at the hotel give a sense of good security, The check-in (reached at 7+pm) was seamless. the staffs were polite and helpful.
The family villa was ideal - for 2 teenage kids and us. Comfortable bed with ample pillows. We all loved the smell of the shower gel - lemongrass which gave us the spa feel. The kettle is super new and clean, we had time for complimentary blockbusters, laze around in the night with the cool balcony for a game of "dai di"..

Getting around the premise was easy, buggy is frequent, bicycles are everywhere for you to get around. All the beach activities are complimentary! beach volley, beach soccer, table tennis, paracycle, canoe, hammock, pool at beach... tons of fun!
We paid for a game of paintball, go-cart and ATV.. but anything to make us happy and fulfilled.

Breakfast is good.. good variety and to cater for some many tourists, I'd say the service staffs did their utmost best to please everyone.

They wash the pool periodically but my hubby got rashes from the pool. Not complaining but he is pretty sensitive, perhaps due to the renovation at the second level.

Overall, it was a great memorable trip! thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to announce that we had ended our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your vacation at our Iconic Resort. Glad to know that you had fun with our leisure activities and our F&B spread. Your compliment feedback will be shared among our associates to keep them inspired. Kindly gives us a call prior to your next visit and let you experience the best stay at our Iconic Resort.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

having a great time there, especially for our Chines New Year reunion dinner. A bit upset when the dinner wasnt at Hai Shang Lou as it suppose to be (at the Ballroom) but the service provided by the team, still at their best. Services from Mr.Wong and Ms.Jophy make us enjoy our dinner a smooth and memorable one. And the quality of the food is marvelous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikAliah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Glad to announce that we had ended our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. The new clubhouse consists of Hai Sang Lou, Bila Bila, Buloh Bar, AVANI Spa and Lobby areas are now fully operated. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay and your Chinese New Year reunion dinner here at our Iconic Resort. Your positive feedback will be shared with Mr. Wong and Ms. Jophy. Looking forward to welcome you back and kindly gives us a call prior to your next visit and let you experience the new facilities.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic week here with our kids 16 and 14 through deals.com. Everybody loved the resort and way too many things to mention but particularly the personalized welcome, reception staff, turn-down service at night, on-site spa ( 8 complimentary treatments),pool, beach activities and wonderful food. The renovations and improvements happening ,which will make it even better, had minimum impact. Food selection was amazing particularly the breakfast buffet - included in the deal. Everyone was friendly and helpful no matter what their job and special mention to Hisam,Mega,Kumari,Airil and Zackry in "Sepoi Sepoi".
2 highlights were the tours we did with Sindi the resort guide. His knowledge of the surrounding villages, people, nature and waterways, his friendliness and politeness were brilliant. A true asset to the resort.
We miss it every day and definitely would return and hope to.Thanks also to Thomas the resort manager for the cocktail evening and help and explanations about the resort and the plans for it's future - it will be even bigger and better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your time in writing a feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to announce that we had ended our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. Glad to find that you had fun and enjoyed every day of your vacation at our Iconic Resort. Your thoughtful feedback will be shared among the associates to keep them inspired. We look forward to welcome you back and kindly give us a call prior to your next visit and let you experience the best stay with us.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
8.2 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,204 reviews
12.0 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,454 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
8.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
521 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 14 in Sepang
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range: £69 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing