We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, a few kinks to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were greeted by a courteous bellboy who helped us with the luggage.

Upon entering the hotel, it does give a feeling of grandeur, but definitely in need of a major facelift as it doesn't quite fit in this era. Hotel bar is located to the left, functional but again, dated. I think the hotel is previously known as the Sheraton.

We were booked into the standard room on M floor (L3), same level as the function rooms but on the other wing, no issues with noise as it's really peaceful. However my room had ants crawling on the bedside table and occasionally on my bed. A bit annoying, however my colleague's room was fine.

Common issues we had was the extremely yellow water out of the tap for the shower, toilet bowl and vanity. The smell of rust was quite prominent. I actually have a photo of the running yellow water from the tap but decided not to post it. Used the bottled water for brushing teeth.

Gym, jacuzzi, swimming pool were located at the ground floor. Only used the gym which is fully equipped, very satisfied.

Breakfast spread is abundant, but lack the yummy factor. Enough to get your morning going I supposed.

There are a few Japanese restaurants in the vicinity of the area, and a tasty mamak shop opposite opposite it. Good value and delicious. We did walked about 1-2km perpendicular to the viaduct to a more built-up area for Chinese food stalls. Lots of shishas too.

All in all, other than the ants and dirty water from the tap, this hotel would have been a thumbs up for me. The shuttle from the hotel to Sunway pyramid is a plus for those bored of the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Austin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Austin J,

Thank you for highlighting the issues to us; we appreciate all our guests that took time off to review our Hotel. We are in the midst of completing our soft renovation to our rooms and it will be completed by end of this year.

We have also forwarded your complain to the Housekeeper to look into the matters and rest assured that our Hotel is committed to providing the highest standards in product, presentation and hospitality to our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

5 days staying here feels like home.
The room is comfortable, so helpful staff, delicious breakfast and strategic location. Worth for value. I got my room electricity drop in the middle of the night at my 3rd night stay, maybe caused by a short cut on the lamp bulb. I was so scared as I stayed alone. But the staff came to my room not more than 5 min after I call the receptionist. He fix it and I can go to sleep then. Nice service...

Room Tip: Little bit noise to stay in the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santi_TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Santi_TD,

Thank you for taking time off to review our hotel and we value your comments and suggestions to help us to serve our guests better. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do come back and stay in our hotel again for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Bed was firm and sheets were clean. Facilities are thoughtful and room spacious. The two issues I had was the TV reception was not great and a little snowy and room to room calls don't seem to work. Overall was satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kensong59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear kensong59,

Thank you for taking time off to review our hotel and we value your comments and suggestions to help us to serve our guests better. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the room TV, please bear with us we are in the midst of upgrading our system to serve our guests better.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Strategized Location at Subang Jaya, prone to business environment. Room was clean and meeting expectation. Breakfast provide good variety and choices. Feel comfort when entering to lobby and staffs were friendly and helpful.
Improvement needed base on my experience,
1.Room card access was denied, 3 times I face it. Need better system.
2.Spa facilities need to maintain well, temperature not able to achieve, water was cool.

Overall rating is satisfactory and meeting expectation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kwleong0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear kwleong0831,

Our employees are our pride, we feel truly proud for each and every compliment extended to our hotel employees – they were truly delighted after reading the positive comments.

With regards to the room card access, we have forwarded your comment to our technical team to look into the matter.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Got a good room, all in working order and the bed was just fantastic. Had the much needed rest. Breakfast was standard hotel food, nothing exceptional. Staff were friendly. Parking can be a bit of a problem during working hours.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank r0s7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear r0s7,

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and that we have made your stay a comfortable one. We pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for our guests - we look forward to welcome you back here the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is in a good location and receptive to business. I stayed here a few times in the standard rooms and I find them to be a bit dated, dirty and worn. It may be best to investigate an upgrade next time. The lobby bar is convenient for a brief chat and a beer, but a bit expensive. The breakfast is also very expensive- on my last stay, I had a cup of coffee and was charged about 40 Ringgit! Overall, I enjoy my stay as the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaducedByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear SeducedByTheSea,

Thank you for taking time off to review our hotel, we are sorry that our Hotel didn’t meet your expectation during your last stay. We would like to take this opportunity to inform our valued guests that we are in the midst of completing our soft renovation to our rooms and it will be completed by end of this year.

With regards to your comment on the charges on our house coffee, we have always maintain the charges per cup @ RM20 (plus service & govt tax), which is a standard hotel charges.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've been staying this hotel for nearly a decade (formally a Sheraton) about 5 or 6 times a year. My last visit needs to be reviewed. I was allocated a room in the 'old' tower which was not worthy of this hotel's status. The shower rail was lying in the bath, the bathroom was tired and mouldy and although the room was certified PureClean the certificated inspection was over a month out of date. Yes there was a new flat screen TV since I was last there but overall it was a shabby experience. Staff at the front desk were pre-occupied and have forgotten how to smile. There is a plentiful variety at breakfast but it lacks any appetite appeal. Restaurant staff are too busy to acknowledge you and the outside breakfast area - a nice idea - was unmanned and you could not get any of the food on offer.
I stay at this hotel because it is close to my business but it makes me wish there was somewhere else to go. The 'refurbished' tower is modern, looks clean and it is advisable to pay the premium to stay in one of these rooms.
My stay was definitely not up to standard so come on Grand Dorsett - time to treat your (corporate) guests with some respect.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the refurbished tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 466DavidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandSubang, Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear David W,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know about their experience staying at our Hotel.

We are very sorry to hear of your recent disappointment in our Hotel, we assure you that customer satisfaction is our top priority and we want the service at our Hotel to reflect the principle. We have forwarded your comments to the respective person-in-charge to investigate and respond accordingly. With regards to your comment on our Pure Rooms' certification, it has already been rectified accordingly.

We want to thank you for your continuous patronage and bringing these concerns to our attention. We certainly do not wish to lose you as our valued corporate guest. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 11 in Subang Jaya
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
0.8 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
903 reviews
1.4 mi away
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
#8 of 11 in Subang Jaya
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Address: Jalan Ss 12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range: £38 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing