We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, terrible lifts!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Hotel Subang
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, terrible lifts!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is a good find if you need to stay in this part of time. The location is great, slap bang on top of a very good shopping mall with loads of places to eat and drink within a stones throw. The rooms are huge, the beds comfortable, the TV selection great, food great but my goodness the lifts!! There are only two lifts and they take FOREVER!! If you need to enter or leave the hotel make sure you leave massive amounts of time to do so as the experience is painstaking. Such a shame as this hotel ticks every other box particularly the "has extremely helpful, friendly staff" one. Just a shame about the lifts, which sounds trivial but believe me that's all you'll remember too unless they do something to solve the issue.

Room Tip: Chose a low floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiddleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear MiddleM,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We have taken note and will take the necessary steps to prevent any similar re-occurrences.

Should your travel plan brings you back to Subang, we will be delighted to arrange your requirement.

We look forward welcoming you again to our hotel.

Please contact us at 603-55651388 or info@empirehotel.com.my

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    182
    126
    46
    19
See reviews for
91
47
27
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel Empire Subang Hotel for couple of times within the past 1 year. Standard of room has always been good. Clean room, good for business, a big shopping mall just next to it. However, this is my first review and i would like to extend my appreciation this time round - especially to the employees: Ms Tracy (Duty Manager) and Ms Wati (Front Desk). I have left my passport in the hotel after checkout and they immediately helped me to check and got it delivered back to me with 1-2 hours.

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent_Kyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Vincent_Kyong,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

It is indeed great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travel plan brings you back to Subang, we will be delighted to arrange your requirement.

We look forward welcoming you again to our hotel.

Please contact us at 603-55651388 or info@empirehotel.com.my

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visited with relatives who lived nearby,they were great fun.

Empire hotel, we stayed in a penthouse like room, cathedral ceilings, it was clean, old and painted by a blind man.

It was missing all whose little things like, no where to put the soap in the shower, shower flooded the bathroom, lights upstairs were controlled from down stairs, weird, huh !!

Bar next door saved my sanity, beer and accommodation over priced . 3 stars at best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Neil J,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We have taken note and will take the necessary steps to prevent any similar re-occurrences.

Should your travel plan brings you back to Subang, we will be delighted to arrange your requirement.

We look forward welcoming you again to our hotel.

Please contact us at 603-55651388 or info@empirehotel.com.my

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Enjoyable stays at this hotel and is ideal for business. Location is good as overall close to all business areas outside the city centre and not far from either KLIA (40mins) and Subang (15mins). Being part of a shopping mall complex, there is a range of restaurants to choose from and if you like to shop. The rooms are modern though like most hotels the internet and TV connections need improving. Breakfast needs some improvement too, as their is little to choose from and the hot food is just luke warm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStyleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear TheStyleTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We have taken note and will take the necessary steps to improve.

Should your travel plan brings you back to Subang, we will be delighted to arrange your requirement.

We look forward welcoming you again to our hotel.

Please contact us at 603-55651388 or info@empirehotel.com.my

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in Hotel Empire for 3 night in June 2014.
The hotel is modern and cosy, situated besides a shopping center, hence very convenient with many restaurants and shops.

The staffs are generally friendly, especially Vicky and the housekeeping folks.
However, the ladies at the reception / front desk are not as welcoming.
And also, despite putting the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign, we were awaken by a guy asking for laundry in the morning, almost everyday of our stay.

Overall, the hotel is good and perhaps one of the better ones in Subang area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terenceteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Terenceteo,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We have taken note and will take the necessary steps to prevent any similar re-occurrences.

Should your travel plan brings you back to Subang, we will be delighted to arrange your requirement.

We look forward welcoming you again to our hotel.

Please contact us at 603-55651388 or info@empirehotel.com.my

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Was there for 4 nights during my last business trip. Booked through hotelclub.com cost about RM343 per night. Location is okay nearer to Subang Airport, about 45 minutes drive from KLIA, there is a decent size shopping mall attached with wide variety of food. The rest of the shops are so-so. There are a few malls nearby, about 10 minutes walking distance.

Hotel room size is okay for two guests, breakfast is provided and also WIFI, bathroom is in between the sleeping area and working space. WIFI works better at the working space, breakfast spread are okay but there are only two front desks and two lifts to serve 16 floors. There is no gym in the hotel but you can use the Fitness First in the mall (open from 6.30am to 10pm). A bit challenging if you are going to gym in the early morning as the mall is not open. You will need to go in via the back door, exit the hotel and go behind find the door with security guards, there is a lift to the gym. The gym is well equipped and there is a swimming pool.

Getting taxi can be quite challenging as it is rather cumbersome driving to the hotel main door area. Advise is to walk a short distance to the main road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briankwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear briankwok,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

It is indeed great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travel plan brings you back to Subang, we will be delighted to arrange your requirement.

We look forward welcoming you again to our hotel.

Please contact us at 603-5565 1388 or info@empirehotel.com.my

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

With Empire hotel being connected to Empire shopping mall, there are many plus points for this accommodation.If you are looking for a place to stay outside of KL but still wants the relaxing/chilling nightlife.

You will feel like you are not in subang once you are in the lobby because everything is pretty quite at the lobby. This hotel is suitable for those who simply wants a good night sleep. The check in process wasn't that fast but this was because I checked in quite late at night and they had fewer staff working at wee hours. However,the room I booked (premiere room) was spacious, clean and really comfortable.I didn't wake up for breakfast so I cant comment on that but even if you miss breakfast, you can still walk to Empire Shopping Mall or cross the street to Subang Parade to have brunch.

During the day, the area is filled with families or working adults having lunch during their breaks.
At night, you can see people chilling at La Bodega, Ole Ole Bali,Starbucks and the new coffee cafe, Jibby & Co just to name a few.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaff88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Zaff88,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying at our rooms.

We have taken note and will take the necessary steps to improve.

Should your travel plan brings you back to Subang, we will be delighted to arrange your requirement.

Please contact us at 603-5565 1388 or info@empirehotel.com.my


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Subang
Dorsett Grand Subang
#1 of 10 in Subang Jaya
819 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
1.9 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ruemz Hotel
Ruemz Hotel
#3 of 10 in Subang Jaya
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Subang

Property: Empire Hotel Subang
Address: Jalan SS16 / 1, Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Subang 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Empire Hotel Subang Suite escapes. Shopping high. Stylish sophistication. Subang Jaya's new modernist masterpiece is the epitome of 21st century cool. Presiding majestically over the Klang Valley's most vibrant, youth-fired urban enclave, Empire Hotel Subang welcomes jetsetters and fashionistas alike as a dazzling icon for discerning, cultured and hip spirits. We have 198 rooms that are tastefully decorated and equipped with the latest amenities. Sitting on top of Empire Shopping Gallery, we provide the convenience of having many retail outlets and supermarket just downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Subang Hotel Subang Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing