We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sumai Hotel Apartment
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3d2n in the apartment. Huge with 3 double bed rooms and 1 single room. Basic amenities like kettle, tv with some astro channels, fridge, hot shower, aircond available. Clean. Walking distance to the mosque and beach, but not that near. Food at the coffee house is quite good, friendly staff. Would stay here again when traveling in a big group.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Leyana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

It is an apartment near Batu Burok Beach area. Our unit is a 3 bed room apartment, spacious living room but with an old TV set. The apartment is clean with basic furniture but in a good condition. Swimming pool is located in the basement area , but we did not try it. Breakfast was ok even with limited choices. This place is suitable for those with large family members and I feel the room rates is also quite affordable. Good for a short stay while in Kuala Terengganu.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamsul amri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It is more like an apartment nearby the Batu Burok Beach. About 10 minutes walk. It is quite affordable and clean. The rooms are valued at what you're paying for. It's actually a good choice for family and group vacation. Breakfast was minimal but ok.

Room Tip: You can get discount if you are a government servant. Enquire with the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asya2Adly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

i wonder if anyone mention about the shower... you have to wait at least 15-30mins for a hot shower, after that all water including the tap water become hot, so you cannot wash your hand with the tap water.
the room we get is a 1 bedroom suite, it is with living room and sofa + tv. another tv in the bedroom, which a bit far from the bed and thus looks small.
it is near the mosque, so a little disturbing during night time, especially i stay during Ramadan. however the curtain can cover most of the noise.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sea_Hee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is located at Batu Buruk Beach, Kuala Terengganu next to Primula Hotel, Kuala Terengganu. The room is an apartment type which consist of 4 or 5 bedroom, 2 bathroom (one bathroom attached to the master bedroom), a pantry, Family area, dining area and Balcony. TV, Refrigerator, sofa and Dining table and chairs are also provided. This hotel is suitable for large families with children's. Facilities provided in this hotel are swimming pool, restaurant, covered parking area at basement. Food served at restaurant is good and scrumptious. I myself satisfied stayed at this hotel. Now the hotel offers promotional price : MYR 100 for 1 bedroom and MYR 200 for one apartment.

Room Tip: Choose the west side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yangrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The location was great. There's a beach nearby and just 5 minutes away from Kuala Terengganu city. Room was clean. It was spacious. Parking is a bit difficult though if you come during peak season. They have an indoor swimming pool. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AizuddinAzmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it clean and the twin room was able to be easily changed into a king bed by changing funiture around. We had a slight problem with pilled sheets on one bed which was easily sorted and staff were courteous and helpful wth fixing anything we needed.
The breakfast area was fine and breakfast buffet had enough variety, we ordered fried eggs which came very quickly each time with the chef also cooking scrambled eggs and omelettes on the outside balcony. Food was well presented and looked appetising. Hotel is a short walk from the beach, and we had no trouble parking car in hotel or finding our way around. The minaret tower is also a good landmark as well as early morning wake up call ( which we didn't mind at all)
We didn't try the pool which looked clean but didn't seem to be used much. Hotel would be a good stopping off place before going to the islands.
We drove to the pier/wharf and tried a number of seafood dishes at one of the stalls. Food was fresh as we selected fish to be cooked, however the amount of bugs running on the floor and sea wall beside us was very offputting whilst eating - could find better stalls or don't sit beside the sea wall!!

Room Tip: Try for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie_phillips_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#7 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#3 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tanjong Vista
Hotel Tanjong Vista
#16 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ming Star
Hotel Ming Star
#6 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumai Hotel Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumai Hotel Apartment

Address: Lot 4479 Jalan Persinggahan, Kuala Terengganu 20400, Malaysia (Formerly Sumai Suite Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumai Hotel Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumai Suites Hotel is one of the prime options amongst Kuala Terengganu resorts and hotels. They provide accommodation rooms furnished with air-conditioner, cable TV, mini-bar and refrigerator, and coffee/tea maker. Some of their amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, high-speed Internet access, and airport transfer. While Sumai Suite Hotel is located 15 km away from the international airport, this hotel in Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia is also nearby city landmarks such as Batu Burok Beach, Astaka Shopping Complex, and Batu Burok Recreation Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sumai Hotel Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumai Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Sumai Hotel Apartment Malaysia/Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing