We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the average two star city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than the average two star city hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel is fine for singles and couples but not families. It's perfect for a business traveller on a limited budget as rooms are functional and well-equipped. Female travellers will appreciate the in-house spa. The wifi works well and there is an excellent coffee shop next to reception. The management could improve matters by offering the complimentary breakfast in the coffee shop rather than in the less salubrious adjacent sister hotel (the Ming Star).

Room Tip: It is well worth paying extra for a superior room rather than going for the only slightly cheaper st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johankusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    22
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
4
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A very simple and basic, no frills hotel. Very easy access in a very centralized location. Perfect hotel for travelling salesman, but not suitable for family. It's close to the beach but there's no seafront. Walking distant to eating places and convenient stores. Reasonably clean. Free wifi and good connectivity.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omsakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in a Superior Deluxe room for a couple of nights. The room was spacious, new and clean, with all the amenities available. The hotel is centrally located, a 15-20 min walk from the market and the jetty.
The biggest pros are their spa, with a fantastic jacuzzi room and different massage treatments available (very relaxing!) and the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful.
The downside is the breakfast: Very basic and very few options available.
Overall, a very nice experience for the price we were paying.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sweetieblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Overall we had an alright stay at Ming Paragon Spa. Rooms was very clean and the bathroom with enclosed shower was nice. A/C worked well.

Where the hotel could improve is two areas

1) free breakfast at Ming Star would be significantly better if the food was hot. Instead it was cold to barely warm - and with a tea light candle lit underneath an invitation for food born illness to occur.

2) front desk staff needs to be more informative. For example information on the bus routes and things to see would be helpful.

My tip for travellers from a foreign country with no car - do not stay here. Although it's in the city center it's quite far from tue bus stand and Chinatown (20-30 minute walk or 10rm cab)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and this hotel was quite new. The big LCD screen was great with many channel.
Shower was great with good water pressure but not many bath amenities. We would recommend friend to stay here as we feel it's value for money

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngyoongh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We arrived at 2 am and tired, and the front desk of Ming Star informed us the hotel is fully book. Fortunately they have a sister hotel at the opposite end of the same building which is very new.

We checked in into a family room (Superior Plus) with RM178 nett rate. But I bargained and got RM20 off since we arrived very late. Their key touch key where u just tap at the panel at the entrance. The room still smells of the new floor and cupboard. But not the paints. Which is ok. Somehow we get a room without a view (not very good for me as I am quite claustrophobic) but it was 2 am and we r only staying a nite so it was ok.

The room is very basic, 1 king and 1 twin bed with all white sheets and duvets. Side tables, writing table where they put the tea making facility at the end, big mirror and big LCD TV with selected satelite channels. The space is small since they try to fit all the beds. At the end of the room is the standing shower and bathroom (separated by a glass panel). The door is push type door probably because of the limited surface they have. Only 2 soap is given not other toiletries. But they provide clean towels

Everything is clean and working which I hope they keep it up. The breakfast is served at Ming Star. The food was really dull actually and almost finished even at 10 am (1030am is closing time). We could not even order anything until lunch. They had steam coconut milk rice (nasi lemak), spicy sauce (sambal)., peanut and fried enchovies, white bread with choice of jam and butter, coffee and tea and a type of juice. The restaurant beside the hotel wasn't open yet (11 am normally if the restaurant open till nite)

Free wifi in the room and they have a computer in front of the reception to use for free. The hotel is a good place to crash for 1-2 nites, no frills, clean place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xyzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0.9 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#15 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#4 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ming Star
Hotel Ming Star
#3 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#7 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
188 reviews
3.9 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#2 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa

Property: Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
Address: Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Paragon Hotel And Spa
Ming Paragon Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa Malaysia/Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing