We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive peaceful great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanjong Jara Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exclusive peaceful great service!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Tg Jara felt like a very beautiful luxurious Malay kampung with lots of coconut and other trees. Seafront beautiful stretch of clean beach close to the chalets. Large rooms with a king sized bed plus day bed, with huge bathroom with his and hers sinks, luxury cotton robes, and every possible amenity. But what I liked most was the friendly well trained staff, providing unobtrusive thoughtful service. They remember your names, and one lovely young lady even went looking for me when I was sick in the bathroom and brought me ginger tea. The staff bring you complimentary iced water flavored with a slice of orange by the pool, which was a pleasant and welcome surprise. The air of exclusivity, with fewer rooms than most resorts, meant there was plenty of space and privacy for all guests and personalized service.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank YewLoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    283
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
369
692
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Tanjong Jara Resort is promoted as a 5 star resort but it does have a little way to go yet; the General Manager (Phillipe Cavory) has been recruited to bring the TJR up to scratch and I'm sure that he will with his excellent past experience! We did have a problem whilst at the TJR but the staff did everything possible to make up for it, I won't go into the details but suffice to say that the excellent service here came to the rescue! The resort is so serine and peaceful, and we loved the fact that just outside the resort was the 'un-commercialised Malaysia', and in addition being on the edge of the jungle makes it a special place to be, monkeys by the pool, a wonderful sound from the jungle especially at night, very soporific! All the staff are lovely and helpful but special praise must go to Amira and Ismail at the Teretai Terrace pool, they were an absolute credit to TJR and did everything to make us feel welcome, superb friendly service which deserves recognition and very high praise; Emma (Guest Liaison) must also receive a mention as she truly wants to make sure that your stay is a great one. The 'Eco River Cruise' is well worth going on (ask them to stop on the way back for some of the food served at the roadside stalls, a great experience especially the 'Sata' which is minced mackerel with coconut, chilli, turmeric leaf etc cooked over charcoal in banana leaves, delicious!) as well as the market visit with the ever-chirpy 'Chef Anne', cookery class with Anne also good as was her assistance each night at the Di Atas Sungei restaurant! Highly recommend both the 'Steamboat' dinner at Teratai Terrace and also a private dining experience on the beach (Teratai version better than the one based at the Nelayan as Amir & Ismail look after you so well and the food more Asian!) Once Phillipe Cavory has made the necessary improvements to the TJR I believe that it will deserve its 5 star rating, and without doubt we want to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astellsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Wonderful holiday at this resort in late April/early May 2014. Our first holiday with a 10 month old. The staff could not have been more helpful. The Serambi room was perfect and the food was wonderful. I love the idea of an open menu where chef Ann thinks of what to cook based on what your personal dietary requirements are. Despite being quite fussy about food, I was amazed at how Ann always conjured up something new and exciiting every day. The other chefs - Florent and Wong were just as helpful and even made food for us to take on the plane for our long journey home. I noted that the hotel had a lot of guests who had been there before which is always a good sign. The tour guide Zaul was brilliant as well. I cannot fault the effort that the staff make and the spa is fantastic as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a wonderful resort. We were there in the quiet season - perfect. I don't think there were more than a dozen people at any one time by the main pool and the adult only pool was even quieter. The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much effort. Emma, the customer relations representative was fabulous and obviously loves her job and the resort, she even arranged for an upgrade to our tv box so we could watch a couple of football games not on the general stations. We were also honoured to be King and Queen for a day. The food was delicious. Freshly prepared eggs at breakfast, great french toast and wonderful pastries. Wide variety of fruit and cheese and plenty of Malay dishes - great roti. The evening meals were amazing. Chef Ann came out every evening to take our order and we were able to go off menu on a few occasions and ask for a dish to be specially prepared. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with very efficient a/c. We had a Serambi seaview room. Complimentary tea/coffee and water. Luxurious bathroom toiletries. Fresh bedding every day and towels changed twice daily if you let them! Turn down service every night and we even had personalised biscuits left for us. We usually like to travel out and about but apart from one trip into Dungun and a snorkelling trip we spent the entire 11 days in the resort. It was totally relaxing. I could write so much more but I would only be repeating everything you read in the other reviews. We had a fabulous time, were treated like royalty and would highly recommend staying here to recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were there in the low season and enjoyed the rest. Beautiful suite. Nothing such as restaurants or shops nearby for those looking for action. Enjoyed breakfast with choice of typical Malaysian dishes. Also enjoyed dinner.
Could imagine pool too small if resort full.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmadsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Being a huge fan of YTL resorts, we were very blessed to be able to return again to TJR.

This time, staying at the Serambi Seaview room. It's one of the newer blocks (block 7) and has a direct view of the sea, albeit being obstructed by some trees by the beach, but it's definitely much better than our previous garden view room. The room was very spacious and comes with a big verandah. I simply loved the toiletries, under the brand Mangosteen. They have various fruit flavored toiletries, how apt for a Malaysian beach holiday. All rooms as always came with well thought through nessasities, up to providing umbrella, beach bag, and lots of bottled water.

The staffs at TJR are worth highlighting, they are extremely friendly and loyal to TJR. There were more than one occasion where the staffs spoke with pride about TJR. We were at the Pangkor Laut Resort last year, and met some of the TJR staffs posted there temporarily. Jazz, Emma and Nadia. They spoke so fondly about TJR that was closed and undergoing a refurbishment phase, and when I mentioned that we're thinking of going back to TJR they immediately said to email and notify them. This is the level of loyalty and pride that made guests feel the next trip to Tjr will be an amazing one - knowing that you'll have their full attention.

Another staff worth mentioning would be Mr August, at the Nelayan restaurant.
He was extremely attentive and friendly as well.

However, We did note some disgruntled staffs at Di Atas Sungei restaurant. Especially during breakfasts when they were very busy. Ive made several comments amount the quality of the food (it was extremely below par comparing to the other YTL resorts and even comparing to the last time I was here). The French Toast was stacked in a warmer and all squashed, flat and oily. The eggs station had long queue (they used to serve eggs, toast n pancakes Ala carte as they have a very small buffet area). However now all the Ala carte items are made part of the buffet, but the size of the buffet line remained the same as before. Hence, the long wait for eggs, stacked pancakes and soggy french Toast. The waiter at the eggs station looked extremely tired and overworked. I decided not to have eggs.

One nice touch was to have freshly baked croissants served at the table, though on one of the days, we found them stacked in a warmer again all squashed and flat, I did insist for them to serve us fresh ones as they did before. They also used to have more selection of fruits - especially mangosteen, rambutans and duku. Was disappointed that they don't have those now. Probably wasn't in season. All in all, this was probably my only area of disappointment during this trip.

Lunch and dinner was good. Food selection is sufficient, curry fish head for lunch at Nelayan was the highlight for me. Along with the Thai Beef Salad. As for dinner, the 2 way lobster at Nelayan was superb! Pina Colada for dessert was at first a lil too sickly sweet, but once discussed with August and he kindly added some rum in it, it became one of the yummiest dish ive had. It's a cross between the cocktail and a fruity dessert. I'm going to try making this at home.

The drinks as many have pointed our are slightly on the high side. Therefore cocktail during happy hour was much appreciated. At the adults only pool Teratai, we've enjoyed some cocktails while observing some wild monkeys dining on the trees nearby. It was quite a show.

On Saturdays, as always they have a free activity called kampong life. It's quite fun and especially enlightening for foreigners. They have some food sampling of local snacks and drinks. Much appreciated for tea time. Also enjoyed some traditional games and the monkey plucking coconuts. Philippe the new GM made his rounds to network and chat with the guests, a much appreciated gesture given his busy schedule. The other staffs participated as well, I played a game of congkak a traditional Malay game with 2 elderly ladies and enjoy a short chat session, and emmersing in the lifestyle of the good olden days. It's nice for guests to make friends and chat with each other too, other YTL resorts should emulate this effort.

All in all, in was again another good trip with YTL. Some misses here and there, mainly due to being short of experienced staffs, but the ones that are there made it up by giving extra attention, smiling through their long shifts and living up to the YTL standards.

Will be back again.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LydiaMayWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A superb hotel in traditional malay style surprised us after the drive from Kuala Lumpur. The staff encouraged my son to hit the gong once to announce our arrival and immediately took care of us and was particularly nice to our 3 young kids. We were escorted to two very nice Serambi connecting rooms that we enjoyed the entire week end. From exploring the beach, collecting shells, relaxing at the pool, enjoying the food at Di Atas Sungei and Nelayan our stay was memorable. We were even lucky to see a trainer and his trained monkey climb on top the many coconut trees to make the coconuts fall: apparently he comes regularly so you may be lucky also! We took an all inclusive package (room, food and beverage - no alcohol) and that is the way I would recommend. The asian food at Di Atas Sungei was very well explained at the table by Chef Anne: a nice touch. At Nelayan, the tasty international cuisine was served looking at the beach and sea. The grounds of the hotel are expansive and allow to take long relaxing walks. The spa will be for our next trip. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The last day the staff surprised us with a cake and a card in our room: they wanted to make my youngest son feel better after he was strangely bitten on the lip by an insect while collecting shells. What a great attention! The staff and spirit of hospitality are the best assets of this hotel. Go to Tanjong Jara and let yourself relax and be taken care of for a few days - you deserve it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
12.5 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
0.0 mi away
Rimba Hotel
Rimba Hotel
#7 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#3 of 10 in Dungun
1 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
23 reviews
5.8 mi away
Semarak Beach Inn
Semarak Beach Inn
#3 of 7 in Dungun
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjong Jara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Property: Tanjong Jara Resort
Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by palm fringed, emerald seas, Tanjong Jara Resort is a sanctuary of luxury and well-being steeped in the unmistakable grace of age-old Malay traditions. Here, in the comfort of a room furnished in local timber and rich fabrics, guests are lulled by the sighs of waves and the warm tropical breeze. The award-winning architecture of this resort reflects the elegance and grandeur of 17th century Malay palaces, offering an authentic taste of the region’s spirit and an enduring embodiment of gentle Malay arts and hospitality. Seamlessly integrated with the resort is the Spa Village, dedicated to combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the innate healing practices of the area, providing a special, restorative experience. Guests can choose to experience an eco-adventure river cruise, explore teeming coral reefs or browse in a night market. Whatever the activity, every breath is pure refreshment, a relaxation of the soul, a pure journey of revival. In Malay we call this Sucimurni, in Malaysia it is Tanjong Jara Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Terengganu, Malaysia - Dungun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing