We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel but still need improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Grand Subang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
1 review
“Great Hotel but still need improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel rate reasonable with the facilities. Clean and comfortable. Staff also friendly and helpful. The location was quite away from the main road but its not a problem as I have friends to pick me up. However, the waiting area appeared to be small especially when its full of waiting cars to pick up friends from the hotel for breakfast,lunch or dinner. The soundproofing was poor. I can hear people talking outside my room clearly from my bathroom as if they were talking in my room. Feel kind of creepy. Not to say my room was actually an adjoining room. The socket near the writing table was labelled 'emergency', so I have to use the socket near the sofa for my laptop and the socket near my bed for hairdryer,iron etc.

Room Tip: For single female travelers, please confirm with the reception that you are not having an adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Melanie C,

Thank you for taking time off to review our hotel and we value your comments and suggestions to help us to serve our guests better. We have informed our Engineering team to look into the matter, we apologise for the conveniences we have caused during your stay at our Hotel.

We hope you will stay at our hotel again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    324
    150
    67
    36
See reviews for
148
82
57
423
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I always choose to stay at the Dorset due to the great team that look after you during your stay. The location is also great due to the running track around the lake and the crocodile farm. The team in the bistro area are always really helpful and ensure you are always welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great - the design ensures the lifts are not near the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Rich068Melbourne,

Thank your for your feedback. Our Hotel is committed to providing the highest standards in product, presentation and hospitality to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there a couple of times this year. The location was quite away from main road..difficult to get cab. But not a big deal as we had our own transport. The parking area was ampled..but it was an open space exposed to hot weather.

The room was clean and comfortable..with modern touch. The deluxe room was quite large. We had stayed in junior suite early this year..loved the decor very much. The glass window were walled the room..it feels a bit hot without tinted and we can see the other room through it. Meals at the restaurant were as usual..great.

Overal, this hotel is still in our radar..for future stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dais76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Dais76,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback & ratings after your stay in our hotel. We are delighted to read your positive comments and we will share your comments with our housekeeping and F&B staff which will surely motivate them to strive for excellence.

With reference to your comments on our car park, kindly note that we also have a covered multi-storey car park which belongs to the Hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alor Setar, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Dorsett Grand Subang. Just a 1 night stay on a business trip. It had awesome facilities, room was great, staff were friendly and always smiling, the doorman was polite and friendly too.

However, the only disappointment was the parking facility. Roofed parking is really far away without proper roofed pavements connecting to the hotel and vallet is outrageously expensive.

The nearest logical alternative is the unroofed car park beside the lobby which is really hot and unprotected from rain and shine.

Otherwise i had a pleasant stay and i loved the live band in the lounge at night. Would come back again soon for a eventful relaxing stay over may it be business or leisure. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The superior is good enough and is huge. Lift instructions may be a little confusing. Remember to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank eskay363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear eskay363,

Thank you for your comments. We at Dorsett Grand valued each and every feedback from our hotel guests and will continuously improve our services to serve you better.

We regret that you had an unpleasant experience pertaining to our car park area; we are looking to improve the accessibility. Rest assured our hotel is committed to upgrading our facilities from time to time.

Please do visit and we look forward to have you stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I could hear someone snore from the other room, some nights the water was cold, there was a lot of smoke, and the bathtub is yellow colored.

I asked for Accenture corporate rate in the beginning, and they insist on charging me normal rate during check-out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Nia W,

Thank you for your constructive feedbacks and comments.

We are indeed disturbed to learn with regret that you had such an unpleasant experience during your stay at Dorsett Grand Subang. Rest assured that the problems have been highlighted to the respective departments for corrective measures to be taken and rectified by the maintenance department.

Corporate rate are available with bookings through the Corporate and we advise all our hotel guests to book your rooms through the corporate rate prior to checking into the hotel.

We hope you continue to support us and will stay at our hotel again in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Long stay, business stay. Type of room: Deluxe room. Experience both from 11th and 13th floor.

Negatives:
Ants in the room, bedbugs in bed (got bit 10 times during on night), moldy smell in the rooms, mold in the bathroom, bed frame is in really bad shape (so run down), main door into the room has a destroyed lock; which has not been proper fixed. Anyone can easily break through the door. Door handle is also destroyed; hanging downwards.

Positives:
Really polite and service minded door men as well as the "check-in" ladies at the breakfast buffet. The receptionists could learn from them, because you are not getting the same experience from them.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank T-Lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear T-Lotus,

It is with regret that you had such an unpleasant experience during your stay at our hotel; rest assured that the problems have been highlighted to the respective departments and already been rectified by the housekeeping department.

Our employees are our pride, we feel truly proud for each and every compliment extended to our hotel employees – they were truly delighted after reading the positive comments.

Thank you and please do come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Room has a great view but can't stay inside the room too long as it is too hot! Tha aircon is not working and they have the worst customer service. Calling them to fix the aircon will only fall on deaf ears! Lost my patience after 3 days staying in this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear sahge,

Thank you for your comments and we are taking corrective measures to ensure such incidences do not happen again. The causes for the air conditioning failure have already been rectified and we apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We pledge and strive to provide the finest personal service and facilities for our guests and we hope you will give us another opportunity and stay at our hotel again on your next visit.

Thank you and have a good day ahead !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 10 in Subang Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
1.4 mi away
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
#9 of 10 in Subang Jaya
2.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Property: Dorsett Grand Subang
Address: Jalan Ss 12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing