We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Train Robbery”

Delaware & Ulster Railroad
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Arkville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Delaware & Ulster Railroad, located in the heart of New York State's legendary Catskill Mountains. The D&U is an excursion train that combines railroad nostalgia with scenic rides. Step back in time as you board the historic D&U. Your journey will include an ever changing landscape while you enjoy a leisurely ride along the pristine waters of the East Branch of the Delaware River. The Arkville depot offers a terrific exhibit chronicling the important role the railroad played in the development of the region. There's a gift shop that offers a unique shopping experience that will help commemorate your trip or delight someone special who is waiting for your return.
11971
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Great Train Robbery”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were terribly disappointed in this experience. There was no train robbery, only a small shoot out show on the platform. The ride was nice but not very scenic. We drove for 5 hrs. to participate in this activity and would definitely not recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionLatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice ride through the valley”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Nice train ride through the valley from Arkville to Roxbury. Not a steam locomotive, but diesel. Old pullman cars. 2 hour ride at a good price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gravesdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun activity for kids”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We took our daughter who was only 5 months old so still a bit young for her to appreciate but it seemed like it was a great thing for kids who were a little older.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenvale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice activity”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We enjoyed the 2 hour train ride. I expected more of the train robbery, but the characters were fun and not too imposing on this relaxing ride.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Let Down”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This train ride was a blast from the past, and that was neat; but that was about all that we found cool about it. The route itself was ok, but in no way particularly scenic for the Catskills.

The most disappointing part of the ride was the fact that we had to see and breathe the disgusting filth that the train continuously dumped into the air. We were actually shocked that such a polluting vehicle could be allowed to operate (even if a novelty). Perhaps related to the filthy emmisions, the enclosed cars of the train were quite dirty.

We all agreed that there are many better ways to spend 2 hours and $38 in the Catskills.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MillsyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delaware & Ulster Railroad also viewed

 
Roxbury, Catskill Region
 

Been to Delaware & Ulster Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing