We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I don't mind a yet-to-maintain environment. But would prefer to receive a decent service.

1) The chief at the breakfast lounge served without a smile for the straight 3 days of our stay. And she would hurry us to finish the meal knowing we were having event in the hotel and that meal timing had been beyond our control.

2) My rooomate's skin cares were discarded during room cleaning. Both skin care bottles were half full and they were obviously not one of those hotels bottles, but off the shelf products.

Thus we couldn't accept it was a mistake when the cleaner mistaken those bottles for hotel bottles.

3) Both my toothbrush and toothpaste were discarded as well and there were no replenished of toiletries in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yang2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have said this before, but If you are used to western hotel, this may not be your best option. If you are looking for a local hotel on a budget you will get more then your money worth here.

Location: This hotel is not close to downtown, but is located in an up and coming area. It connected to a mall with a new movie threatre, and lots of places to eat. and serverl new malls are being build all in walking distance.

Room: The rooms were very clean and the aircon worked well. The beds were not western, but more Pallet style (harder bed) if you need a really soft bed this may not be a good choice.

Bathroom: They provide clean towels in adequate qty. Bath/shower combo seem well maintained, with avg water pressure. Even for a budget hotel they do provide shampoo and shower gel daily. Maintenance is very slow if you have a problem. I had a problem with my toilet and waited 40 minutes for a person, then another 30 to get it fixed

Internet: Here you need to pay for wifi 30rm per day and its for 1 device, so if you want to hook up a laptop and ipad thats 60 rm per day. They use a very old system and it locks it to a device. Also once a code has been used it can not be used again. Once you pay its good for skype voice, but not really good for video. It can be done but it will drop a lot.

Breakfast: The food was good, although i found it cheaper to go to a local place either in the mall or walking distance.

Staff: Outside the fact the the methods were very old (see additional notes), the people were always friendly and tried to accomodate

Additional notes: The system for check in and check out were something i had not seen since I was a kid. even though they have a computer system they still files all paper and receipts in a drawer, when you check out you must meet with a specific checkout person and they go through all charges one at a time and then give you a total bill. This took some time and they politely asked me to wait while they verified my room and the bill. (30 minutes).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S2Bubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

family of 5 people , staying in 2 room . location wise good if you re looking for accomodation that is near to Klang valley , subangjaya ( like going to sunway logoon or i-city )
in front of the hotel is currently there's a roadwork , so its an inconvience . carpark is huge n shared with the mall next door ( u will need to have the carpark ticket validated by the front office - free )the wifi is limited to only 1 device per room ( just go next door -to the mall, sit down near Old town , macd , kfc and few more shops for free wifi usage . the swimming pool - average size .

there Mydin & Giant hypermarket nearby & lots of shopping area around it .

Room Tip: rooms are big and spacious . do request for higher floor room & NOT facing the main road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

an average rating hotel located quite far from kuala lumpur city centre. Situated in middle between kuala lumpur and klang. Very easy access from all the major highway in Klang Valley...which could connect those stay here to other part of the metropolis kuala lumpur.
All the facilities and services not meet the satisfaction..but they provided almost all basic guest's needs.
Their internet access was the worst..its not free and very very slow..
In conclusion this hotel dont get my vote.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The main question is whether you can sleep. From this point of view, the large single-glazed windows in my room overlooking a busy road are not a masterstroke, even on a high floor. Added to which, the handle on the opening bit of mine was broken so it could not even be shut properly. Then there are the lifts, which sound like a plane taking off - my room was too close to them (and that was some way). So that already settles it - pretty poor.

The room was tired but reasonably clean. It was a decent size, with enough space to work if that is what you want to do. Personally, I would have settled for something smaller with a comfortable chair to sit and read (I was trying to chill in the middle of a hectic business trip). The chair would not have mattered much if there had been somewhere else to sit or something else to do in the area. But there wasn't really. The pool area overlooks a busy road, and is hardly relaxing. Even reception does not possess a single comfortable chair.

Internet access was annoying. You have to apply daily for a new ticket, and have to choose one device to connect (or get another ticket). The connection was poor, so Skype was almost unusable. It is probably easier to pop along to the mall next door and buy a coffee somewhere.

Not that there was much excitement in the mall next door. The high point for me was having a little play in the piano shop, but that would not be a draw for many. In gratitude for the small high point of my stay perhaps I should mention that the prices for reconditioned pianos were pretty good, though I doubt that many visitors to the hotel would want to buy one. Other than that just dull and tired.

The tepid breakfast buffet may have concealed delights for guests of other nationalities, but was not much good to me (apparently the only Englishman in the place). The coffee was the standard Malaysian brown water.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Overall is ok, Fair price, got swimming pool, gym room and included breakfast. Service is ok. But the aircon is not cool enough. The traffic around here is quite bad. keep jamming, avoid to going out at busy hours. Beside gt summit plaza, can spend some time at here if u nothing to do.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank weiip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was my first stay in this hotel. The facilities are not very new but reasonably well maintained.
The staff were friendly and the rooms were very tidy. The only major issue I had was with the Wifi connection. The management must review this major issue. Business stay will be crippled with weak signals and connectivity with only I devise. On the breakfast menu, they could improve on a better layout though the eating area is very well organised. Whether I would go there again would greatly depend on the internet connectivity issue. I would rather not take a risk if this issue exist despite several feedback from the reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadir1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
1.4 mi away
Dorsett Grand Subang
Dorsett Grand Subang
#1 of 11 in Subang Jaya
911 reviews
1.7 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 11 in Subang Jaya
473 reviews
2.8 mi away
e.City Hotel @ One City
e.City Hotel @ One City
#9 of 11 in Subang Jaya
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Geno Hotel
Geno Hotel
#6 of 11 in Subang Jaya
18 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ruemz Hotel
Ruemz Hotel
#4 of 11 in Subang Jaya
138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#33 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Hotel Subang USJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Hotel Subang USJ

Address: Persiaran Kewajipan Usj 1, Subang Jaya 47600, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range: £27 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Hotel Subang USJ 3.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A strategic location can make a big difference. It certainly did for Summit Hotel Subang USJ. Located in Subang Jaya in Selangor, Malaysia, the hotel is less than 20 minutes away from the major cities of Kuala Lumpur, Petaling Jaya, and Shah Alam. Also within close distance are the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and several tourist attractions. With exceptional event facilities and elegant guestrooms to complement a prime location, we have positioned ourselves at the top of Malaysia's hospitality industry. And if you like it at the top, Summit Hotel Subang Jaya is clearly where you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summit Hotel Subang USJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Subang Jaya
Summit Subang Jaya
Subang Jaya Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing