We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malaysian Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanjong Jara Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Malaysian Paradise”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights having travelled from the UK via a 2 night stop over at KL. A beautiful 'small luxury hotel of the world'. We had an upper Bumbung room which was lovely. We had a deal whereby having stayed at Traders KL we had complimentary dinner thrown in at the Di Atas Sungei restaurant, which helped with the overall cost of the trip. Breakfast was adequate and dinner was expertly discussed with Chef Ann - a real asset to this hotel. Alcohol expensive for obvious reasons. Also did a market trip out with Chef Ann - well worth a tenner for the morning. All staff were lovely people - nothing too much trouble. Special mention of Shukri who was attentive and lovely to converse with. Only slight irritation is you have to sign for everything once you have something. They know your room number and how long you are staying - perhaps a running total chit to sign once a day? Spa was gorgeous and highly recommended. Did get bitten by mozzies though despite plastering on the 100% deet spray! Overall - highly recommended place to relax and unwind

Room Tip: The Bumbung was the lowest grade of room - don't be out off as more than adequate and very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbunny87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souvanaphoum, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Greetings from Tanjong Jara resort...
We thank you for your very positive feedbacks on our resort, all our staffs were very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I take note of your remark I quote "Only slight irritation is you have to sign for everything once you have something." Unquote. I will look into that and hopefully will come up with a solution, as for the mosquitos we do have a fumigation program in place and we will start soon to plant "Lemon grass around the rooms and our spa village".
All of us at Tanjong Jara resort are looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    287
    64
    24
    13
See reviews for
375
697
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The best place to chill in East Coast. Great rooms. Magnificent view. Delicious dinner at Di Atas Sungei with a to die for dessert. Delicious breakfast. But lack of choice for lunch unfortunately at Nelayan. Great hospitality by the staff, the GM and the manager. Will i return? Of course but maybe after their major renovation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Imran Hafiz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 4 days at the gorgeous Tanjong Jara Resort. After a long journey, we checked into our room early evening and didn't get a good chance to see the view until morning.

Off we went to find something to eat and we ended up in the Di Atas restaurant were Chef Ann had a chat with us and suggested a light supper. There is no real menu, just a selection of ingredients that Chef Ann advises on how to have them. Suitably replete, we went off to bed.

The view along the beach from our room in the morning was stunning to wake up to. Crescent shaped beach with waves lapping in. What more would you want.

The resort is quite large and so after a very adequate breakfast (I had noticed some complaints about this, but I couldn't see a serious problem), we went off to explore.

Of the two pools, were preferred the large family pool at the Nelayan restaurant which is huge and perfectly positioned to enjoy the view. Pool staff were excellent keeping us supplied with iced water.

We ate at all three restaurants. Nelayan is a mixture of East and West and was very pretty just by the beach. Food great with good choices.

We tried the Steamboat meal at the Teratai restaurant which was fun but not our best meal although Amina at the bar made killer cocktails and was a lovely host. Sweet, happy, smiling young lady. She mad the best Harvey Wallbangers and Singapore Slings we'd had in a long time.

If you go, try the private dining on the beach experience! It was soooo romantic. The team had the table all done up and lots of candles all around. You get a choice of menu and then they light a bonfire. All very cosy. Only teeny drawback was that it was a little bit too close to the main restaurant for me but as you sit facing towards the lapping waves, it didn't really detract from the fun.

All the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and happy and we felt this got our early days in Malaysia off to a great start.

The hotel does seem to make a great effort to entertain its guests. There are many activities, most free.

The highlight of our stay was the bicycle tour with the Captain which was wonderful. We cycled along the coast then through a village to the harbour where the Captain explained about the various types of fishing boats and the harbour area. Then off we went to a very local bar for a coffee and a roti canal. Coffee was very strong but the roti was fantastic. Very light and served with a bit of tuna curry gravy. Mmmmmm! Delicious and authentic. All free!

We also did a jungle tour with Aziz who pointed out the various flora and fauna and told us of the animals that reside in the jungle. Be afraid of the wild boar. Great view from the top.

We had a great 4 days and feel it got our holiday off to a fantastic start. We felt very chilled as we headed off to the Cameron Highlands.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing few days. Apart from our bike ride we didn't need to leave the property. It's all there. Having stayed at Pangkor Laut some years ago, this hotel was on my wish list and I was not let down at all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiToLunchDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great experience at one of the YTL Resorts - Tanjong Jara Resort.

Stayed in Upper Bumbung Room and besides the King size bed they also have a day bed which can accommodate 1 Adults or 02 small kids. Room is spacious and quiet.

Breakfast is fantastic with choices of breakfast and small buffet breakfast.

Surrounding out from the resort is not much happening as you really need a vehicle to drive out from there to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Tg Jara felt like a very beautiful luxurious Malay kampung with lots of coconut and other trees. Seafront beautiful stretch of clean beach close to the chalets. Large rooms with a king sized bed plus day bed, with huge bathroom with his and hers sinks, luxury cotton robes, and every possible amenity. But what I liked most was the friendly well trained staff, providing unobtrusive thoughtful service. They remember your names, and one lovely young lady even went looking for me when I was sick in the bathroom and brought me ginger tea. The staff bring you complimentary iced water flavored with a slice of orange by the pool, which was a pleasant and welcome surprise. The air of exclusivity, with fewer rooms than most resorts, meant there was plenty of space and privacy for all guests and personalized service.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank YewLoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Tanjong Jara Resort is promoted as a 5 star resort but it does have a little way to go yet; the General Manager (Phillipe Cavory) has been recruited to bring the TJR up to scratch and I'm sure that he will with his excellent past experience! We did have a problem whilst at the TJR but the staff did everything possible to make up for it, I won't go into the details but suffice to say that the excellent service here came to the rescue! The resort is so serine and peaceful, and we loved the fact that just outside the resort was the 'un-commercialised Malaysia', and in addition being on the edge of the jungle makes it a special place to be, monkeys by the pool, a wonderful sound from the jungle especially at night, very soporific! All the staff are lovely and helpful but special praise must go to Amira and Ismail at the Teretai Terrace pool, they were an absolute credit to TJR and did everything to make us feel welcome, superb friendly service which deserves recognition and very high praise; Emma (Guest Liaison) must also receive a mention as she truly wants to make sure that your stay is a great one. The 'Eco River Cruise' is well worth going on (ask them to stop on the way back for some of the food served at the roadside stalls, a great experience especially the 'Sata' which is minced mackerel with coconut, chilli, turmeric leaf etc cooked over charcoal in banana leaves, delicious!) as well as the market visit with the ever-chirpy 'Chef Anne', cookery class with Anne also good as was her assistance each night at the Di Atas Sungei restaurant! Highly recommend both the 'Steamboat' dinner at Teratai Terrace and also a private dining experience on the beach (Teratai version better than the one based at the Nelayan as Amir & Ismail look after you so well and the food more Asian!) Once Phillipe Cavory has made the necessary improvements to the TJR I believe that it will deserve its 5 star rating, and without doubt we want to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astellsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Wonderful holiday at this resort in late April/early May 2014. Our first holiday with a 10 month old. The staff could not have been more helpful. The Serambi room was perfect and the food was wonderful. I love the idea of an open menu where chef Ann thinks of what to cook based on what your personal dietary requirements are. Despite being quite fussy about food, I was amazed at how Ann always conjured up something new and exciiting every day. The other chefs - Florent and Wong were just as helpful and even made food for us to take on the plane for our long journey home. I noted that the hotel had a lot of guests who had been there before which is always a good sign. The tour guide Zaul was brilliant as well. I cannot fault the effort that the staff make and the spa is fantastic as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
12.5 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
0.0 mi away
Rimba Hotel
Rimba Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
7.0 mi away
Six Villa Inn
Six Villa Inn
#6 of 10 in Dungun
8 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjong Jara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Property: Tanjong Jara Resort
Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by palm fringed, emerald seas, Tanjong Jara Resort is a sanctuary of luxury and well-being steeped in the unmistakable grace of age-old Malay traditions. Here, in the comfort of a room furnished in local timber and rich fabrics, guests are lulled by the sighs of waves and the warm tropical breeze. The award-winning architecture of this resort reflects the elegance and grandeur of 17th century Malay palaces, offering an authentic taste of the region’s spirit and an enduring embodiment of gentle Malay arts and hospitality. Seamlessly integrated with the resort is the Spa Village, dedicated to combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the innate healing practices of the area, providing a special, restorative experience. Guests can choose to experience an eco-adventure river cruise, explore teeming coral reefs or browse in a night market. Whatever the activity, every breath is pure refreshment, a relaxation of the soul, a pure journey of revival. In Malay we call this Sucimurni, in Malaysia it is Tanjong Jara Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Terengganu, Malaysia - Dungun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing