We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and a very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Shah Alam
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Excellent service and a very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I too wasn't expecting much from the hotel when I checked in as it was a Holiday Inn; however, I was absolutely impressed with the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. They really couldn't have been more helpful, and it was just so pleasant to feel like I was really being looked after.

The hotel itself was also quite nice. It has been renovated, and I really appreciated the proximity to various restaurants.

I definitely recommend to book an executive club room if possible as it gives more access to the lounge and more great service.

Room Tip: Book an executive club room as they have free breakfast in the morning, cocktails/snacks in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    234
    106
    26
    17
See reviews for
109
89
44
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Set right on a beautiful golf complex this is not your typical Holiday Inn. Rooms are very modern and every time I've come I've had a golf course view. Service is excellent as well as the breakfast buffet. The only minor complaint is that some of the corridors / elevators could use a bit of work. It is in the outskirts so not the ideal place if coming to visit Kuala Lumpur and wanted to spend a lot of time downtown, but as a quick and very reasonable weekend golf getaway it is superb!

Room Tip: Golf course view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Glenmarie Hotel, because we had a morning flight from Subang Airport (Sultan Aziz). The hotel is nearby the airport; the taxi ride to the airport took only 15 minutes.

The hotel is easily accessible by public transport. We went by komutertrain from Kuala Lumpur Sentral to Subang Jaya. From this station, you have to take a taxi for about 10 mins. Do not pay more then 10 MYR, because it’s only a 4 kilometres drive away. The taxi drivers at the train station were not willing to do it for 10 MYR, but just walk a couple meters to the main street and stop a taxi. They’ll do it for 10 (actual cost 6,5 MYR).

Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. I really appreciated the extra complimentary service the hotel offered us: we could leave our suitcase at the hotel for a couple of days till we came back from our island trip. It saved us some money, because a locker at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport would have cost us 240 MYR.

There is a cosy atmosphere in the lobby, especially when the piano is played. There is a relaxing pool with an artificial waterfall in the background.

We slept at the executive wing which lays almost on the golf course. It’s a pleasant view to see the golf players trying a hole-in-one . Our room was good, bathroom reasonably sized with bathtub. Although the bathroom was a bit dark: dark tiles and dim lightning.

Due to our morning check-out, we didn’t took breakfast. We only bought some pastries at the bar, which tasted very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timvh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I've stayed in this Executive club part of this hotel on two occasions and the service has always been excellent. The club room provides breakfast, refreshments during the day, and alcoholic drinks from 5.30pm to 8.00pm. It's also a great place to relax after a day visiting customers.

Both times we've eaten in the Kites restaurant and eaten from the buffet. On the last trip which was during the Ramadan period they had a huge buffet which included Arabic, Chinese, Thai, Malay and other dishes which was a great way of exploring the various options.

The hotel is located on a gold course and would provide an good location for anyone who wanted to play the course.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are worth the extra when you consider the free evening drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterokUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Had to go out of the rather inconvenient SZB airport, but coming up to this after the long cabride from KLIA was a nice treat! It really has a resort-y feel that you don't feel at all Holiday Inn's. Great bed, great room, and super-nice front desk staff. Wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Good and clean room but
I don’t like this hotel because many reasons the first is far from anything like restaurants, entertainments and few taxi are available and are costly because belonging to the hotel
Second internet is costly and not free
Third no Entertainment in the hotel and the hotel is boring and depressing for my family

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mssameeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear mssameeh2000,

As always we are glad to read feedback from one of our valued guests. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for falling short of your expectations during your recent stay. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

First time to Malaysia and first time stay at the Holiday Inn. Great hotel if you are into golf as the course is just next door. My husband played every day (Mon - Fri) with his golfing buddies who have been going to this hotel for the past 5/6 years (weekends is more expensive as the members play. Also great holiday if you just want to relax and chill out. From the moment you arrive the staff take great care of you and make you feel very welcome and relaxed. Whilst the hotel is away from the city, there is a complimentary shuttle that goes in on weekends and the train system is also very easy to use and inexpensive. Alternatively taxis are available right outside to take you wherever you need to go and are reasonably priced. I used all of them, I don't play golf. Rooms are nice and clean and there is a gym at the golf club that is included in the price. Breakfast is awesome and was made especially nice due to a lovely young lady named Soniya. After only one day she remembered my preferred coffee and each day it was served within minutes of me arriving. As well as being very efficient, she spoke very good english and her customer service skills excellent. A lovely hotel to stay in for golfers and non golfers alike.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony offer a great view of the golf course. Better when they play night golf as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shah Alam
2.1 mi away
Acappella Suite Hotel & Residences
3.7 mi away
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
#1 of 27 in Shah Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kuala Lumpur City Centre
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN i-City Shah Alam
1.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Subang
Dorsett Grand Subang
#1 of 10 in Subang Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie

Property: Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
Address: 1 Jalan Usahawan U1/8 | Seksyen U1, Shah Alam 40150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Shah Alam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Shah Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie is the only international hotel in Shah Alam with sprawling 450 acres of landscape neighbouring to Glenmarie Golf and Country Club. Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie is a tranquil retreat 3 km from Shah Alam, 35 km from central Kuala Lumpur, and 45 minutes drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. We're a convenient base for business in Shah Alam, Petaling Jaya, Subang and Port Klang. All rooms are tastefully appointed overlooking the golf course. The hotel has 260 guestrooms, an Executive Club Wing with private lounge, 6 food & beverage outlets, business centre, 24-hour room service, complimentary shuttle service, Olympic sized swimming pool and wireless internet. The hotel offers 14 fully equipped meeting rooms and 2 impressive ballrooms with space for up to 500 guests makes us a good choice for corporate meetings, weddings and team building activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie Hotel Shah Alam
Holiday Inn Shah Alam
Shah Alam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing