We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of options for all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanjong Jara Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I spent 3 nights at TJR. The experience was very pleasant. The reason why I did not rate TJR higher is because for the prices charged, I expected a much higher level of service and professionalism.

Here's what I really liked about TJR:
1. The location along a stretch of clean and tranquil beach is excellent. You can take a 2-hour walk up and down that stretch of beach and come across a small cave and a small ship-wreck which makes of interesting photo moments. Both the beach and the waters are clean and very inviting.

2. Quality of activities provided was fantastic. I went for the snorkelling trip to Tenggol Island and the Turtle Watch. Both were very good, with knowledgeable and passionate guides. I saw a number of turtles making their way up the beach to lay eggs, and actually did manage to see one turtle actually laying her eggs. To see that right before my eyes was amazing.

3. The rooms and infrastructure around the resort are brilliant. There are other reviews recommending specific rooms, but I do think that you'll have a good night's rest and stunning views from most of the rooms.


Now, here's what I think could be improved:
1. Quality and professionalism of service. Don't get me wrong - the staff at TJR are extremely friendly, courteous and they try very very hard to please. But there is a line to be drawn between being just friendly and being professional, in the manner of a 5-star luxury resort. The staff at the restaurant approached my table with some trepidation, like they were afraid to say hello, take orders or offer a refill of my glass. They are slow at explaining how the menu works. There is little in the way of independent thinking and value-added service, eg they don't offer any recommendations on the menu. They stand with clipboard waiting to take my order. Except for Chef Ann and a gentleman named Hisham, none of the staff actually ENGAGE in a helpful dialogue. On our last morning, a young lady approached me at the breakfast table, with a huge camera round her neck and a notebook/clipboard in hand, clearly looking for customer comments/feedback...but what a way to do so, and at a rather inconvenient time. Even after saying that it was an interruption to my breakfast, the young lady only apologised and continued to ask questions. She was sweet and courteous and trying to do her job, but I felt she didn't have the presence or personality to be tasked with approaching customers for feedback. I also felt that giving her genuine feedback would have been wasted as she is too junior to do anything about it except to report back.

2. The buffet spread at breakfast can definitely be improved. On three occasions, I saw a swarm of flies settling on the fruit and on the hard-boiled eggs left uncovered on the tables. In a setting like TJR, insects are to be expected but certainly not on the breakfast buffet. This is basic hygiene and should be sorted out.

So all in all, I give TJR an 'average' rating as they charge luxury 5-star prices but don't follow-through with the expected standards. Still, I enjoyed my stay, but probably will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souvanaphoum, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Greetings from Tanjong Jara resort,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us in regards to your recent stay at Tanjong Jara resort. It will allow us to continually work on our product for the benefit of our guests. We, at Tanjong Jara resort strive to provide a Malaysian experience equal to your expectations. Therefore, the quality of our guest experience is of the utmost importance to us, an intimate and objective knowledge of how we perform – in the customers' eyes - is critical in moving Tanjong Jara resort to a higher level of service orientation, and it is through this type of feedback that we can confirm the direction, quality and quantity of our effort. It is always a disappointment to hear from a guest that their stay was not flawless. While compliments are nice to receive, it is criticism, such as yours, that helps us pinpoint areas where corrective measures are necessary to bring us closer to our goals. Please accept my heartfelt apologies for the shortcomings which were not to your expectations. I’ve gone through your comments and noticed that while you found our level of services "Not to the level of a five stars hotel", you noted too their willingness to do well... We do hope to see you back at our resort in a not too distant future so as to witness our improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Both my partner and I decided on tanjong jara at the very last minute after our first phase of honeymoon in japan. It was definitely the perfect end to our honeymoon. They surprised us with some romantic touches in our serambi sea view room and we were really impressed by the level of service, friendliness and attentiveness of all the staff in tanjong jara.

Our room was spacious and very comfortable.

Enjoyed the spa session at the spa village and the endless dining sessions with all the delicious meals they served us.

Special thanks to the general manager and the staffs at di atas sungei and nelayan for treating us with good care :) we thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon in tanjong jara. :) will definitely come back again after the refurbishment .

Room Tip: Get the Serambi sea view for the extra outdoor verandah space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yinnieyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently spent 3D2N under the Residents Package and although it was peak season, we still managed to have sufficient space for a quiet getaway. The staff were polite and friendly, ready to assist and Chef Ann as always welcoming and informative in dinner menu suggestions. Beach was beautiful and clean.

This would be my 3rd visit over the past few years and the only suggestion would be for the new staff to improve their command of English. Otherwise, Tanjong Jara has managed to maintain their constant standard of service throughout the years and I'm already looking forward to another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 329AC563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We weren't expecting this to be the highlight of the holiday as it was a little add on recommended by Trailfinders however, the Tanjong Jara is a true gem. The location, the surroundings, the ambience, the staff, the food - were all outstanding. The whole experience is geared to be personal. Staff know your name and you have pretty much one on one service by the pool, at dinner and in reception. Every night in the Do Atas Sungei restaurant we had the wonderful Chef Ann help us tailor our dining experience to try food that was simply exceptional. The butter milk prawns are to die for and the chilli squid isn't far behind it!! She provides the best examples of Malaysian cuisine - fresh and flavoursome!! Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a genuine smile on their faces. Having been elsewhere in Malaysia the Tanjong Jara offers an intimate experience that makes you feel a part of it compared to bigger more anonymous resorts. The customer service strategy really works and you feel a part of the family. We did a few activities - diving (where we saw a good selection of marine life) and if you're nervous about going in after a long time make you feel reassured and safe about going back in the water, the chef's market (where Chef Ann gave us an insight into Malaysian life and how flavours can work in cooking to take home with you - we took home some awesome reasonably priced spices and got to try some local tasty street food, and the work the guys do to conserve the endangered turtles is outstanding. They have a genuine passion for conserving marine life for future generations and it was amazing to be a part of it. The place is well catered for families, couples and singletons alike.
The Bumbung room where we stayed were gorgeous dark wood, big beds and a lovely bathroom with lots of space. The resort never felt claustrophobic or noisy and was right on the beach. We were served water throughout the day at the pool without asking, the lunch was lovely at the restaurant next to the pool, and the whole place attracted a nice friendly clientele. Safe to say we had a brilliant time at the Tanjong Jara, we would recommend it to anyone and if I was to go back to Malaysia would definitely go back to the Tanjong Jara without question. Thank you to everyone from the doorman, to the attentive pool staff, to Chef Ann, to everyone who works there, who made this such a wonderful experience to remember Malaysia by!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked a night stay at tanjung jara resort today (2 rooms). Initially good staff greetings while we were waiting for our rooms ready.However, when we checked in the room 1203 & 1204, one room bed linen was not even put on. Another room toothbrush is missing with just an empty box.we had called up housekeeping to make up the bed linen but after 1 hour to no avail.

If you are planning to come here for holiday, please don't expect so much as what previous trip advisors stated .

Last but not least,the cup in the room not even cleaned properly as marks/stains still on cups.watch out your cup!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesong1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souvanaphoum, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Mister Jameson,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us through the TripAdvisor.com, in regards to your recent stay at Tanjong Jara resort. It will allow us to continually work on our product for the benefit of our guests. We, at Tanjong Jara resort strive to provide a Malaysian experience equal to your expectations. Therefore, the quality of our guest experience is of the utmost importance to us, an intimate and objective knowledge of how we perform – in the customers' eyes - is critical in moving Tanjong Jara resort to a higher level of service orientation, and it is through this type of feedback that we can confirm the direction, quality and quantity of our effort. It is always a disappointment to hear from a guest that their stay was not flawless. While compliments are nice to receive, it is criticism, such as yours, that helps us pinpoint areas where corrective measures are necessary to bring us closer to our goals. Please accept my heartfelt apologies for the shortcomings that were not to your expectations. I’ve gone through your comments on noticed that you were disappointed to find some stains on your coffee cups in the room, we will strive to do a better job the next time you visit us...
We do hope to see you back at our resort in a not too distant future so as to witness our improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

So stayed here a week, the people were so nice, genuine and welcoming. Would recommend just for them.

Beach was great, although tides generally too strong to swim. Some idyllic 4 poster sun beds dotted around were a nice touch and the pools good too.

The room we had was a serambi room which was lovely. Very clean and spacious. Wifi available at a cost of £10 a day ish. Really should be free I think.

Food was good, kind of got a bit bored with it though however we're not fish lovers so I'm sure if you are it would be better.

Outside the resort not too much to do and it takes a long time to get there from the airport.

Massage was good fun and slightly awkward at the same time..

If you want a nice holiday away from the crowds with some peace and quiet, would recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Took a 3D2N Resident's Package (fullboard) for my wedding anniversary in late April 2014, and we loved everything!

Arrived in & out via Kuala Terengganu airport (with 1 hour airport taxi ride to and fro). Our arrival to the resort was more than welcoming, with a gong, cold drinks, cold towel.. check in was breezy having booked online.

The rooms and meals were wonderful.. I need not say more, other reviews can vouch for that too. The staff were wonderful, remembering first names and attentive to requests. It felt like we were the only ones there.. we only noticed other guests during meals and at the pool!

All in all it was a fabulous getaway, and the fullboard package for residents is so much value for money! We're even thinking of making it a yearly anniversary trip........

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
12.5 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
6.5 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
59 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
7.0 mi away
Six Villa Inn
Six Villa Inn
#6 of 10 in Dungun
9 reviews
11.3 mi away
No photo provided
Sg. Paka Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paka
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjong Jara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Price Range: £106 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by palm fringed, emerald seas, Tanjong Jara Resort is a sanctuary of luxury and well-being steeped in the unmistakable grace of age-old Malay traditions. Here, in the comfort of a room furnished in local timber and rich fabrics, guests are lulled by the sighs of waves and the warm tropical breeze. The award-winning architecture of this resort reflects the elegance and grandeur of 17th century Malay palaces, offering an authentic taste of the region’s spirit and an enduring embodiment of gentle Malay arts and hospitality. Seamlessly integrated with the resort is the Spa Village, dedicated to combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the innate healing practices of the area, providing a special, restorative experience. Guests can choose to experience an eco-adventure river cruise, explore teeming coral reefs or browse in a night market. Whatever the activity, every breath is pure refreshment, a relaxation of the soul, a pure journey of revival. In Malay we call this Sucimurni, in Malaysia it is Tanjong Jara Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Terengganu, Malaysia - Dungun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing