We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the Elderly or Handicapped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duyong Marina & Resort
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not for the Elderly or Handicapped”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Ok its a Resort. Nice big chalets, big compounds, very nice lanscaping, sea facing, big open restaurant, very windy and great for couples.
But to go to the main building, where the Cafe , Reception, Ballroom etc are situated, you either WALK ( nearest chalet is 300m) or call for a Buggy.
But the Buggy service is fast, provided not many guests stay in.
They're lots of stairs to climb, and their signages are bad.
Food is fantastic, restaurant service is good. The staff are Ok.
Definitely the most expensive hotel in kuala terengganu.
If you have small children, i would recommend Primula Hotel. ( my first choice in Kuala Terengganu)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    57
    37
    21
    16
See reviews for
59
41
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed there in early Dec 2013 during this monsoon season... Been here before... for work at Batu rakit.
Very windy and occasional shower/downpour.
Arrived with hotel's shuttle from airport (approx. 15-25 mins) - friendly driver.
Check in was slow though..
Room on upper flow was OK. sound proofing still not there.
Some of the blinds not properly shut and exposed me to the people outside.
Pool was closed due to some "security" reason.
Room-service Food was nice though!
Buggy shuttle was OK but sometimes they use van to enter the small road to the chalet. but that damages the roadside trees - not good!
Breakfast food was plenty but limited. Cold juice was only one choice.
And... don't be surprise when you hear scratching sound on the chalet wall or roof during the windy time on the top floor... it's the tree branches!

Room Tip: take upper floor closed to the car park area or pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I was impressed by the name and pictures prior to arrival. Checked-in was fine. I had to take a buggy to the hotel room, which was fine as well. The room was heavily furnished with wood. It looked old and poorly mantained. The large toilet was the highlight of the room.

The issue with this hotel is everytime you need to go to the restaurant or lobby area, you need to call the buggy for transportation. If not, it is quite a walk from your hotel room to the main building. For breakfast, it was absolutely awful. Maybe I was there late (around 10am) but I was so disappointed because I usually experience good hotel breakfasts.

I am just amazed this resort hosted the 2013 Monsoon Cup. Maybe the staff was tired and still in 'recovery mode' from hosting this year's event.

Room Tip: Try asking for a hotel nearer to the main building. If not, you have to call the reception and ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_faris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recently i did stayed at this resort for 5 days for a training. At first i thought everything will be nice as it is rated as 5 stars and i saw quite few good reviews at Trip Advisor (TA). However it turned out to be the other way round. Below are my experiences/comments during my stay at this resort.
1. Need to have better access to the lobby area especially for old folks, handicapped person and also guest with lots of luggage as there is only staircase available.
2. Once i check-in, i was welcomed with smelly socks which were left in my room. Although i already informed the housekeeping service there's no one clear it until i personally called the housekeeper & asked her to pick the socks in front of me.
3. Hotel facilities need to be well maintained - my room air conditioner was leaked almost everyday which caused small flood in my room, few blinds already broken and people can see you from outside when you switch on the lights, thankfully i have a friend who stayed at the same hotel and ended up i stayed with her every night. It was quite hard for me to simply change the room as its claimed as fully booked by the reservation. Most of the restrooms i entered smelled like urine and i already highlighted to the staff, but nothing has been done.
4. Upgrading project is ongoing - there was an upgrading activities ongoing which i believe for Monsoon Cup. The common area was dirty and the contractors were disturbing us which caused uneasiness to us to stay and walk around at this hotel
5. Service & Management - This resort need to send their staffs for a training so they can improve their below than average service.
6. Food & Beverages - Same food every alternate days (breakfast), to have wide variety of menus. Besides that, during our training, we were provided with complimentary mineral water, however, almost each and every we request additional mineral water the staff refused to give it. Once i saw few staff tried to hide a box of mineral water under covered table in order to avoid us to have. How come so called 5 stars hotel/resort do this??
7. Laundry - although i request for express laundry, my laundry still not received at the same day as stated in the laundry form. This resort need to understand and learn terms for every services they offered or else many misunderstanding which can leads to bad review to this resort

Room Tip: Don't choose room 1202 until it is confirmed the maintenance has been done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sky_chasez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a 5 hour drive to a most unfriendly welcome from the staff. We had booked this hotel through hotels.com. The write up and pictures were extremely good it was supposed to be 4 star I would say it was just about 2. The room was in a wooden chalet, which was dirty and run down, the air conditioning was leaking and sounded like a waterfall, the bathroom had tiles missing and it was very dark. The television was not working. The theme of the hotel seemed to be run like a muslem school with a large number of students involved in muslem classes and the whole attitude showed little tolerance to non muslems. We were booked for 2 nights but left after one.

This was the only negative experience we had during a two week tour of the east coast resorts in Malaysia

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The resort is very big with lots of open area that the children will love it. The chalet is very spacious with huge bathroom and it is built based on the traditional malay architecture and it`s really beautiful. The area has a beautiful garden with lots of shades. The resort management provides a buggy but we didn`t use much as our chalet is quite near to the reception area.
Unfortunately if you observe carefully, this resort suffers from maintenance issue. The swimming pool area would need a new renovation as part of the wood plank which make up the deck area needs to be replaced. Our chalet also has seen its better days and will need some refurbishment.
The breakfast selections are quite average which I think can be improved. The staff, fortunately are quite friendly and they are pretty helpful if you need some help. Kuala Terengganu is a small city and the resort is located near the main city center. I seriously think the resort has so much potential but the lack of maintenance is the negative point.

Room Tip: Choose the garden view - nothing to shout about with the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamsul amri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After travelling for almost 18hours to get to this oasis!!! Oh my what a massive let down,we went down to dinner 5minutes after we booked in because the restaurant was closing for the night! We where really looking forward to a nice cold beer!!!! Whoops no alcohol served at this hotel! A fact I really think should be pointed out to anyone considering staying at hotels!!!!!

Room Tip: I really wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickthesnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
3.0 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Primula Beach Hotel
Primula Beach Hotel
#24 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#5 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#17 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#4 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#11 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duyong Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duyong Marina & Resort

Property: Duyong Marina & Resort
Address: Pulau Duyong, Kuala Terengganu 21300, Malaysia (Formerly Ri-Yaz Heritage Resort and Spa)
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duyong Marina & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Duyong Marina & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri-Yaz Heritage Resort And Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Duyong Marina & Resort Malaysia/Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing